3 Needles Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ December 1, 2007
[font=Century Gothic]A few years previously, writer-director Thom Fitzgerald made a film, "The Event," about a man dying of AIDS in New York City. With his latest film, "3 Needles," he brings a global perspective to the edidemic in three segments:[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Fortitude of the Buddha" - In southern China, Jin(Lucy Liu), a very pregnant blood smuggler, sets up a blood donation unit in a village to pay locals $5 apiece for their blood. A poor farmer, Tong Sam(Tanabadee Chokpikultong), is too sick to give but he volunteers his 11-year old daughter, Qi(Yotaka Cheukaew), instead.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Passion of the Christ" - In Montreal, a porn star, Denys(Shawn Ashmore), is faking his HIV blood tests with his invalid father's(Aubert Pallascio) blood. Eventually his ruse is discovered.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Innocence of the Pagans" - In Africa, three nuns(Olympia Dukakis, Sandra Oh and Chloe Sevigny) arrive not to care for the large amount people suffering from AIDS, but to proselytize.(Thus, explaining why missionaries are some of my least favorite people.)[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"3 Needles" is an ambitious movie that is occasionally powerful and beautiful. Through an understated style with little dialogue, the movie tells three stories that do a good job of showing how AIDS can flourish through self-interest and exploitation but also a way of fighting it with activists united on a global scale. In the end, the people of the world need to communicate better with each other to improve the world we live in.[/font]
March 13, 2011
My review back in 2007: Although this movie is filled with good actors, it falls very short of a captivating, inspiring, or intelligent story on the AIDS crisis.

I was not fan's of any of these actors or the director, but due to the story subject I was willing to give it a try. The best story was the intial full story ripped from the headlines about AIDS being passed onto innocent Chinese rural citizens. What I was surprised at was that they do not touch on the cover up.

After an initial sad, but very truthful story the movie goes quickly downhill from there. The second story is an idiotic and selfish story, that puts in a twist, but doesn't pay off and only is weird. I felt no sympathy for any of the characters in that second story.

The third story show's the writer and director's total misunderstanding of Catholic theology, nuns, and their views. Then essentially makes a saint out of a Nun who pimps herself out to a rich western business man for the sake of the dying AID's children to make her out as some saint. It ends up being a sad and idiotic moral to a very real crisis in Africa.

This story is not like Babel other than being a losely connected story in various countries. Babel shockingly showed human connection through pain, but this story instead shows nothing of the sort. Instead, it uses a very real crises as a backdrop to some interesting story telling and outright mischaracterization of a faith and promotion of some Unitarian feel good afterschool hogwash.
April 30, 2008
One movie, three stories, one epidemic; AIDS.
The film begins in Africa where young boys are undergoing ritual which includes a circumcision, learning to fight, and to be come a man. From Africa we go to rural China where Jin Ping (Lucy Liu) runs an undergroung blood bank, paying the people $5.00 american per liter of blood they donate, and since most of the people are poor they are more then willin to donate. While taken the blood, Jin who is HIV positve along with her husband contaminates the people. Moving to Canada we meet Denys (Shawn Ashmore), a porn star who is HIV positive but steals blood from his ill father for his frequent 'tests' required by the porn director to hide his positive status in order to continue making porn movies to support his family. But after his father dies the director of the movies finds out he is postive and fires him. His mother (Stockard Channing) fearing for her and her sons life, learns that AIDS patients' are ability to cash in thier life insurance early, so she infects herself so that she can take advantage of the early insurance cash to provide a life of comfort in the small time they both now have for herself and her son. Then we return to South Africa where three nuns - Sister Clara (ChloŽ Sevigny), Sister Hilde Francis (Olympia Dukakis) and Sister Mary John (Sandra Oh) - set up a clinic to treat the villagers, finding only that acts of tremendous self-sacrifice can stave off the spread of the gore of AIDS. The boys from the beginning of the film who are now men are returning to life that it is filled whith pain.This film shows excellent cinematography throughout. It shows a lot of beautiful scenery, such as breathtaking waterfalls, beautiful sunsets, new moons. It examines moral dilemmas and the evil side of humanity. Worth watching.
July 13, 2007
Give me Crash, give me Babel, give me The Dead Girl, they were stories of a person's life connecting to the others.... But 3 Needles only needed one thing to connect them all. Needle.
½ May 28, 2007
I was highly disappointed by this film. It looked promising, especially considering the cast, but somewhere the directing went bad. Such a storyline could have been played out much more smoothly and excitingly. Admittedly, ChloŽ's presence in the film was the driving point for finally seeing this, but by the time we reached her scenes I had been bored to tears and nearly fastforwarded the movie. Furthermore, has the woman no shame?! No wonder she can't hit it mainstream, when she'll do basically anything. The character called for it, I understand, but the truth is that ChloŽ plays the least convincing nun I have ever seen in my life. But maybe I have just been biased by her incredible willingness to have sex on screen no matter what. Regardless, don't waste money on this - wait to catch it on HBO. Note: I will say this for it... the final monologue compensated for a lot.
March 31, 2012
Clearly trying too hard to disturb the viewers, and does very little to get its real point across. Waste of time.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ December 1, 2007
[font=Century Gothic]A few years previously, writer-director Thom Fitzgerald made a film, "The Event," about a man dying of AIDS in New York City. With his latest film, "3 Needles," he brings a global perspective to the edidemic in three segments:[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Fortitude of the Buddha" - In southern China, Jin(Lucy Liu), a very pregnant blood smuggler, sets up a blood donation unit in a village to pay locals $5 apiece for their blood. A poor farmer, Tong Sam(Tanabadee Chokpikultong), is too sick to give but he volunteers his 11-year old daughter, Qi(Yotaka Cheukaew), instead.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Passion of the Christ" - In Montreal, a porn star, Denys(Shawn Ashmore), is faking his HIV blood tests with his invalid father's(Aubert Pallascio) blood. Eventually his ruse is discovered.[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"The Innocence of the Pagans" - In Africa, three nuns(Olympia Dukakis, Sandra Oh and Chloe Sevigny) arrive not to care for the large amount people suffering from AIDS, but to proselytize.(Thus, explaining why missionaries are some of my least favorite people.)[/font]
[font=Century Gothic][/font]
[font=Century Gothic]"3 Needles" is an ambitious movie that is occasionally powerful and beautiful. Through an understated style with little dialogue, the movie tells three stories that do a good job of showing how AIDS can flourish through self-interest and exploitation but also a way of fighting it with activists united on a global scale. In the end, the people of the world need to communicate better with each other to improve the world we live in.[/font]
½ April 10, 2007
Makes you appreciate movies like Babel a lot more and shows how hard it is incorprate different storylines into one, cohesive film. This film doesn't accomplish that.
½ March 28, 2007
Interesting concept, but it is not very cohesive and it wanders aimlessly between three different storylines. There are some very powerful scenes, but it poorly constructed, making what good scenes it does have rather pointless. Well acted, beautifully photographed. It's a shame, there is a good story in there somewhere.
Page 1 of 8