There's Something About Mary - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

There's Something About Mary Reviews

February 3, 2009
If the sight of a large chunk of a man's private parts caught in the teeth of a zipper is funny -- and I'm not saying it isn't -- then have I got a movie for you.
February 3, 2009
This one is dumbest. And funniest, as if that matters even a little bit!
February 3, 2009
Losers competing against one another (and even bigger losers) for a dishy woman: That's the setup for [the Farrellys'] wrackingly funny new farce There's Something About Mary, maybe the ultimate nerd masochistic fantasy.
February 3, 2009
Crudely made, somewhat overlong and larded with plenty of things that don't work, pic stands as proof positive that a comedy can be far from perfect and still hit the bull's-eye if it delivers when it counts in its big scenes.
February 3, 2009
Despite my earlier reservations about Bobby and Peter Farrelly, they're progressively winning me over, partly because they keep getting better.
April 27, 2007
Remarkable for all the sick and politically incorrect sight gags it gets away with in its rule-breaking romp through the supposedly sacred laws of what makes people laugh, and what doesn't.
June 24, 2006
Crude, offensive, sexist -- and embarrassingly hilarious.
April 25, 2003
You may also want to keep [a] washcloth handy, just to stifle those embarrassing aftershocks of laughter.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 11, 2001
Sensational, sicko fun -- you won't believe your eyes -- and just the thing to shake up the creeping conservatism that is draining the vulgar life out of pop culture.
February 14, 2001
A giddy symphony of rude and raucous low humor.
January 1, 2000
There's Something About Mary may be many things, but dull and routine aren't among them.
January 1, 2000
What a blessed relief is laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The final outcome seems hopelessly arbitrary.
January 1, 2000
There's 'something' about Mary, all right.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
A gut-busting blast of tasteless tomfoolery.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
There's plenty to enjoy in the performances.
January 1, 2000
This reprehensible and deeply unfunny film is obviously critic-proof.
January 1, 2000
There's Something About Mary doesn't approach the witty anarchy of movies like Animal House, The Naked Gun, or Hairspray.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 1, 2000
The trouble with the Farrelly brothers is that in order to get a laugh, they dump on everybody and everything.
January 1, 2000
I laughed at this movie, but I also felt a little shell-shocked afterward.
January 1, 2000
I haven't laughed this hard at any 1998 offering to-date.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Stand warned.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
The movie is a sick pleasure.
January 1, 2000
A guilty pleasure.