Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 6, 2018
There are many good reasons why movies cannot run on for six hours, so when cinematic necessity compels squeezing a fine six-hour show like Tinker, Tailor into one third the time, audience and story are likely to be shortchanged, as happens here.
September 18, 2017
If I were to apply a rating system to this film, it wouldn't be stars or thumbs. It would have to be four elbows, as in the number of times I had to elbow my husband to wake him up during the movie.
May 3, 2015
I think I eventually put it all together in the end, but the picture makes this task neither easy nor particularly rewarding.
August 15, 2014
Even an ensemble cast of a very high pedigree can't overcome a plot that's been compacted into near-incomprehensibility.
September 17, 2012
From watching the film, it ends up feeling like maybe reading the book should be a prerequisite, or perhaps viewing the five-hour miniseries would be a good idea.
March 22, 2012
unfolds with maximum perplexity, ensuring that we will never, despite being able to grasp the stakes and gravity of individual scenes, be sure exactly what is going on.
March 8, 2012
like watching a large candle burn down to nothing and then wondering why there weren't any fireworks. Maybe I was expecting too much? Considering the cast and the subject matter it may be a case of too much of a good thing
February 2, 2012
There has always been this ultra-cool tendency in British spy movies, but I don't ever remember seeing one this emotionless. There probably have been some, but few have combined emotional detachment with such technical mastery of filmmaking techniques.
January 29, 2012
Alfredson maintains an admirable lightness of touch, and the performances are fine, but narrative cohesion was the first victim of the cross-over and structurally the plot flies helter-skelter.
January 18, 2012
This is the kind of movie you'd want to watch with a rewind button handy. Actually, at 127 painfully paced minutes, a fast-forward button might help too.
January 13, 2012
Alfredson wraps a riddle inside an enigma and ties it with a big gray bow, as disloyalties are exposed and flashback clues can't come fast enough... boldly dull in protest to modern tastes, and that alone may earn it more praise than it deserves.
January 13, 2012
Densely plotted and edited with the assumption that fickle, easily distracted audiences will keep up and not lag behind. And woe be to the moviegoer who answers the call of nature.
January 9, 2012
Some great performances, style to spare, a sense of moody menace ... Sad to say, then, that it's virtually impenetrable, and possibly downright boring.
January 6, 2012
Hitchcock once said 'What is drama but life with the dull bits cut out? Tinker Tailor is hellbent on creating drama out of only the dull bits - and as interesting as the movie is to look at, it's not very suspenseful at all.
January 5, 2012
"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" unfolds inside its own impenetrable environment, with director Alfredson turning a cold shoulder to the audience.
January 5, 2012
A nearly affectless espionage tale, a Cold War spy thriller that's chilly and boasts few thrills.
December 16, 2011
...a meticulously conceived and executed adaptation that is, unfortunately, dramatically inert virtually from start to finish...
December 16, 2011
Does the identity of the mole even matter?
December 15, 2011
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy begins to seem phlegmatic after a while.
December 15, 2011
The movie certainly puts the cold in Cold War, but our curiosity needs a hook to hang from.
Page 1 of 2