Tideland - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tideland Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 26, 2007
However misguided and off-the-mark Tideland may be, you can't say that it lacks artistic merit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 13, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
October 19, 2006
Tideland's unmodulated frenzy has the effect of a prolonged shriek, too high and shrill for individual words to make themselves heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 9, 2006
A movie that fits perfectly in the Terry Gilliam oeuvre, except for the fact that it is a dismal, rank bore that so misses the thematic mark that it becomes a complete nightmare.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
October 11, 2006
What we get, sadly, is easily the worst production Gilliam has ever been involved in, either behind the camera or in front of it. Tideland is, by turns, a complete bore and a creepy experience. And I don't mean 'creepy' in a positive sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 15, 2006
Appropriately, Tideland ends with a train wreck.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 16, 2006
"Tideland" is frustrating for the way it refuses to coalesce. You watch the film feeling abused and exploited, never knowing whether there's a bottom to this rabbit hole.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 3, 2007
Gilliam's weirdest -- and most disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 17, 2006
I came very close to walking out of the screening room. And I never do that.
November 2, 2006
Well, I'm Chris Hewitt, and I have a confession to make: I hated this film.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
October 12, 2006
if there was ever a film to end a career, Tideland is it.
| Original Score: 1/5
October 11, 2006
Fittingly ending with a train wreck, Tideland careens about wildly to only slightly rewarding effect.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 26, 2007
Never quite coheres . . . But Gilliam has still made an admirable--and, at times, daring--oddity . . . disturbingly different from most celluloid childhoods.
October 13, 2006
An endless, pointless drone with characters like bacteria and dialogue like an untuned radio.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
April 24, 2009
It seems, from the flat-out filmic disaster of "Tideland," that director Terry Gilliam is intent on ensuring a decisive end to his checkered filmmaking career.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 14, 2007
Now, I like pushing boundaries as much as the next guy. When it's done well, as in say Todd Solondz' wonderfully dark Happiness, it can be searingly challenging. But in the case of Tideland it's just uncomfortable to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
October 3, 2006
full review in Greek
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 30, 2006
Ugly, disturbing, and misguided mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
September 23, 2006
Gilliam is as inventive as ever addressing this fascinating, important topic, but it's a very hard film to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 4