Too Beautiful for You (Trop belle pour toi) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Too Beautiful for You (Trop belle pour toi) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 24, 2013
Oh what to say about this one. The sound is so bad on the DVD, I basically just had to read it silent cause even when I had the volume all the way up, I could barely hear voices. Not sure if the film or the copy of the DVD is to blame.

Also, it was probably the first movie dealing with a cheating husband where he was married to the stunning gorgeous women, yet fooling around with the most unattractive women in the movie. So it had that going for it.

But I hate cheaters, and the whole film is about cheating on your significant others. And after awhile, it's not even a secret.

Gérard Depardieu is such a scumbag in this movie, as very early on he is quite honest to not just his wife, but everyone he knows, that he is cheating on her. He treats her like garbage in every scene as well.

You kind of feel awful for the wife, but she let's this go on the entire film, so...

That leaves really no likable characters in the film. And the story is pretty boring.

Worst yet, the characters seem to always be talking to the camera or voicing their thoughts to people instead of a real based dialogue.

And the R rating is a farce. Some talk of sex, but no language or sex or nudity. Should be a PG-13 film for sure, in case the rating would scare anyone off.
Super Reviewer
December 3, 2012
Great bit of acting here to pull off the seeminly incomprehensible affair..then again, how many examples do we see of this in our lives?
June 6, 2012
Mais il m'emmerde à la fin votre Schubert!

Un conte contemporain sur la moralité de l'adultère, sur l'amour comme vraie source d'expression. Le film abat des conventions, ça va de soi, et remet en question certaines moralités établies depuis plusieurs siècles. Effectivement, imaginez-vous Bernard Barthélémy, un bourgeois français, comblé par la vie qui l'accable de richesse et qui l'a doté d'une belle femme fidèle qui l'aime éperdument et qui fait l'envie de tous. Au bout du compte, je m'aperçois que ça sonne comme bon nombre de scénarios populaires, mais le traitement de Blier est si particulier que le film se démarque par bon nombre d'aspects. Franchement, je peux bien vous avouer qu'il est si particulier que j'affirmerai que je n'ai jamais vu d'autres films avec un traitement semblable.

Donc, ce fameux Bernard Barthélémy, curieusement, un beau matin, tombe amoureux de sa secrétaire, une femme qui possède très peu de charme, un peu bouffie et le sourire inexistant. La course à la moralité s'enclenche donc, et Blier tente, par l'entremise de ses personnages, d'éveiller en le spectateur une ouverture d'esprit différente qui témoigne de la franchise du 21e siècle.
July 24, 2011
Very boring narrated.
January 11, 2011
un putain de role pour une balasko impeccable
le film est une paradoxe sur l amour la beaute
c est subtil c est ambigu c est du blier quoi
Super Reviewer
November 21, 2010
Initially I found this strangely moving, but the deeper it went into the affair, the less I lost all sympathy for all the main characters. Excepting perhaps the wife, I did feel sorry for her. Nicely filmed and acted, but not the most enjoyable storyline. Kind of off-putting, quite honestly.
September 12, 2010
Weird story but funny sometimes. "Will somebody turn off this bloody Chaupin???"
½ January 6, 2010
The structure of the conversation is like nothing I've ever seen before. The line between dream and reality is very much obscured throughout, and the characters often communicate in a way rarely achieved in real life. They say what they really think, rather than what they think they are obliged to say. Thereby, it's a film which touches a raw nerve everyone has.
September 3, 2009
Sujet classique traité de manière singulière. Reflexion d'une grande finesse sur le couple, l'adultère, la passion, la beauté, le regard des autres.
Le trio Bouquet-Depardieu-Balasko est excellent.
½ August 29, 2009
I love the way this switches between fantasy and reality seemingly without a care for the audience's understanding. And the story (hulking Depardieu cheats on his foxy wife with a dowdy secretary) chugs along nicely, well acted etc. I just can't help feeling if it wasn't in French it'd probably be a pretty mawkish affair. Luckily it IS in French.
March 7, 2009
Un film audacieux, original, unique... Trop peut-etre. A vouloir faire complique, Blier perd le spectateur dans un labyrinthe narratif qui s'il est interessant a decortiquer l'est un peu moins pour moi a regarder. Dommage, car l'esthetisme du film, les dialogues de Blier, la musique et Schubert et les acteurs (magnifique Carole Bouquet) sont grandioses. Je le reverrai, c'est sur, mais quand...
January 28, 2009
I liked it, although the editing is poorly done and sometimes very confusing! Not quite sure what the message is, either...
December 28, 2008
More bizarro comedy from Blier, with a man cheating on his gorgeous wife with the plain secretary he feels more connected to and loved by, but the film eventually jumps off the rails by basically making no one happy in the situation, leaving the viewer to wonder why they watched it in the first place.

The director's odd stylistic choices continue to draw me into renting his films, but I think I'm more drawn to his style than my actual appreciation of his story or message.

Worth a rental.
½ October 25, 2008
J'aurais beaucoup aime en dire du bien, de ce Blier. Le concept de depart est interessant, l'idee de ces personnages qui expriment strictement ce qu'ils pensent est magistrale et quelques dialogues sont assez bien sentis. Malheureusement, il se degage quelque chose d'eminement pedant et artificiel de ce film, qui me l'a rendu totalement hermetique alors meme qu'il suscitait mon interet a la base. Pour ne rien arranger, si Balasko livre une tres belle interpretation, Depardieu et Bouquet sonnent faux au possible.
October 19, 2008
J'ai du mal avec des scenes entrecoupées comme ca, mais quel film, quelle histoire et quels acteurs!
June 12, 2008
Ugly girls get laid too!
June 9, 2008
The only think I can say about this movie is that if Bunuel had seen it he would have liked it. If you like Luis Bunuel movies, this is one to watch. It has the bonus of marvellous music by Shubert.
February 26, 2008
Mais il m'emmerde à la fin votre Schubert!

Un conte contemporain sur la moralité de l'adultère, sur l'amour comme vraie source d'expression. Le film abat des conventions, ça va de soi, et remet en question certaines moralités établies depuis plusieurs siècles. Effectivement, imaginez-vous Bernard Barthélémy, un bourgeois français, comblé par la vie qui l'accable de richesse et qui l'a doté d'une belle femme fidèle qui l'aime éperdument et qui fait l'envie de tous. Au bout du compte, je m'aperçois que ça sonne comme bon nombre de scénarios populaires, mais le traitement de Blier est si particulier que le film se démarque par bon nombre d'aspects. Franchement, je peux bien vous avouer qu'il est si particulier que j'affirmerai que je n'ai jamais vu d'autres films avec un traitement semblable.

Donc, ce fameux Bernard Barthélémy, curieusement, un beau matin, tombe amoureux de sa secrétaire, une femme qui possède très peu de charme, un peu bouffie et le sourire inexistant. La course à la moralité s'enclenche donc, et Blier tente, par l'entremise de ses personnages, d'éveiller en le spectateur une ouverture d'esprit différente qui témoigne de la franchise du 21e siècle.
February 15, 2008
Some have accused this film of being shallow. I don't see it. The cinema is a visual medium so audiences judge characters by their appearances alone. As Depardieu's wife Bouquet's character is somewhat brittle but not sufficiently so for an audience to overlook her obvious beauty and elegance whilst Depardieu's attraction to the decidedly frumpy Balasko is not sufficiently explained to be shared by the audience. But surely that is the point? It is not always clear to others what lovers see in each other.
Page 1 of 2