Toast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toast Reviews

Page 2 of 8
½ January 18, 2014
I hate everyone in this movie. The main character is bratty, The stepmom is underdeveloped, the dad has the wildest mood swings, and the mom does nothing. The main character's choices baffle me, leaving the house, his nonchalant attitude towards his mom's death which changes rapidly also, and his screaming at his mom. We never get to see why Mrs. Potter was crying, we never got to see how the crap he even got his job at that fancy restaurant at the end... The list goes on. A very strong start, with a weak finish. And yes, I do know this is based of a memoir, but still. With all the mumbo jumbo they added, why not add a bit more.
½ January 15, 2014
Love British films, had no idea it was a true story.
November 3, 2013
Not at all the light foodie film I was expecting, but rather a far more depressing tale of a boy's journey to find himself.
½ August 16, 2013
The first half has some surprisingly funny moments, enough so that I still liked the film by the end. The downside though, is that the film gets stuck in the second half - slowing to a painful crawl and spending too much time on the main character's nemesis, Mrs. Potter, rather than focusing on Nigel's love of food.
July 19, 2013
Slow and sad but overall good movie. I love Freddie Highmore!
July 7, 2013
Absolutamente encantador. Me apaixonei por Nigel Slater depois do filme. Grandes atuações e trilha sonora.
½ June 18, 2013
Moving film, very good interpretation Oscar Kennedy as young Nigel Slater.
May 7, 2013
a story about toast (nice)
April 14, 2013
I saw the movie last night (Sat. 14 April) in Rosh Pina, Israel and it proved to be a fab, acutely accurate piece of good ol' British 60s nostalgia and very, very funny. I read the book a good number of years ago so can't remember how faithful the movie is to the original. But never mind: It's not the world's great piece of art but nonetheless very entertaining. I enjoyed it especially as an ex-Brummie and considered Helena Bonham-Carter's Black Country accent to be nigh well perfect.
½ March 12, 2013
Wait this is based on a true story? I thought it was way too petty to be real.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ March 2, 2013
While young Nigel(Oscar Kennedy) may love his parents(Victoria Hamilton & Ken Stott), he is nowhere near that fond of his mother's cooking, even though she can rock a slice of toast. Inspired to do better, Nigel cooks them spaghetti bolognese for dinner, a dish they are puzzled by. That all turns to be a moot point when Nigel's mother falls ill, a condition he initially thinks might be caused by her being pregnant.

"Toast" is an oddly engaging movie that is aided by some great moments, including one where Nigel's friend points out that growing up in a dysfunctional household can only make him interesting as an adult, a sentiment I would like to agree with despite the lack of scientific studies. And that's not to mention a controlled gonzo turn from Helena Bonham Carter that turns Mrs. Potter from monstrous to I think something approaching a tragic figure.

All of this is in the service of learning not to take anything for granted. But then "Toast" is set in the dreary back end of England(at first I thought this might be the 50's until a random group of hippies are shown on a pier and the great use of Dusty Springfield songs) which is quite possibly hell for any aspiring foodie, if the reported awfulness of English food is/was anything to go by. On the other hand, the fact that we get both ends of the spectrum of dishes admittedly does go a long way to disprove that whole line of thought.
December 25, 2012
Slow and too full of unpleasant people to be interesting.
December 16, 2012
It's a bit weird on the part of relations husband and wife, former and later, and uneasy to understand why is it so hard for them to get along, they are your family for god's sake! But the whole idea is warm and comfortable.
½ December 8, 2012
Love the film, nice and quiet but not boring, I cannot stop thinking of the pie and Mrs Potter after ,,, you could feel the hearts & souls of the characters ,,,
½ December 5, 2012
I loved the style of it.
I almost cried.
November 25, 2012
Remember, Freddie Highmore as Peter (Pan) in Johnny Depp's movie about the playwright J. M. Barrie? Here he plays a teen in this biopic about the chef Nigel Slater. This 2010 film couldn't compete with Meryl Streep in Julie and Julia, but it doesn't need to. With Helena Bonham Carter as Mrs. Potter, this film is immensely entertaining. Perfect for small screen or large. I streamed it on Netflix.
November 17, 2012
Charming and touching....the young man who plays Nigel (Oscar Kennedy) is a superstar. A real paradigm for fortitude and grace. Lovely (no sex, no violence...h'mmmm, I guess its still possible to have a great movie without).
November 14, 2012
A foodie film, i really enjoyed it. Not everybody's piece of toast :) lol
Super Reviewer
November 6, 2012
What a wonderful little movie! Nice BBC film based on the early life of UK food critic Nigel Slater. Good performances by Oscar Kennedy as the young Nigel, and Freddie Highmore as the teenaged Nigel. In addition to providing food porn in dessert form, the set design is also awesome with lots of yellows and greens. Very 60s! For the sharp-eyed, Nigel Slater makes a cameo near the end as a chef at the Savoy. A truly nice surprise, because I wasn't expecting too much from this movie. I love when I am treated to a true delight!
October 28, 2012
Sweet tale of woe told in the sweetest way possible.
Page 2 of 8