Top Hat Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 20, 2019
In short, perfection.
October 8, 2019
The dancing of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers is one of the most agreeable sights of civilization. This has been said before - possibly in this column - but that isn't any good reason for not saying it again.
June 12, 2019
While personally I didn't think it was quite so swell as The Gay Divorcee or Roberta, it is still about ten times better than am musical that hasn't got Fred Astaire in it. The man is a maniac when he starts to dance.
April 6, 2010
Most of what I liked about Top Hat centers around its two stars: full of energy and grace, they breathe life into the film whenever it threatens to lose its luster.
April 24, 2009
Arguably the classiest and funniest of the RKO Astaire-Rogers musicals.
April 24, 2009
If you want only one Astaire-Rogers musical, Top Hat is obligatory.
Top Critic
April 24, 2009
Finally, thanks more to Fred Astaire than any other single influence, the character of musicomedy in the cinema has now completely changed.
March 21, 2008
The fourth pairing of Astaire-Rogers is one of their best and RKO top grosser of the year.
January 11, 2008
This one can't miss and the reasons are three -- Fred Astaire, Irving Berlin's 11 songs and sufficient comedy between numbers to hold the film together.
January 11, 2008
This 1935 musical finds Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers at the top of their form.
February 6, 2007
June 24, 2006
Top Hat does not glorify wealth or upper class status - if anything it continually pokes fun at it.
February 9, 2006
The third Astaire-Rogers movie and one of the best.
January 20, 2006
Because we are bound by gravity and the limitations of our bodies, because we live in a world where the news is often bad and the prospects disturbing, there is a need for another world somewhere, a world where Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers live.
September 7, 2005
The plot is involving, especially as it builds to its seemingly impossible-to-solve finale.
August 3, 2005
...even after seventy years, the same elements delight us all over again. Good songs, good dancing, and good stars never go out of style.
August 1, 2005
Every musical number works, and the mistaken identity plot is pleasant enough, even if there's too much emphatic dithering from the supporting players towards the end.
July 7, 2005
December 28, 2004
One of the best of the Astaire-Rogers best.
December 21, 2004
Fred and Ginger's best.
Page 1 of 2