Three and Out - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Three and Out Reviews

Page 1 of 12
February 21, 2013
Odd, not really a comedy, more a depressing film about suicide - on the upside, there were 2, Gemma Arterton
½ December 19, 2012
Three and Out really isn't a comedy, even a dark one, but I found it an interesting and well acted film, none-the -less.
October 24, 2012
Thought it would be a good one given it's imaginative story, but it ended up being a regular English comedy, with a typically unexpected ending for a English film.
October 10, 2012
Rubbish. Don't see the point, totally boring
September 29, 2012
I actually didn't mind this one. A fairly light and breezy British comedy with Mackenzie Crook(The Office - UK) and Colm Meany and with Gemma Arterton whom I love. Give it a try if you can find it!
August 25, 2012
Decent enough British Comedy with Colm Meaney putting in a fine turn. And Gemma Arterton is in it - roll on Bond!!
½ June 10, 2012
Hey! It's the guy from "The Office". That's all.
½ September 28, 2011
If you like anything that has to do with the U.K., you'll probably like this. It's a bit sad until they get home to the family, then it picks up a little. Still, not quite the comedic romp it could've been.
July 10, 2011
Enjoyable drama/comedy with sweet MacKenzie Crook and young Gemma Arterton.
April 25, 2011
The music was very, very annoying throughout the film. Great concept, let down by poor planning and process.
April 15, 2011
A great unsung small British film. A super little cast deliver a super little idea. It is a nice easy watch, laced with humour and effortless playfulness. Yes it is silly and goofy, but it is a good find for Brit film fans.

A train driver suffers 2 suicides in a week. He realises a third death and he can retire on a loophole pay-out, all he needs is a third train death. He stumbles across a suicidal man and the pair strike a deal. But, will they go through with it?

The film stars MacKenzie Crook (Office and Pirates) and Colm Meaney, co-starring Gemma Arteton, and also has a cameo from Kerry Katona.

Arteton fans will be glad to see glimpses of her naked, even if with MacKenzie Crook. There is also a lot of swearing too.
February 27, 2011
There is alot of bad stuff in here, but the saving grace is the relationship between Colm Meany and Imelda Staunton which i really strong and when it comes to his final outocme, you do feel sad.
February 13, 2011
There's no light at the end of the tunnel in this misguided romp whose solitary redeeming feature is its quality cast. Too gauche, too derivative and merely sporadically amusing.
January 18, 2011
Fun English movie! strange plot but keeps you going.
½ December 12, 2010
what starts out as a comedy built on a pretty flimsy premis, turns out to be a half-decent drama that builds its characters well...that said, its still fairly weak and MacKenzie Crook is no leading man (does resemble Zonker from Doonesbury tho)
November 30, 2010
this is the best movie
½ November 5, 2010
strange film, good concept but didn't really feel like a comedy or drama or anything else...
½ October 20, 2010
Badly marketed as this was super cute
August 2, 2010
Gives a whole new meaning to "let's hit the tracks".

Some three years ago we were stood in a queue at a tickets office of Liverpool St Station. We were next in line. There was a girl at the window directly in front of us; having missed her train she was arguing with a Network Rail employee: "No, you don't understand ... [something, something] ... connection ... [something] .... delayed. Please check with ... [something, something]. Some FUCKING IDIOT jumped under MY FUCKING TRAIN! The TRAIN was DELAYED! I MISSED THE CONNECTION!" Oh dear, not again, eh?

So that was the subject of a good half hour's conversation on the way to Cambridge ? we don't care how shite you think your life is, yadda yadda, but throwing yourself in front of a train just isn't cricket. First of all, you're inconveniencing and potentially traumatizing the train's passengers, and then of course there is the train diver who surely has not signed a no objection notice to being forced to kill you.

Except that the train driver in Three and Out indeed has no objections. Having accidentally killed two people who, within a fortnight -- in one way or another -- found themselves under his train, London Tube driver Paul (Mackenzie Crook) learns of a little-spoken-of Tube drivers' union rule: if you hit three people in a month, the railway has to pay you a handsome sum as a compensation, and you get to go on early retirement with a full pension. Now all that Paul needs to do is find somebody willing to jump in front of his train by the end of the week to make it three.

Three and Out is funny, well-acted, and reasonably paced. Granted, there are a couple of slow bits, and the writing could be improved upon, still, I found it well worth 2.29 for a DVD.
Page 1 of 12