The Thing About My Folks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

Page 1 of 4
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 2, 2006
Reiser has given us a film that makes us laugh while contemplating the ways we understand and misunderstand those we love.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 12, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 1, 2006
Moderately appealing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 15, 2005
...provides [Falk] with an opportunity for his best work in a a Hollywood film since the hilarious and underrated Big Trouble (1986).
November 23, 2005
The truth about this sweet, rather shambling little movie is somewhere between the gush and the criticism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 4, 2005
It's a slow enjoyable ride where you aren't asking "are we there yet?" all the way through it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 20, 2005
Before I saw this film, only one movie, Field of Dreams, had ever made me cry. Now there are two.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 4, 2005
Back when this flick was called "Big Fish," it was a great movie.
Full Review
September 30, 2005
Reiser, a famous face from the long-running TV series Mad About You, here proves himself to be a skilful writer and actor for the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2005
Two men of very different generations coming to understand and appreciate each other makes for some fine moments. And that's just the actors.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 28, 2005
Takes Reiser's good screenplay, adds a veteran actor who nails his performance, and comes up with a perfectly charming comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 27, 2005
This passable dramedy plays like a Hallmark Hall of Fame telefilm with fart jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 24, 2005
If you're of a certain ethnic persuasion, this is a film for you!
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 24, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 22, 2005
If you leave The Thing About My Folks thinking about your own folks, consider the movie a success.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 22, 2005
It should be the utmost in superfluous viewing, but there's seldom a good reason to pass up quality time with the ever-embraceable Falk, who can deliver a laugh line like nobody's business.
September 22, 2005
Reiser wrote the script specifically for Falk and himself, so it's not surprising that the actors bond with their characters. And that makes it easy for the viewers to bond with them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 21, 2005
'The Thing About My Folks' is Falk's film with Reiser having little to do except serve as sidekick and exasperated son.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: B-
September 16, 2005
The thing about Paul Reiser is, just when you think you can't stand another lame, vulgar, obvious scene he's written, he blindsides you with some real insight or character truth.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 4