The Thing About My Folks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

October 5, 2005
Read More | Original Score: C
September 30, 2005
Reiser, a famous face from the long-running TV series Mad About You, here proves himself to be a skilful writer and actor for the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2005
Two men of very different generations coming to understand and appreciate each other makes for some fine moments. And that's just the actors.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 29, 2005
If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be trapped in a '36 Ford convertible for 47 years with a Yiddish theater version of Dr. Phil and the runaway bride, this is the movie for you.
Read More | Original Score: 0.5/4
September 23, 2005
If you thought Mad About You was cloying and gaggingly cute, this could give you the dry heaves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 23, 2005
About as entertaining as the yearly family argument, without any of the holiday turkey to make it worthwhile.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 22, 2005
If you leave The Thing About My Folks thinking about your own folks, consider the movie a success.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 22, 2005
Reiser wrote the script specifically for Falk and himself, so it's not surprising that the actors bond with their characters. And that makes it easy for the viewers to bond with them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 16, 2005
If ever there were a movie to see with your pop, this is just the Thing.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 16, 2005
The Thing About My Folks is Paul Reiser's return to playing Paul Reiser.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 16, 2005
The movie belongs entirely to Falk's memorable Sam.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 16, 2005
A talky therapy session of a comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 16, 2005
Flat and forgettable, it's a tiresome film barely held together by its plinky piano score, sophomoric flatulence jokes, and cloying greeting-card emotions.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 16, 2005
While I resisted much of it, by its finale I was grateful for the trip, and even more grateful to Reiser, who enabled Falk and Dukakis to give the performances of their careers.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 15, 2005
While stocked with simple, earnest observations on love, relationships and family, the film's haphazard plotting and often discordant tone keep it from being anything more than an episodic collection of sentimental aphorisms.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 15, 2005
The Thing About My Folks is a crowd-pleasing, tear-tugging film about relationships that should have wide appeal and widespread resonance.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
September 15, 2005
This movie won't dent anyone's career. It's too 'eh' for that.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 15, 2005
Even if you've had your bellyful of cute little movies about impossible but adorable families, you might want to make room for this graceful, semiautobiographical riff on Paul Reiser's relationship with his aging parents.
September 15, 2005
I can't recommend the movie, but I can be grateful that I saw it, for Falk.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 14, 2005
It's about men not so much tackling responsibility as passing it off laterally, and finally pulling an end run into the schmaltz zone.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 13, 2005
Good-natured but only memorable as a platform for the amusingly feisty Peter Falk.
September 13, 2005
Falk isn't given anything funny to say or do, but his performance is littered with beautiful touches, tiny oases of brilliance in an entertainment desert.