Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
May 22, 2016
The English-language debut of Danish director Susanne Bier is at times morose but the tale of healing is directed with compassion and a powerful, sometimes discomforting intimacy.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
Every trace of maudlin evaporates in one of Del Toro's lopsided grins.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 13, 2009
| Original Score: 4/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
August 14, 2008
The best part of the film is del Toro's performance, a junkie jumble of many layers, glued together with a deep seated humanity that reaches out to us.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
August 14, 2008
A Susanne Bier film guarantees us a potent emotional journey, and this, Bier's first English language film, dissects hearts and searches for truths.
Staci Layne Wilson
Buzzine Magazine
March 5, 2008
I wish someone had lost this script in the fire.
Christian Toto
Washington Times
March 4, 2008
Things We Lost in the Fire sounds like a made-for-Lifetime weeper. But two superlative performances means "Fire" is anything but a by-the-book drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
February 25, 2008
Less than profound, but consistently honest, Things We Lost in the Fire is neither triumphant nor great, but it is meaningful.
| Original Score: 76/100

Empire Magazine
February 1, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
November 27, 2007
Often as overwrought as it is heartrending.
Full Review | Original Score: B
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 24, 2007
...never entirely comes off as the searing, hard-to-watch drama it's presumably supposed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
November 7, 2007
In an unusual season with so many films are aimed at adults Things We Lost may be the most mature of the lot.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
November 1, 2007
A sobering and intimate look at how we handle loss, "Things We Lost in the Fire" is owned by the performance of Benicio del Toro.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
Emily S. Mendel
culturevulture.net
October 30, 2007
There is much that is right about this film; it is a shame that it tries a bit too hard and falls a bit short.
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
October 29, 2007
Story of death and redemption too much for kids.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 28, 2007
'Things We Lost in the Fire' deserves praise for its top-notch performances and its humanistic treatment of such serious subject matter as grief and addiction.
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
October 27, 2007
Berry gives a riveting performance, but as a deeply decent man trapped in a hell of his own making, Del Toro gives the kind of career performance Berry gave in Monster's Ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 27, 2007
Danish director Bier focuses on themes and relationships in what's otherwise a rather contrived melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
October 26, 2007
...raw and anguished performances...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
October 25, 2007
Susanne Bier's first English-language film is a superbly written, powerfully emotional drama with terrific, Oscar-worthy performances from Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
October 18, 2008

Deseret News, Salt Lake City
October 18, 2008

Boxoffice Magazine
April 3, 2008

BBC.com
February 5, 2008
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 20, 2007

Screen International
October 20, 2007
Top Critic

Detroit News
October 19, 2007
Serves as strong reminder of what a powerfully charismatic and completely natural actor Benicio Del Toro is.
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks
October 19, 2007
Page 1 of 7