They Won't Believe Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

They Won't Believe Me Reviews

Page 1 of 1
June 28, 2015
I love any film where I get to see Robert Young playing a heel. Young plays a philandering husband in a loveless marriage. However, he gets involved with two other women and murder. The film starts with him testifying at his own murder trial pleading his innocence and the film unfolds in flashbacks. Rita Johnson plays his wife and Susan Hayward and Jane Greet play the other women. And the ending has a great kicker that I think is worth a new film stealing from.
½ December 6, 2013
This was a fun little flick, filled with double crosses and betrayals and I really enjoyed from start to finish, definitely something that more folks should see.

Thanks, Turner Classic Movies.

Rental!
November 11, 2013
A fine mystery drama that's set in a courtroom but most of the action happens elsewhere. The only downside is its disappointing ending that just didn't fit with what's gone before.
½ June 28, 2012
Robert Young plays a man on trial for possibly murdering two females that he was having extramarital affairs with. It starts with him deciding to leave his wife (Rita Johnson) and engaging in relationships with one woman (Jane Greer), who is in the process of being transferred one from office to another; and an employee of his business (Rita Hayworth). Unfortunately, under his presence, tragedies occur, of which Johnson is killed in a fiery crash on a highway, with him as the driver; and Greer is killed in a fall off a cliff, at a ranch in which he was staying. Severely underrated drama that has fine performances, spicy dialogue, and several surprising twists, including a heartbreaking ending. It is said director Irving Pichel worked with Joan Harrison, an individual who often worked with Alfred Hitchcock. A wise move; it's just too bad that this film has fallen into the shadows of cinema. Hopefully you will believe that you have to watch this.
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
June 14, 2012
fun film noir told in flashback, with robert young as a cad accused of murder. for the record, i don't believe him :p
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
November 25, 2011
Excellent undeservedly obscure noir with an excellent dark performance from the usually genial Robert Young. Economically directed by Pichel with terrific contributions from Susan Hayward, Jane Greer and particularly Rita Johnson. Great denouncement, catch it if you can.
½ January 3, 2010
What a great story, Robert Young is at his best. Compelling, always interesting and a fascinating story. Good cinematography. Rita Johnson stands out in the cast.
February 12, 2009
great cast good stuff
Page 1 of 1