To the Arctic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

To the Arctic Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 9, 2017
[It's] certainly a serious issue, and one that deserves our undivided attention. It's weird, then, that To The Arctic 3D can't really focus on the topic at hand.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 17, 2012
For all the hardware involved, To the Arctic's ultra-high-def images have an oddly plastic sheen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 19, 2012
Any trip to this area of the globe is worth the journey, but for all of the warning and dire passages of the story, there's no sustained sting of reaction, with much of the worry communicated here equaling white noise.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 17, 2012
Arguably a good lesson for kids about preserving our environment, To the Arctic is definitely a threat to our equally endangered good taste.
April 18, 2012
MacGillivray, a specialist in gigantic-screen nature movies including The Living Sea, is up to date in his use of 70mm IMAX film, but he's stuck in the past about how to tell a story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 20, 2012
Yes, there's some spectacular footage. But there's also an awful lot of filler for a 40-minute movie...
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 15, 2012
I didn't feel like I learned anything new, and for a documentary that sells itself on doing just that the letdown I felt sadly wasn't much of a surprise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 17, 2012
Though the film is light on anthropomorphization, its aesthetic is nothing if not infantile.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 19, 2012
A movie too focused on force-feeding you its agenda is bound to come across as (sorry, but it must be said) overbearing, no matter how beautifully it's packaged.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 20, 2012
A children's choir sings and a graphic of the movie title explodes into ice shards to heighten the dramatic impact. Corny? You bet...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2012
Is there a law that says we can't have some virtuosity with our virtuousness?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 19, 2012
Catch it in IMAX and 3D if you can swing it, because the gimmick works its butt off for this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 19, 2012
Good on you, polar bears, and kudos to the cinematic expertise that captures them, especially underwater.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 20, 2012
Yes, it's a classy affair, but the 40-minute doc's at-times-nerve-wracking power comes from the subjects who put a furry face on the ongoing and daunting issue of climate change.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 19, 2012
"To the Arctic 3-D" is an impassioned plea for action on global warming, and the passion is intensified by the music.
May 17, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 19, 2012
The film is beautifully made, and you will not be astonished to learn Meryl Streep's narration is perfect, latching on as it does to the theme of nature's moms trying to keep their kids safe.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 13, 2012
Nature movies don't get much more daring or exciting
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 22, 2012
Educational documentary explores life in the frozen wild.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 17, 2012
Emotionally eloquent, awakening awareness for environmental conservation.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 2