Time Masters (Les Maîtres du temps) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Time Masters (Les Maîtres du temps) Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Super Reviewer
½ December 24, 2016
An uneven sci-fi animation that has a great electronic score but ends up losing some of its focus as it tries to explore its universe in different plot lines like a road movie - and the conclusion also feels a bit inconsistent and frustrating, even though it is surprising.
November 3, 2016
Time Masters isn't the best that French animation or Rene Laloux have to offer as the editing and structure are meandering and the humor is unnecessarily thrown into the mix, but the animation is simply astonishing with a couple of gorgeous sequences with great imagery and excellent attention to detail. The world building is terrific with many interesting creatures and the story is very original and intriguing with a great twist at the end leading to a flawed, yet pretty good science fiction endeavor.
½ January 5, 2015
Surrealist French animated sci-fi from the hand of Moebius, one of underground comics' most revered figures. Plodding but beautiful, it's generally best appreciated as an idea showcase and not necessarily a coherent story. Like a lot of his works, it's often inaccessible and tangential, more concerned with spotlighting the intrinsic weirdness of alien life than with shuffling the plot along. That slow, nonplussed tempo can be confusing, especially as a rescue party takes their time to splash about in a swimming pool and enjoy drinks while their quarry, a stranded young boy, fights nature alone on an uncharted planet. None of the cast, universally blasé and dull, seems overly concerned or motivated to chase their fates, and that irreparably wounds the big picture. Even the artwork, upon which many earlier Moebius works have hung their hats, seems rushed and incomplete. It does capture the general tone of the old master's trademarked style, but none of his precision or smooth, elegant linework. An interesting experiment either way, but not one I'm in a rush to revisit.
October 23, 2014
30 years ago French filmmaker René Laloux made a series of very strange animated films. His little seen 'Time Masters' is a frequently perplexing undoubtedly uncanny work that should make an interesting watch for the adventurous viewer
August 22, 2014
A real masterpiece, with a mind blowing story and nice animation.
July 8, 2014
this was a film that shaped my idea of scifi when i was younger it is something that has never left me.
this is a film about a journey to save a child called Peal and on the way the crew get involved in many different adventures. the only way they can speak to him is through a communication devise they call mick.
i know you can get this film in both English and french
½ February 27, 2014
featuring a meandering plot that lacks in any sort of direction, Time Masters is one dull space opera.
October 7, 2013
For the young at heart... And the europhiles.
½ February 20, 2013
Easily the worst of Laloux's films. Not as visually impressive at the others and completely incomprehensible.
½ December 29, 2012
First time I saw this cartoon when I was a kid around 6 years old. Second time after around 30 years. Usually old movies is quite silly or funny (again, in a silly way) when you re-watching them after couple decades, but this one still strong one
April 30, 2012
Another bizarre French sci-fi film by René Laloux. It's similar to Fantastic Planet, but not nearly as interesting. I watched it mainly because Moebius worked on it, and you can definitely see his influence. The animation is really dated though, and in many places reminded me of 80's Saturday morning cartoons from Filmation. The characters were really imaginative though, and definitely were the highlight of the film... especially the two mind-reading shape-shifting dwarves Yula and Jad.
April 13, 2012
The intensely grim background to a dozen childhood summer holidays of my youth. Time Masters is an English dub of a French animation that got played on the BBC often during the 80's. The plot centers around an orphaned boy lost on a remote planet with an egg like communicator, which he uses to speaks to crew of a spaceship now on a mission to rescue him from large hornet like creatures. Aboard the ship is Jaffar the pilot, an old man, a prince and princess, 2 emotion sensitive aliens. Annoyingly the English dub has never been released on DVD, which was done by the BBC as part of the joint venture.
½ November 4, 2011
In this masterpiece of a cartoon a boy gets lost on a stange planet, beautiful and populated with strange creatures. A group of astanauts hurry through the space to resque him getting in a quite a few of stories on the way. The cartoon is absolutely stunning, particularly considering the time if its production, and the plot is intricate and clever.
½ October 29, 2011
Rene Laloux's second full length is a feast for people who love 1970's 1980's animation and science fiction. Great landscapes and characters here, designed by Moebius. But the biggest problem sadly was the ending, which may be surprising as the story's ending it quite marvelous. Just the way it was told was a bit rushed and a little confusing the first time, and once you process everything, it makes sense (in science-fiction kind of way)You think if only they extended it a little more, or even added some flashbacks would've been better. Regardless, worthy of watching.
½ August 16, 2011
Mer barnanpassad och inte riktigt lika bra som Fantastic Planet, men lyckas ändå förmedla en hel del sense of wonder under sin korta speltid.
½ May 31, 2011
Man, I love Moebius.
Despite some choppy animation (several of the adult characters look Botoxed to the gills) and arbitrary plot developments, there's an enticing blend of the whimsical and the unforgiving here.
½ April 23, 2011
I see this as the Moebius equivalent to Frazetta's Fire and ice. Fire and Ice had the amazing visuals, but Time Masters definitely had the better story.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it, anything by Moebius is always fun to look at.
March 6, 2011
soundtrack didn't age too well, but very worth the time.
February 17, 2011
A wonderful animation, satirical and deeply moving with a surprisingly dark, intelligent climax. ..
October 24, 2010
I love Laloux's full length movies. Such great style.
Page 1 of 5