Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 22, 2016
The English-language debut of Danish director Susanne Bier is at times morose but the tale of healing is directed with compassion and a powerful, sometimes discomforting intimacy.
April 28, 2011
Every trace of maudlin evaporates in one of Del Toro's lopsided grins.
March 21, 2009
You can't manufacture honest sentiment.... So, I'd have to call the movie a noble miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
August 14, 2008
The best part of the film is del Toro's performance, a junkie jumble of many layers, glued together with a deep seated humanity that reaches out to us.
August 14, 2008
A Susanne Bier film guarantees us a potent emotional journey, and this, Bier's first English language film, dissects hearts and searches for truths.
May 26, 2008
The film felt very anti-climatic to me for some reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 1, 2008
Where the film's ambitions crumble is in its avowed refusal to make its audience too uncomfortable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 5, 2008
I wish someone had lost this script in the fire.
March 4, 2008
Things We Lost in the Fire sounds like a made-for-Lifetime weeper. But two superlative performances means "Fire" is anything but a by-the-book drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 25, 2008
Less than profound, but consistently honest, Things We Lost in the Fire is neither triumphant nor great, but it is meaningful.
Read More | Original Score: 76/100
February 22, 2008
Scheduled blowups and symbolic dreams and interminable tears until we all feel like we've learned a little something about loss: We want our two hours back.
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 27, 2007
Often as overwrought as it is heartrending.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 24, 2007
...never entirely comes off as the searing, hard-to-watch drama it's presumably supposed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 19, 2007
"Things We Lost In The Fire" is an overlong downer that crumbles under the relentless strain of anger and grief.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/5
November 12, 2007
Damaged individuals healing one another is a serviceable idea for a film, but Things We Lost in the Fire is missing an essential component: plausibility.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 7, 2007
In an unusual season with so many films are aimed at adults Things We Lost may be the most mature of the lot.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
November 2, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire: Any sense of rhythm or pace, and an ending that won't make you groan.
November 1, 2007
A sobering and intimate look at how we handle loss, "Things We Lost in the Fire" is owned by the performance of Benicio del Toro.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
October 31, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire is certainly not a comedy, but it is definitely mordant with its two Big Themes: Loss and Addiction, both treated in a singularly heavy-handed manner, for which I blame primarily Mr. Loeb's screenplay.
October 30, 2007
Benicio is the heroine addict with a heart of gold!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 7