Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy Reviews

Page 1 of 11
September 18, 2017
If I were to apply a rating system to this film, it wouldn't be stars or thumbs. It would have to be four elbows, as in the number of times I had to elbow my husband to wake him up during the movie.
September 1, 2017
Unlike the Bond films, this movie reminds us that being a British government agent is always a job, and rarely an adventure.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2017
Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy reminds us the past is never past, even when it seems like it's all over...except the Russian caroling.
May 3, 2015
I think I eventually put it all together in the end, but the picture makes this task neither easy nor particularly rewarding.
August 15, 2014
Even an ensemble cast of a very high pedigree can't overcome a plot that's been compacted into near-incomprehensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
September 25, 2013
"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy," with its meticulous Cold War details and labyrinthine plot, is like a smoky 25-year-old single malt scotch whiskey. It hits you hard, but goes down smooth.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
June 20, 2013
The movie is riveting in the exact sense of the word: We feel nailed to the screen in the impossible task of working out what is going on-let alone why it matters.
March 4, 2013
A masterful adaptation of John Le Carre's 1970s spy thriller about the secret British hunt for a high-ranking KGB mole.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 2, 2013
For all those that look at the films of the golden age and chide that "they don't make them that way anymore", here's a fine example that a film can be fresh, intelligent, drawing from the past while carving out its own unique and very contemporary vision
Full Review | Original Score: A+
November 15, 2012
Majestically directed, masterfully acted and brilliantly written, it's not just the best British film of the year but the best film of the year - full stop.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 25, 2012
It's of massive benefit ... to have many of the best British actors carrying this dense, convoluted plot through its many twists and knots.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 17, 2012
From watching the film, it ends up feeling like maybe reading the book should be a prerequisite, or perhaps viewing the five-hour miniseries would be a good idea.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 15, 2012
A very gripping, brilliantly directed character driven genre film, with top class performances from a flawless ensemble cast headed by a perfect performance from Gary Oldman.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
August 17, 2012
Alfredson's marvelous precision in showing how an agent might do difficult espionage work is as thrilling as any overblown James Bond setpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 25, 2012
an ultra-realistic view of the spy game
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 16, 2012
With its hushed and methodical approach - similar to that of Smiley himself - the movie rolls on toward its big reveal with workmanlike exactitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 23, 2012
The film has intrigues, shootings, infidelities and clues -- lots of clues -- which we ponder, along with the poker-faced Smiley, played with Oscar-nominated perfection by Gary Oldman.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 22, 2012
unfolds with maximum perplexity, ensuring that we will never, despite being able to grasp the stakes and gravity of individual scenes, be sure exactly what is going on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 22, 2012
Outstanding performances and fascinating visual design are somewhat marred by a slow pace and a dry narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 19, 2012
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy can assert a serious claim to be the best espionage film ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 11