This Is Where I Leave You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

This Is Where I Leave You Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 10, 2017
Sometimes sappy and sometimes over-the-top, it is mostly enjoyable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 3, 2017
Somewhere in its two hours, This Is Where I Leave You morphs into the well-considered, emotionally resonant fare that we should still expect from our multiplexes.
June 30, 2017
It's enough to know that Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, Adam Driver, Connie Britton... bring warmth as well as a certain comic snappiness to the goings-on. Meaning, the movie is perfectly efficient - and likable - whether jerking tears or soliciting laughs.
October 5, 2016
I wouldn't say I hated it but my dislike knew no bounds.
October 5, 2016
Jason Bateman is very good at radiating gentle melancholy, and here plays a man with plenty to be blue about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 17, 2016
The stellar cast is first rate, elevating whatever weaknesses there are in the material, and the overall result is an endearing, dysfunctional family that you'll enjoying spending a few hours with.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2016
The Altmans might be way ahead of the Osbournes and Kardashians in terms of letting their private moments hang out, but the movie is as profound as a reality show in its exploration of family dynamics.
June 18, 2016
It speaks volumes about the current shortage of this type of project that so many talented people were willing to attach themselves to a picture as subpar as this one.
April 18, 2016
All too often, the desire of the audience dovetails with that of the characters: We really just want to get the hell out of this house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3 of 5
April 17, 2016
One recurring gag features Fey's toddler ambling around with a plastic toilet, defecating in the most unseemly of locations. There isn't a better analogy for [the] film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 13, 2016
We get set piece after set piece, character moment after character moment, with few of them doing more than letting characters talk about themselves and tell each other things that we're not yet sure we believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 27, 2016
Just because the characters are well-to-do with first world problems doesn't make them less sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 31, 2015
Not as bad you might think, but definitely burdened by formula
January 13, 2015
When I finally left This Is Where I Leave You, I was so saddened by all the squandered talent that I couldn't help but do the Charlie Brown shuffle gag from Arrested Development.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 19, 2014
...a misbegotten, ineffective adaptation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 17, 2014
Pretends to put the fun in dysfunctional-family dramedy when it's not dispensing little bromides in hard-to-swallow bulls**t pablum form. It's all the most sanitized, safe, shticky way to show kidults' lives getting complicated. Sickeningly self-involved.
November 7, 2014
There are moments when it's far too sugary for its own good, and the script can't quite find the right amount of laughs or tears, but for all that it still made me smile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 5, 2014
"This is where I leave you" is what Warner Bros ought to have said after reading the script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 4, 2014
There is never long between jokes, which tend to be crude and single note, riffing on the idea of "normal" people doing wacky things.
October 31, 2014
... mostly feels like a failed sitcom pilot, with a normally reliable ensemble cast that's unfortunately squandered by the subpar material.
Page 1 of 8