The Town Is Quiet (La Ville est tranquille) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Town Is Quiet (La Ville est tranquille) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 8, 2004
Too trying and unwieldy to keep my attention.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 26, 2003
One of the best French films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 8, 2002
Strives toward greatness, toward a complete understanding of life in the roiling, unsettled, complex locale they call Marseilles, and its partial success must be applauded.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 9, 2002
Director Robert Guédiguian, who wrote the script with Jean-Louis Milesi and co-produced his film, delivers a story that's particularly French but also sadly universal.
July 20, 2002
For all of the apparent naturalness on screen, Guediguian's grim vision comes off as far too calculated.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 13, 2002
This ville is far from tranquille, but the French twist on this emotional powerhouse keeps proceedings meditative as things go into the gutter.
Full Review | Original Score: 85/100
July 9, 2002
It's got a lot on its plate, and sometimes it overindulges, loses focus and plays too obviously. Still, it manages to remain forceful and moving.
June 21, 2002
More successful as sociological argument than as cinematic narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 21, 2002
At two hours, this movie seems to drag on and on as the tragedies pile up. I found myself looking at my watch more than I was looking at the screen. If the town were a little more quiet, I would have taken a nap
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
June 20, 2002
It's a strong viewing experience but definitely worth the effort.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 1, 2002
Recommended only if you like it dreary.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 1, 2002
Bach and Chopin form clear cut patterns that underscore the emotionally depressing film ..., but a better choice would have included the impressionistic Debussy
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 22, 2002
It's a pitiless film, uncompromising in what it shows us.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 21, 2002
Ultimately, the director plays overbearing god to them all, using the martyred Michale to drive his points down our throats, but the fine supporting cast superbly explores his complex town.
February 16, 2002
Always, one gets the sense that this film is coming from some place real, and terrible.
February 15, 2002
...the film's characters are familiar, real-life people, whose sadness reaches out from the screen.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 15, 2002
The characters themselves do not really engage us -- they depress us instead of breaking our hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 14, 2002
Quilted together with more passion than grace, this sprawling slice of life resembles one of John Sayles' ambitious social portraits...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
February 1, 2002
La ville est tranquille is not depressing, but a sense of sadness permeates the film. As dramatic as it is, Guediguian's point is well taken: this town will remain quiet.
December 9, 2001
If you find meaning in The Town is Quiet, it's in the intersection of the characters' lives, or in Guediguian's view of their peculiarly urban interdependence.
Page 1 of 2