The Thing About My Folks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 23, 2005
If you thought Mad About You was cloying and gaggingly cute, this could give you the dry heaves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2005
I can't recommend the movie, but I can be grateful that I saw it, for Falk.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 15, 2005
This movie won't dent anyone's career. It's too 'eh' for that.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 22, 2005
Reiser and Falk never stop yammering at each other, not when they're line-dancing, not when they're watching a baseball game, not when they should be trying to counter-steer their way out of the car accident they're in the midst of.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 10, 2005
Like Peter Falk's trifecta of farts, the movie stinks.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
September 15, 2005
Folks means well with its combination of slapstick comedy and tearjerking material, yet it's a random picture, never quite gelling the way Reiser imagines it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 13, 2006
The film is a little saccharine and never as moving as Reiser expected. I know Reiser loves his father, but I didn't need to pay to be told it.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
September 30, 2005
Director Raymond De Felitta's clinical visual treatment renders the tone too cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 13, 2005
Good-natured but only memorable as a platform for the amusingly feisty Peter Falk.
September 29, 2005
If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be trapped in a '36 Ford convertible for 47 years with a Yiddish theater version of Dr. Phil and the runaway bride, this is the movie for you.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
October 5, 2005
Read More | Original Score: C
September 18, 2005
Even Columbo couldn't solve the mystery of why it doesn't work to mix Sweet with a capital 'S' and flatulence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 13, 2005
Falk isn't given anything funny to say or do, but his performance is littered with beautiful touches, tiny oases of brilliance in an entertainment desert.
December 31, 2005
The Thing About My Folks contains more sap than a Vermont maple.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 16, 2005
The Thing About My Folks is Paul Reiser's return to playing Paul Reiser.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 7, 2005
If Reiser's smart, he'll hire Falk for a new Columbo episode, 'The Case of the Roadkill Movie.'
October 6, 2005
Formulaic to the max, it's never as funny nor as insightful as it wants to be.
September 24, 2005
Ultimately more cloying than poignant.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 15, 2005
The real problem with this Paul Reiser project is Reiser himself, who displays little talent for anchoring a feature film
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 30, 2005
A 'Mad About Gramps' episode that requires Falk to line-dance to Travis Tritt and otherwise demonstrate that old people sure are funny and cute and flatulent.
Read More | Original Score: '1/4'
Page 1 of 4