Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 2 of 7
October 30, 2007
There is much that is right about this film; it is a shame that it tries a bit too hard and falls a bit short.
October 29, 2007
The first time you stare into Halle Berry's iris, it's interesting; by the fifth and sixth time it's exasperating.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 29, 2007
Story of death and redemption too much for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 28, 2007
'Things We Lost in the Fire' deserves praise for its top-notch performances and its humanistic treatment of such serious subject matter as grief and addiction.
October 27, 2007
Berry gives a riveting performance, but as a deeply decent man trapped in a hell of his own making, Del Toro gives the kind of career performance Berry gave in Monster's Ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 27, 2007
Danish director Bier focuses on themes and relationships in what's otherwise a rather contrived melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 26, 2007
A lovable heroin addict helps a widow and her children cope with loss... Obvious and unconvincing...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 26, 2007
...raw and anguished performances...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 25, 2007
Susanne Bier's first English-language film is a superbly written, powerfully emotional drama with terrific, Oscar-worthy performances from Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2007
Del Toro's face can be a map of emotions, and he's allowed to unfold it freely.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 24, 2007
[Del Toro is] both beast and beauty in a movie that mismanages the idea that life is not a fairy tale.
October 24, 2007
A shimmering example of just how good Benicio Del Toro has become, as well as how bad Halle Berry has pretty much always been.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 24, 2007
The most remarkable thing about Things We Lost in the Fire is the fact that Susanne Bier came all the way from Denmark to make this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2007
Look for Benicio Del Toro's name next to my friend Hal Holbrook and (hopefully) Max Von Sydow when the Best Supporting Actor names are listed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 23, 2007
...plays like Iñárritu Lite, which means it's not terrible, but it does pretend to a substance it doesn't in fact deliver.
Read More | Original Score: 84/100
October 22, 2007
Excuse me, but wasn't this soap opera supposed to be about Halle's grieving character's loss of a husband, not about her worrying about losing her looks? It doesn't get any more shallow than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 22, 2007
It's very strong.
October 21, 2007
...a muddled story that features an outstanding performance by Del Toro ...wrapped up in pretentious storytelling.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 21, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire could have easily turned into chest-thumping and wailing for two hours, but it's a lot more than that.
October 20, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire is the best of the recent crop of films about coping with loss. It also boasts a quietly riveting performance by Benicio Del Toro.
Page 2 of 7