Tideland - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tideland Reviews

Page 2 of 4
November 2, 2006
Well, I'm Chris Hewitt, and I have a confession to make: I hated this film.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
November 1, 2006
Horrendous and terrible and borderline unwatchable -- the most depressing film by a major filmmaker in recent memory.
October 30, 2006
Ugly, disturbing, and misguided mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
October 27, 2006
Perhaps once we leave these squeamish times, Tideland will emerge like one of Welles' later films as a misunderstood classic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 27, 2006
Pointless and an excruciating bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
October 27, 2006
The movie itself feels like an overstuffed burrito: Nicola Pecorini's cinematography has verve but no visual sense, and the film's self-important pace turns deadening over the long haul.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 26, 2006
Becomes an excruciating exercise in gothic excess and progressively more disgusting imagery.
October 26, 2006
When Jeliza-Rose announces in the first scene, 'Today, we're all going on a great trip!', know that it's to the center of an emotional black hole.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 23, 2006
A diary of pain and a chronicle of the armour of mythology an imaginative mind expels to salve it away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 20, 2006
A triumph of costuming and production design over plot, theme and main characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 20, 2006
It's yet another example of the undeniably imaginative filmmaker (Time Bandits, Brazil, 12 Monkeys) frittering away a movie with ugly visuals and even more unpleasant behavior.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 20, 2006
The film drags in the middle and feels excruciatingly slow and repetitive in the final stretch.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 19, 2006
Tideland's unmodulated frenzy has the effect of a prolonged shriek, too high and shrill for individual words to make themselves heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2006
Not for the faint-hearted, to be sure, yet amid the swaying chaff there are moments of piercing grace and beauty when we're reminded of the lost, lonely child at the heart of this tale.
October 19, 2006
It's crazy, dangerous and sometimes gorgeous: a feast of nuttiness that takes you, for a while, over the edge.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2006
Terry Gilliam's first collaboration with Jeff Bridges yielded The Fisher King. This time around, it amounts to something a whole lot fishier.
October 17, 2006
Tideland is Gilliam unrestrained to be sure, and the result is a picture that has no chance at commercial success whatsoever %u2014 but a great shot at upsetting many a right-wing politico at the very least.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 17, 2006
I came very close to walking out of the screening room. And I never do that.
October 16, 2006
Part Lewis Carroll, part Alfred Hitchcock, part Andrew Wyeth, part Terrence Malick and all Terry Gilliam, it is a unique and personal vision that, like it or not, will stick in your mind for a long time after you see it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 15, 2006
Appropriately, Tideland ends with a train wreck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 2 of 4