Things We Lost in the Fire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

November 18, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 22, 2008
Scheduled blowups and symbolic dreams and interminable tears until we all feel like we've learned a little something about loss: We want our two hours back.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 31, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire is certainly not a comedy, but it is definitely mordant with its two Big Themes: Loss and Addiction, both treated in a singularly heavy-handed manner, for which I blame primarily Mr. Loeb's screenplay.
October 27, 2007
Berry gives a riveting performance, but as a deeply decent man trapped in a hell of his own making, Del Toro gives the kind of career performance Berry gave in Monster's Ball.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 22, 2007
It's very strong.
October 20, 2007
The movie is an engrossing melodrama, and it has its heart in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire veers away from the real and hard and toward the fantastic.
October 19, 2007
Its deliberate pacing may put some viewers off, as will the bleakness of the subject matter, but it's worth seeing, mostly to soak up the complex shades of Del Toro's performance.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
If this were a Susanne Bier film made on her home turf we'd feel a lot more wrung out by the movie's end. Instead we're just worn out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
A wistful and often lovely film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
[Director] Bier knows the difference between drama and melodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 19, 2007
A movie about loss and mourning and bottomless sadness. But its very production is, on another level, a reason to celebrate.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
This movie is the most irritating example yet of how both film and TV have taken to shooting even the phoniest, soapiest stories with that drunken, shaky, ultra- close-up camerawork that says, 'Hey, look at us! We're being all documentaryish!'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 19, 2007
It is a testament to how well the movie is made that even the most hardened viewer might find himself tearing up at moments -- and you won't have to hate yourself in the morning.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
Though it is erratic and can come off as manufactured, this film has the gift of gathering strength as it goes on. It harnesses the talents of stars Halle Berry and Benicio Del Toro in ways that ultimately make us sit up and take notice.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 19, 2007
Apart from the mobile camera and a moderately challenging time-jumping script, this is weepy women's cable-television fare of the tears-and-cuddles variety.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
Though it flirts with melodrama to the tipping point, the movie, like the characters played by Berry and her costar Benicio Del Toro, ultimately makes connections too honest, hopeful and human to induce guilt on the part of any open-hearted moviegoer.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2007
A supple and angular story of grief.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 19, 2007
Bier is one of the cinema's most acute observers of intimate relations, her Scandinavian reserve muting the inherent melodrama of her material, and she draws piercing, modestly scaled performances.
October 19, 2007
[Benicio Del Toro's] is the only character with human flaws, and in a movie perfect people tend to be boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
Del Toro is the heart and soul, as well as the haunted, rubbery visage, of a story of grief and loss that would be fairly lifeless without him.
October 19, 2007
Lacks the urgency of [director Bier's] Danish films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2007
A movie that, despite its fine acting, has the emotional impact of a general anesthetic.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 18, 2007
Well-acted.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2007
Just watching Del Toro's eyes provides an emotional fire Allan Loeb's script can't hope to match.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2007
In Danish director Susanne Bier's first American effort, the camera lingers so long and lusciously on its lead actress's perfect little pores that it quickly starts to resemble a Neutrogena commercial.
October 18, 2007
[Director] Bier is graceful, observant of small details, but her efforts to mine a greater meaning through the camera than Loeb has put on the page is a fruitless endeavor.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2007
Consistently well-acted and, for a studio picture, pretty sharp on the subject of addiction and recovery and relapse.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire deals frankly and openly with the wounds -- some obvious, some not so obvious -- that are left by the tragic, untimely loss of a loved one. At times, the film is unsparing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 17, 2007
Bier, in her American debut, mostly keeps things simple and intimate, though, by using hand-held cameras, extreme close-ups and flooding the proceedings with spare, natural light.
October 17, 2007
A safely false, glamorized weepie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 17, 2007
A welcome relief from all the war and violence we've been getting lately, it's a wonderful, heartfelt experience, executed with meticulous principles and penetrating artistry.
October 11, 2007
A live-wire performance by Benicio Del Toro sparks an otherwise morose study of loss, addiction and catharsis.
October 9, 2007
An unstable mix of a tearjerker, junkie-recovery story and odd-couple pairing.