Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 22, 2016
The English-language debut of Danish director Susanne Bier is at times morose but the tale of healing is directed with compassion and a powerful, sometimes discomforting intimacy.
April 28, 2011
Every trace of maudlin evaporates in one of Del Toro's lopsided grins.
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 14, 2008
The best part of the film is del Toro's performance, a junkie jumble of many layers, glued together with a deep seated humanity that reaches out to us.
August 14, 2008
A Susanne Bier film guarantees us a potent emotional journey, and this, Bier's first English language film, dissects hearts and searches for truths.
March 5, 2008
I wish someone had lost this script in the fire.
March 4, 2008
Things We Lost in the Fire sounds like a made-for-Lifetime weeper. But two superlative performances means "Fire" is anything but a by-the-book drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 25, 2008
Less than profound, but consistently honest, Things We Lost in the Fire is neither triumphant nor great, but it is meaningful.
Read More | Original Score: 76/100
February 1, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 27, 2007
Often as overwrought as it is heartrending.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 24, 2007
...never entirely comes off as the searing, hard-to-watch drama it's presumably supposed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 7, 2007
In an unusual season with so many films are aimed at adults Things We Lost may be the most mature of the lot.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
November 1, 2007
A sobering and intimate look at how we handle loss, "Things We Lost in the Fire" is owned by the performance of Benicio del Toro.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
October 30, 2007
There is much that is right about this film; it is a shame that it tries a bit too hard and falls a bit short.
October 29, 2007
Story of death and redemption too much for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 28, 2007
'Things We Lost in the Fire' deserves praise for its top-notch performances and its humanistic treatment of such serious subject matter as grief and addiction.
October 27, 2007
Berry gives a riveting performance, but as a deeply decent man trapped in a hell of his own making, Del Toro gives the kind of career performance Berry gave in Monster's Ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 27, 2007
Danish director Bier focuses on themes and relationships in what's otherwise a rather contrived melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 26, 2007
...raw and anguished performances...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 25, 2007
Susanne Bier's first English-language film is a superbly written, powerfully emotional drama with terrific, Oscar-worthy performances from Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7