This Is Where I Leave You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

This Is Where I Leave You Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Padraic McKiernan
Sunday Independent (Ireland)
October 5, 2016
I wouldn't say I hated it but my dislike knew no bounds.
Paul Whitington
Irish Independent
October 5, 2016
Jason Bateman is very good at radiating gentle melancholy, and here plays a man with plenty to be blue about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Rosen
August 17, 2016
The stellar cast is first rate, elevating whatever weaknesses there are in the material, and the overall result is an endearing, dysfunctional family that you'll enjoying spending a few hours with.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jason Bailey
June 18, 2016
It speaks volumes about the current shortage of this type of project that so many talented people were willing to attach themselves to a picture as subpar as this one.
Bill Newcott
AARP Movies for Grownups
April 18, 2016
All too often, the desire of the audience dovetails with that of the characters: We really just want to get the hell out of this house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3 of 5
J. Olson
April 17, 2016
One recurring gag features Fey's toddler ambling around with a plastic toilet, defecating in the most unseemly of locations. There isn't a better analogy for [the] film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Alissa Wilkinson
Christianity Today
April 13, 2016
We get set piece after set piece, character moment after character moment, with few of them doing more than letting characters talk about themselves and tell each other things that we're not yet sure we believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Jared Mobarak
The Film Stage
February 27, 2016
Just because the characters are well-to-do with first world problems doesn't make them less sympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
July 31, 2015
Not as bad you might think, but definitely burdened by formula
Roy Ivy
Consequence of Sound
January 13, 2015
When I finally left This Is Where I Leave You, I was so saddened by all the squandered talent that I couldn't help but do the Charlie Brown shuffle gag from Arrested Development.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 19, 2014
...a misbegotten, ineffective adaptation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
November 17, 2014
Pretends to put the fun in dysfunctional-family dramedy when it's not dispensing little bromides in hard-to-swallow bulls**t pablum form. It's all the most sanitized, safe, shticky way to show kidults' lives getting complicated. Sickeningly self-involved.
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
November 7, 2014
There are moments when it's far too sugary for its own good, and the script can't quite find the right amount of laughs or tears, but for all that it still made me smile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tom Glasson
Concrete Playground
November 5, 2014
"This is where I leave you" is what Warner Bros ought to have said after reading the script.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 4, 2014
There is never long between jokes, which tend to be crude and single note, riffing on the idea of "normal" people doing wacky things.
Todd Jorgenson
October 31, 2014
... mostly feels like a failed sitcom pilot, with a normally reliable ensemble cast that's unfortunately squandered by the subpar material.
Craig Mathieson
The Sunday Age
October 29, 2014
Once the many plot points have been ratcheted up, the solutions begin. Characters keep meeting in pairs, with Judd tentatively romancing former acquaintance Penny (Rose Byrne), for dialogue that states the obvious and leads to a rapprochement.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Mark Kermode
Observer (UK)
October 26, 2014
There are a few enjoyable moments, with Fey and Fonda making you wish they had a movie of their own, but sadly the narrative is more concerned with the boys, whose relationship crises are altogether more formulaic and less interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
October 24, 2014
Presents a checklist of "dramedy" clichés that have been executed in much better ways in much better movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philippa Hawker
The Age (Australia)
October 24, 2014
It stays in safe terrain, and the ensemble cast members often feel as if they have been selected to revisit familiar characters and performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 8