Tolkien Reviews

Page 1 of 5
June 28, 2020
On its surface, Tolkien is about all of the bits of the author's life that influenced his grand fantasy world ... Yet, [it] is much more than such literary references. It is a film about love and friendship.
September 30, 2019
The strength of this film resides not in its storytelling, but in the performances conveyed by the actors onscreen as well as the visuals that infused magic with reality.
August 19, 2019
Tolkien observes the general human need for kindred spirits, comrades-in-arms, cohorts to spur passion and purpose, friends to live and love and die alongside.
June 25, 2019
Well-directed with a close eye by journeyman Finnish director Dome Karukoski, the film looks handsome and offers a well-rounded look at the English class system while also providing insights into the inspirations behind Tolkien's visions.
June 21, 2019
Tolkien is innocuous but uninspiring.
June 17, 2019
Tolkien is a beautiful told tale that shows the value of strong, supportive friends and how they can shape our lives, our decisions and our personalities.
June 17, 2019
Tolkien might not be as exciting as adventures in Middle Earth, but the film is more interested in the process that created that world. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 17, 2019
More than once Tolkien put me in mind of Dead Poets Society, and there isn't higher praise for a literary coming-of-age screen story.
June 17, 2019
Tolkien is inspired by the life and miracles of a writer of great imagination, but it is not particularly imaginative ... nor profound. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 17, 2019
Tolkien is a film that gives priority to style rather than substance. Even so, the film is an enjoyable experience, particularly for Middle Earth fans. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 17, 2019
A tribute that knows how to stay at the necessary distance to avoid making serious mistakes, a caution that, on the other hand, ends up preventing Tolkien from flying beyond, becoming another generic biopic. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 14, 2019
One of those movies that should work handsomely but somehow doesn't, quite, this is still worth it for LOTR devotees and diehards who'll pick all the in-jokes and hobbit-ish details and tearfully swoon over the timeless love between John and Edith.
June 12, 2019
A solvent biopic. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 11, 2019
A movie to explain everything. [Full review in Spanish]
June 11, 2019
Beautiful, dreamlike vision of how writers find their voices told through the early life of Tolkein. Very inspirational for young artists to see how to take their pain and turn it into art.
June 6, 2019
I enjoyed Tolkien wholeheartedly. With a small, quaint film such as this, I hardly have high expectations. However, some stylistic flair and a good amount of heart boosted Tolkien above the average biopic.
June 5, 2019
Tolkien has turned out about as well as it could. Bravo.
June 4, 2019
Tolkien ends with the author writing down the opening words of The Hobbit for the first time. It's a film that revels in the same values that Tolkien's own work does - love, friendship, journeys, quest.
June 4, 2019
...for those who appreciate his work, the creative process, or even just the nature of language, it gets the job done.
June 4, 2019
Tolkien is indeed a treasure. I was stimulated, moved and enthralled.
Page 1 of 5