Toast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toast Reviews

Page 2 of 7
April 14, 2013
I saw the movie last night (Sat. 14 April) in Rosh Pina, Israel and it proved to be a fab, acutely accurate piece of good ol' British 60s nostalgia and very, very funny. I read the book a good number of years ago so can't remember how faithful the movie is to the original. But never mind: It's not the world's great piece of art but nonetheless very entertaining. I enjoyed it especially as an ex-Brummie and considered Helena Bonham-Carter's Black Country accent to be nigh well perfect.
½ March 12, 2013
Wait this is based on a true story? I thought it was way too petty to be real.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ March 2, 2013
While young Nigel(Oscar Kennedy) may love his parents(Victoria Hamilton & Ken Stott), he is nowhere near that fond of his mother's cooking, even though she can rock a slice of toast. Inspired to do better, Nigel cooks them spaghetti bolognese for dinner, a dish they are puzzled by. That all turns to be a moot point when Nigel's mother falls ill, a condition he initially thinks might be caused by her being pregnant.

"Toast" is an oddly engaging movie that is aided by some great moments, including one where Nigel's friend points out that growing up in a dysfunctional household can only make him interesting as an adult, a sentiment I would like to agree with despite the lack of scientific studies. And that's not to mention a controlled gonzo turn from Helena Bonham Carter that turns Mrs. Potter from monstrous to I think something approaching a tragic figure.

All of this is in the service of learning not to take anything for granted. But then "Toast" is set in the dreary back end of England(at first I thought this might be the 50's until a random group of hippies are shown on a pier and the great use of Dusty Springfield songs) which is quite possibly hell for any aspiring foodie, if the reported awfulness of English food is/was anything to go by. On the other hand, the fact that we get both ends of the spectrum of dishes admittedly does go a long way to disprove that whole line of thought.
December 25, 2012
Slow and too full of unpleasant people to be interesting.
December 16, 2012
It's a bit weird on the part of relations husband and wife, former and later, and uneasy to understand why is it so hard for them to get along, they are your family for god's sake! But the whole idea is warm and comfortable.
½ December 8, 2012
Love the film, nice and quiet but not boring, I cannot stop thinking of the pie and Mrs Potter after ,,, you could feel the hearts & souls of the characters ,,,
½ December 5, 2012
I loved the style of it.
I almost cried.
November 25, 2012
Remember, Freddie Highmore as Peter (Pan) in Johnny Depp's movie about the playwright J. M. Barrie? Here he plays a teen in this biopic about the chef Nigel Slater. This 2010 film couldn't compete with Meryl Streep in Julie and Julia, but it doesn't need to. With Helena Bonham Carter as Mrs. Potter, this film is immensely entertaining. Perfect for small screen or large. I streamed it on Netflix.
November 17, 2012
Charming and touching....the young man who plays Nigel (Oscar Kennedy) is a superstar. A real paradigm for fortitude and grace. Lovely (no sex, no violence...h'mmmm, I guess its still possible to have a great movie without).
November 14, 2012
A foodie film, i really enjoyed it. Not everybody's piece of toast :) lol
Super Reviewer
November 6, 2012
What a wonderful little movie! Nice BBC film based on the early life of UK food critic Nigel Slater. Good performances by Oscar Kennedy as the young Nigel, and Freddie Highmore as the teenaged Nigel. In addition to providing food porn in dessert form, the set design is also awesome with lots of yellows and greens. Very 60s! For the sharp-eyed, Nigel Slater makes a cameo near the end as a chef at the Savoy. A truly nice surprise, because I wasn't expecting too much from this movie. I love when I am treated to a true delight!
October 28, 2012
Sweet tale of woe told in the sweetest way possible.
½ September 28, 2012
It was a little strange, and it couldn't keep my attention.
August 15, 2012
What a sweet, touching movie.
August 13, 2012
Make you laugh and cry and everything in between. Sad in places but very good.
August 8, 2012
So I went into this film not knowing a thing about real Nigel Slater.
The beginning of the film had me, probably the most life for me in this film. I It was just tragic to watch Nigel's poor Mother to have such a fate when she was just so adorable with her issues upon cooking. Hey, no one says cooking can be easy unless you have the skills.
But when Nigel grew up to his teenage self, I quickly lost interest in the film. It was annoying to watch him hate Ms.Potter so much. I understand it sucks to have another woman come into your father's life, but to be so hateful to a woman who at one point tried to be nice to you and all you give was rude remarks about her stats que.
I really lost interest on how the film ended, I mean really, in what restaurant would a guy give a sixteen year old a job spot in actual cooking based off the kid saying, "I make a really good lemon meringue pie." I mean really!
Nigel would have started off as a bus boy, the guy who cleans the dishes, then move slowly up if he showed potential and determination.
And the last bit of summary, the later life of Nigel Slater, could have been done better honestly. Like telling me he never saw Ms. Potter again, well I don't really care. I think in the relationship of Ms.Potter and Nigel, both were at fault for its bad ways. I would have loved to see the adult Nigel become the excellent food reviewer I so read about during the film.
But without out fail, a decent film for Netflix quality.
I
August 4, 2012
period piece dramedy kinda like a brit version of 'simon birch' or any of the rob reiner pix (stand by me)
July 23, 2012
well that was an odd movie.. only watched it cuz helena bonham carter was in it
½ July 17, 2012
Had no idea what this was when I started watching, strangely I quite enjoyed it!
½ June 30, 2012
The sypnosis was very appealing to me : Brit movie, 60s music, and about food! Yet it turned out a bit otherwise, cos the laudable depiction of desolate working-class England suddenly turned tragic.. which then turned into an affair... and struggle. Oh well, still a decent watch after walking out of Abraham Lincon Vampire Hunter.
Plus at the end i found out that 'Toast' was based on the true growing-up story of renowned British chef Nigel Slater! So that explains the muddle - Reality never makes a good concept movie, but shows us true lives.
Page 2 of 7