The Town Is Quiet (La Ville est tranquille) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Town Is Quiet (La Ville est tranquille) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 15, 2002
The characters themselves do not really engage us -- they depress us instead of breaking our hearts.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 8, 2004
Too trying and unwieldy to keep my attention.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 23, 2001
Although an inordinately long 132 minutes, The Town Is Quiet fails to make its connections clear.
October 26, 2001
Unfortunately, writer-director Robert Guediguian allows his Marseilles-set drama to ramble on for nearly two hours with subplots that go nowhere -- and half-baked leftist political commentary -- before focusing in for a quietly devastating climax.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 20, 2002
For all of the apparent naturalness on screen, Guediguian's grim vision comes off as far too calculated.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 21, 2002
At two hours, this movie seems to drag on and on as the tragedies pile up. I found myself looking at my watch more than I was looking at the screen. If the town were a little more quiet, I would have taken a nap
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 6, 2001
Inflated with a doom that feels programmatic rather than earned.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 21, 2002
Ultimately, the director plays overbearing god to them all, using the martyred Michale to drive his points down our throats, but the fine supporting cast superbly explores his complex town.
June 21, 2002
More successful as sociological argument than as cinematic narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 1, 2002
Recommended only if you like it dreary.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 17, 2001
Whilst dark in content, Guediguian never loses sight of the joy that even the smallest act of kindness can bring, which is conveyed in every scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 14, 2002
Quilted together with more passion than grace, this sprawling slice of life resembles one of John Sayles' ambitious social portraits...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 25, 2001
You are left with an overall impression of a movie so full of life that it is almost bursting at the seams.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 28, 2001
A worthwhile act of social criticism.
February 16, 2002
Always, one gets the sense that this film is coming from some place real, and terrible.
June 20, 2002
It's a strong viewing experience but definitely worth the effort.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 1, 2002
Bach and Chopin form clear cut patterns that underscore the emotionally depressing film ..., but a better choice would have included the impressionistic Debussy
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 26, 2003
One of the best French films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 8, 2002
Strives toward greatness, toward a complete understanding of life in the roiling, unsettled, complex locale they call Marseilles, and its partial success must be applauded.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 11, 2001
A rewarding experience for those who relish gusts of Gallic gloom.
Page 1 of 2