Tjenare kungen (God Save the King) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tjenare kungen (God Save the King) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 10, 2016
Set in 1984, Abra (Josefin Nelden), is a young misfit teenager obsessed with punk music. Her attitude and tastes make her an outsider in her provincial hometown, so when a new wave group comes through town on a tour she runs away with them. During her adventures on the road and in Gothenburg she starts to put together a band with the hopes of breaking it and becoming that punk icon she so desperately wants to be...

This is a classic "slip on a banana peel" Ulf Malmros comedy that is just poor in storyline, poor acting, poor cinematography and poor dialogue. The film tries to communicate the past and make us travel back to the 80s, but fails as it never really becomes believable in my eyes. The storyline is hardly anything new and it never engages as the characters are not that interesting. And most of the actors makes no real marks (even Joel Kinnaman who is a known Hollywood actor today). The only one that stood out for me was the naive and very sweet Gloria played by the lovely Johanna StrŲmberg. Thereīs no need to see this. A classic Swedish film disappointment.
October 17, 2011
What a lovely movie! Great performances all round. A few rather strange scenes, but never mind, this one's good!
October 15, 2011
Alle som har vokst opp på åtti-tallet må se denne! Veldig morsom.
January 4, 2011
Småvild punkig 80-talsnostalgi.
July 23, 2010
A Swedish teenage movie about a punkband.
½ July 8, 2010
i hate the 80s but this was fun!! actually not too bad music most of the movie.
and the girl who played millan just looks like paramore's own hayley!!
March 24, 2010
What an incredible movie, extremely funny, I saw it three times at the cinema and have it on DVD.
It's definitely worth watching and I guarantee that this movie will make you laugh.
November 8, 2009
Ganska charmig men inte i klass med Smala Sussie.
½ October 30, 2009
En härlig film i äkta Göteborgsanda! Mysig!
May 17, 2009
This energetic and easy-going flick captures the essence of a teenage life with attitude!
December 28, 2008
A classic youth drama plot about a girl punk band's road to relative success. It's really nothing that special: relationship drama, the oh-so-familiar-in-nordic-youth-films sexual problems and a bit of punk anarchy against a sausage factory as a topping.

Has some feminist messages but doesn't shove them at one's face, which is good. A lively movie with lively music. HEJ-HEJ-HEJ! :DD

The movie should have tied the knot between the main character and her sister and the latter's man.
½ October 13, 2008
i love everything about this movie! all the actors look smashing.
October 6, 2008
OMG, I love this film so much! The clothes, the music (of the band in the film), the soundtrack, the setting...! It's punk rock, it's Gothenburg, it's the 80's, it is very much alive!
July 5, 2008
ett guldkorn inom svensk film. jag blev mycket positivt Ųverraskad utav den hšr filmen. fan va bra, helt enkelt..
May 18, 2008
Wonderful film! This film is a pure ecstasy pill. It's very life affirming & depicts what it's like being young in a really affectionate way; it depicts the anxieties, the ecstasies and the excitement of having your whole life ahead of you in a really poignant way.
Ulf Malmros is by far the best director Sweden has. He rejects the tradition in Swedish cinema of social realism with a socialistic message, and focuses on what he calls "everyday magic".
And that's exactly what you get here, a realisation of how magic a lot of "everyday" things are.
The film is also a great and endearing portrayal of the punk subculture; and some of the concepts it entails, in this case social rebellion, and also a search for your own path in life, at a time when you are the most vulnerable (when you just left home & try to make a living on your own).
This is a really high budget movie by Swedish standards, technically it's stellar, shot on 35 mm and with gorgeous cinematography. Ulf Malmros spent (if I remember correctly from what he said on the director's commentary) 3 million crowns on the soundtrack alone. That is about twice the budget of what your average entire Swedish film costs to make. On the soundtrack alone!
And Ulf Malmros is a master when it comes to synchronising the music to the going-ons, on the screen. When you do that right (the one who does it the best, in my opinion is Jess Franco) the result is pure cinematic magic. The emotions of the film being emphasised, elaborated & transmitted right to your heart thanks to the music (which when it is done well, contains exactly the same sentiments as the scene it is in).
The performances of the two leading actresses is absolutely stellar. They wipe the floor with 99% of all Hollywood stars.
A real feel good movie, which is really unusual for Sweden (they tend to make feel bad movies instead, like Luicas Moodysson does).
May 6, 2008
Kul. Mer punk åt folket!
May 5, 2008
loved the idea and the timing of the movie.
½ March 30, 2008
If you compare this to any other movie with a story like this that is made in the US you can see the American movie got better actors and more money spent on the film. However, in an American movie you won√ʬ?'t see these '¬?¬?everyday struggles'¬?¬? that you see in Swedish films. Even though this is a ¬?'chasing your dream'¬?¬? type of film it is a little more down to earth.
March 29, 2008
Made me want to run back to the 80 tees and revolt as I never did that as a teenager...I was a kinda geek back then... kinda still is...
March 29, 2008
Feel Good...Man minns sitt 0-tal
Page 1 of 4