To verdener (Worlds Apart) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

To verdener (Worlds Apart) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 18, 2014
A gorgeous movie with religious indoctrination as the main villain. Its gripping, emotional and well acted.
September 26, 2013
Excellent movie you can really feel the tension between the characters. It shows the Jehovah's Witness religion in a respectable manner and how the young girl is forced to choose between her religion, her family, and the boy she loves who is a non-believer. The actors a phenomenal.
½ July 30, 2013
Excellent drama based on a true story of a Jehovah's Witness girl in Denmark, forced to choose between love and her family, by an authoritarian religious sect.

Although there are some dissimilarities from my experience as a JW (such as the Congregation Overseer elder having a beard), I am sure that is mostly due to cultural differences and translation. On the whole, I feel this movie fairly accurately portrayed the JW lifestyle, and what can happen when the rules are broken.
½ April 15, 2012
Interesting and emotionally gripping, but lacks any solid ending.
March 18, 2012
I totally relate to this film the same thing happened to me, except i wasnt a jehovahs witness
June 20, 2011
Worlds apart is a beautiful, conflicted portrait of a girl who must choose between being a Jehovah's Witness and love. Not only must she make this decision, but she must also decide between family and isolation. This is a well-done film about a very real cult and its practices and home life.
May 20, 2011
Meget, meget bra film! Men kanskje ikke den slutten man HELT √łnsket, da. Anyway: str√•lende film og tema!
April 19, 2011
A beautiful story of love vs. strict religion. But with flaws, unfortunately...
Super Reviewer
January 24, 2011
A young girl, deeply indoctrinated in her family's iconoclastic religious sect, must choose between her religion and her heart in this Danish film. This viewer found the story, based on actual events, to be sad and illuminating as it presented the dilemma faced by 17 year-old Sara (Rosalinde Mynster). The church she is a part of uses the fear of being ostracized and intimidation of the gentlest sort to keep its members in line. When Sara dares to defy the conventions of her church, she has to draw on her courage to break away and live her life by her precepts, not theirs, a difficult choice that the film makes abundantly clear. The acting is quite good by all, and the story was emotionally draining. The dynamics in play that ultimately drove Sara away were presented honestly and without sugar-coating. This is educational as it entertains. One feels strongly the pull of the different forces at work and can find encouragement from the way the subject is presented.
January 12, 2011
I totally relate to this film the same thing happened to me, except i wasnt a jehovahs witness
January 9, 2011
Excellent Danish film about personal choices and our freedom to make these choices... Superb performances.
½ December 12, 2010
Extremes... They're never good, most often they're bad and if those extremes rule your life you could be very narrow as a character, and depraved as a person. I would also argue about selfishness of extremes but this motion picture does it fairly for me. Sara, as a young girl, notices in Jehova's Witnesses something strange, because if God is love, how love can be forbidden by Him, also if God is Life and a Path, then life should not be taken in His name. Not if there is any possibility to save it anyway. Love of course in her path from childhood to womenhood plays a major role in her world crumbling apart. Teis, young man she meets reminds her that birthdays, intimate touches and kisses should not be forbidden, her perception of the world changes, imposed values are not so absolute anymore and Sara starts to wonder. Who really have the selfish views here?
½ October 2, 2010
Beautifully written and delicate, heart-wrenching performances. A remarkable exploration of faith, love and choice.
September 3, 2010
Some of you may know Niels Arden Oplev for directing the Swedish movie The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo. His previous film, the Danish To Verdener (aka Worlds Apart) is another fantastic film of his.

It's about a young girl, Sara, who's a member of Jehovah's Vitneses. One day she falls in love with a boy (Teis) who isn't a Jehovah's Vitness and that leaves her with a tough decition: Either she stops seing Teis or her family and Church turns their back on her.

If you haven't seen this one, check it out. It's a true story about faith, love and hurt.
½ August 9, 2010
Absolutely brilliant DK movie. Fantastic story and acting...especially by the main character Rosalinde Mynster.
June 26, 2010
It is interesting to step in somone's else shoes, especially when this someone is a 17 years old Jehova Witness who falls in love with a non-believer. Amazing to see the transformation of this brain-washed girl from the beginning of the film, starting with the way she dressed, her hair and her behaviour, until the end when she becomes someone completely independend and self-confident. The films is based on a true story and I found it very moving and well acted. I just loved it!
½ April 24, 2010
a must-seen movie!so well acted by all the actors!i thought that it would be boring cause of religious stuff,but it was a nice surprise!
April 9, 2010
A reminder of how fucked up religion is, if anybody had forgot!?
February 13, 2010
This little hidden European gem with minor flaws comes from Denmark and it gives a very good performance and a powerful true story. The Denmark as the land from which originated the famous Muhamed cartoons, shows that is also not very immune to the other Christian side of fanatic "movements". The inner struggle of young woman and normal biological feelings and emotions against an implanted narrow minded life view of her family makes this movie very powerful because of the hard choices Sara had made between freedom and family. Rosalinde does a very good job as well the other actors (the actor playing Teis resembles Ewan Mcgregor a lot), and the storyline keeps the drama well delivered. Some can argue that the Jehova's are portrayed one dimensionally but after seeing this movie one can just argue that their beliefs are just causing pain and suffer in the promise of shallow fairy tales. An important movie and topic to think about in the unshaken rise of "religion" against common sense and logic.
Page 1 of 4