Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 18, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Time Out
November 17, 2011
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 13, 2009
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
February 22, 2008
Scheduled blowups and symbolic dreams and interminable tears until we all feel like we've learned a little something about loss: We want our two hours back.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 31, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire is certainly not a comedy, but it is definitely mordant with its two Big Themes: Loss and Addiction, both treated in a singularly heavy-handed manner, for which I blame primarily Mr. Loeb's screenplay.
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
October 27, 2007
Berry gives a riveting performance, but as a deeply decent man trapped in a hell of his own making, Del Toro gives the kind of career performance Berry gave in Monster's Ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
October 22, 2007
It's very strong.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 20, 2007
The movie is an engrossing melodrama, and it has its heart in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
October 19, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire veers away from the real and hard and toward the fantastic.
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
October 19, 2007
Its deliberate pacing may put some viewers off, as will the bleakness of the subject matter, but it's worth seeing, mostly to soak up the complex shades of Del Toro's performance.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
October 19, 2007
If this were a Susanne Bier film made on her home turf we'd feel a lot more wrung out by the movie's end. Instead we're just worn out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
October 19, 2007
A wistful and often lovely film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
October 19, 2007
[Director] Bier knows the difference between drama and melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
October 19, 2007
A movie about loss and mourning and bottomless sadness. But its very production is, on another level, a reason to celebrate.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
October 19, 2007
This movie is the most irritating example yet of how both film and TV have taken to shooting even the phoniest, soapiest stories with that drunken, shaky, ultra- close-up camerawork that says, 'Hey, look at us! We're being all documentaryish!'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
October 19, 2007
It is a testament to how well the movie is made that even the most hardened viewer might find himself tearing up at moments -- and you won't have to hate yourself in the morning.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
October 19, 2007
Though it is erratic and can come off as manufactured, this film has the gift of gathering strength as it goes on. It harnesses the talents of stars Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro in ways that ultimately make us sit up and take notice.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
October 19, 2007
Apart from the mobile camera and a moderately challenging time-jumping script, this is weepy women's cable-television fare of the tears-and-cuddles variety.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
October 19, 2007
Though it flirts with melodrama to the tipping point, the movie, like the characters played by Berry and her costar Benicio Del Toro, ultimately makes connections too honest, hopeful and human to induce guilt on the part of any open-hearted moviegoer.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
October 19, 2007
A supple and angular story of grief.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
October 19, 2007
Bier is one of the cinema's most acute observers of intimate relations, her Scandinavian reserve muting the inherent melodrama of her material, and she draws piercing, modestly scaled performances.
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
October 19, 2007
[Benicio Del Toro's] is the only character with human flaws, and in a movie perfect people tend to be boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
October 19, 2007
Del Toro is the heart and soul, as well as the haunted, rubbery visage, of a story of grief and loss that would be fairly lifeless without him.
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 19, 2007
Lacks the urgency of [director Bier's] Danish films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
October 19, 2007
A movie that, despite its fine acting, has the emotional impact of a general anesthetic.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
October 18, 2007
Well-acted.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
October 18, 2007
Just watching Del Toro's eyes provides an emotional fire Allan Loeb's script can't hope to match.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Julia Wallace
L.A. Weekly
October 18, 2007
In Danish director Susanne Bier's first American effort, the camera lingers so long and lusciously on its lead actress's perfect little pores that it quickly starts to resemble a Neutrogena commercial.
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
October 18, 2007
[Director] Bier is graceful, observant of small details, but her efforts to mine a greater meaning through the camera than Loeb has put on the page is a fruitless endeavor.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
October 18, 2007
Consistently well-acted and, for a studio picture, pretty sharp on the subject of addiction and recovery and relapse.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
October 18, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire deals frankly and openly with the wounds -- some obvious, some not so obvious -- that are left by the tragic, untimely loss of a loved one. At times, the film is unsparing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
October 17, 2007
Bier, in her American debut, mostly keeps things simple and intimate, though, by using hand-held cameras, extreme close-ups and flooding the proceedings with spare, natural light.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
October 17, 2007
A safely false, glamorized weepie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Rex Reed
New York Observer
October 17, 2007
A welcome relief from all the war and violence we've been getting lately, it's a wonderful, heartfelt experience, executed with meticulous principles and penetrating artistry.
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
October 11, 2007
A live-wire performance by Benicio Del Toro sparks an otherwise morose study of loss, addiction and catharsis.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
October 9, 2007
An unstable mix of a tearjerker, junkie-recovery story and odd-couple pairing.