Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger IV - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger IV Reviews

Page 1 of 15
March 31, 2017
"Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger 4" is a lower quality, more excessively absurd, but arguably more entertaining film than the first. The tongue-in-cheek social commentary, the non-stop offensiveness, and the ridiculous amount of violence all provided some very funny moments, but the movie drags on too long, with too many lengthy and questionable scenes overall.
May 30, 2016
It only took three tries to make a sequel even more subversive, irreverent, and profane than the original.
½ May 21, 2016
Now I can say that I've watched the entire Toxic Avenger quadrillogy. I think I did enjoy the first film, but I'm not as sure the more films I watched. Each film seemed to get more crude and purposefully repellent. I did like this film's story about the Toxic Avenger finding himself in an alternate universe where Toxie and Sgt. Kabukiman (the second most successful Troma franchise) are evil. However, I must be turning into a cranky old man because the film's humor was wildly juvenile and at the same time was such a hard R-rating that no 12 year old should ever be watching this film. There are some funny cameos and bit parts in the film, including Ron Jeremy as Mayor Goldberg and Corey Feldman as a gynecologist named Kinky Finkelstein. There's also James Gunn who got his start writing Troma films before going legit, writing films like the better than expected "Dawn of the Dead" remake and now writing and directing Marvel comic universe films. And speaking of Marvel, Stan Lee actually narrates the prologue and epilogue of the film. Future director Eli "Hostel/Cabin Fever" Roth even has a bit part in the film.
June 21, 2015
The best gory movie that Roma did the best and awesome movie
May 4, 2015
The Diaper Mafia, retarded rebel, two baby fetuses fighting. Need I say more?
½ April 6, 2015
Ok.. Where to start.. Where to start.. When people tell you this movie isn't for everyone; THEY MEAN IT! If you loved the offensive nature of the first movie, and you can't get enough of gore, then this movie actually might be for you. This movie doesn't come close to the orginal, but as much as it pains me to say this: This movie is miles and miles above the 2nd and 3rd Toxie movies.

This movie goes back to it's roots using many of the same actors from the original, Toxie has his voice from the 1st movie back, the make-up is better, and the gore is all over the place! People say this is the most offensive movie out there, and holy shit I believe them.

This movie doesn't just have stereotypes, this movie IS a stereotype! This movie blows up a School that has Mentally challenged children in it. Rednecks drag black people tied to a rope on the road with their car, someone gets a cross shoved through his head! God is a half naked midget in this movie telling the Pope to "screw off" while he rubbing an angels boob. Pornography is all over the movie, you see dildos, urine, and you get to see someone crap his pants.

This movie is leaps and bounds ahead of the 2nd and 3rd in the gore department. Some scenes have blood spraying everywhere, you see intestines pulled out of peoples stomachs, you see heads squished, you see twin babies in a womb kill each other. This movie is absolutely disgusting in so many levels that I don't think I've ever felt so dirty watching a movie before in my life! This movie mocks mankind and it made me lose hope in the human race itself.

Sadly I gave it 2.5 starts because in the beginning they apologized for making 2 horrible sequels and promise you "This is the real sequel". They were right. The Toxic Avenger was always a trashy joke to begin with, this movie earned it's right to be the nastiest sequel a franchise can get. Viewer discretion is advised.
½ December 20, 2014
The first super hero from New Jersey

One of Toxie's friends is a mad scientist who believes in the ability to connect dimensions. Unfortunately, he executes his plan and Toxie is sent to a planet where that version of himself is a bad guy, and the bad version of Toxie, the Noxious Offender, is sent to Earth. Can Toxie find a way back to his dimension before Noxious kills everyone in Toxic's hometown?

"Are you selling the crack or are you smoking it?"

Lloyd Kaufman, director of The Toxic Avenger I-III, Tromeo and Juliet, Terror Firmer, and The Return of Nuke 'Em High 1 & 2, delivers Citizen Toxie: Toxic Avenger IV. The storyline for this picture is straightforward and fairly unimaginative. The special effects and action scenes are very well done and reminded me a little of Planet Terror and The Story of Rickey. The acting is mediocre and the cast includes David Mattey, Ron Jeremy, Barry Brisco, Carey Feldman, and Debbie Rochon.

"We're going to celebrate take a Mexican to work day."

I grabbed this off Netflix because I saw the first three and decided to give this a shot. I will say the action is very well done, and the film does a good job of making fun of itself while incorporating unwarranted unusual sex sequences. Overall, this is a very average movie but a must see for grindhouse fans.

"You're giving me a stomach ache in my brain."

Grade: C
September 4, 2014
Surpassed the original!
½ April 5, 2014
Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger IV is a bit of a return to form for the Toxic Avenger film series. The previous films were starting to go down in quality (if you want to call it that) and were kind of lame sequels. This fourth film brings things back to the way they were in the original film: heaping amounts of gore and disgusting things, lots of nudity, and just flat out craziness from start to finish. It's also the funniest of the movies, in my opinion. I laughed the most at this one, even more than the first. It's a terrific sequel as well as one of the strongest of the series.
October 23, 2013
brings back the spirit of the original vaguely, but still contains too much ridiculousness without taking a breath. That being said it does have its moments. You want a true fun ride with Toxie stick with the original
½ August 1, 2013
In what can only be described as a step below a student film project, Troma gives us the 4th installment of the Toxic Avenger, for who can be debated. The jokes are few and might make a 9 year old laugh but should of been tossed in the trash after they were written down. It is gross, in concept and visually, and would be offensive if not so cheaply done.
March 24, 2013
Nearly every offensive joke possible was tossed in here and executed ridiculously and hilariously. Citizen Toxie is over the top and full of gore, just like I like it.
February 1, 2013
When he is unable to diffuse a bomb from destroying Tromaville's school for the gifted, Toxie is sent spiraling into a bizarro universe, where his evil doppelganger rules the crime-ridden town of Amortville. Meanwhile, The Noxious Offender has taken his place back in Tromaville, where he begins to spread his vile hate and corruption. How will Toxie ever get home to stop this terrible new threat? After two lackluster sequels, Lloyd Kaufman returns with what he claims to be the one true sequel to the 80's cult-classic THE TOXIC AVENGER, and depending on your personal taste, this will be either the best or the worst film you have ever seen in your entire life. We, for one, side with the latter. THE TOXIC AVENGER PART IV: CITIZEN TOXIE is one of the greatest crimes ever committed against humanity. It is shit smeared on 108-minutes of celluloid waste. Kaufman needs to return the script to the group of immature high school freshman that wrote it and demand his $15 back. To quote BILLY MADISON: "What you've just [made] is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever [seen]. At no point in your rambling, incoherent [film] were you even close to anything that could be considered [art]. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having [watched] it." With the cunning humor far removed, the only thing that links THE TOXIC AVENGER PART IV to the original (besides a few measly cameos) is the absurd amount of splatter. If you enjoy movies that are drenched in rancid feces, semen, and stupidity, look no further! THE TOXIC AVENGER PART IV will meet all of your delicate sensibilities, and more!

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
January 19, 2013
INCREDIBLE! Troma or not, this is one of the all time best sequels i have ever seen! It completely ignores the terrible sequels (the opening even calls them rotten!) and delivers the true return of Toxie! This is easily equal to the first, if not better! Long live Troma!!!!
January 7, 2013
The best of The Toxic Avenger movies!
November 18, 2012
MUCH better than 2 and 3!! Sarah is Sarah again - that made me feel better for some reason. Cameos by Lemmy, Ron Jeremy and Corey Feldman to name a couple.... too funny.
October 31, 2012
Very funny and dark, compared to the other films.
October 21, 2012
Where's the 6th star for this insane movie ? I'll never forget "Everybody... Duck !" and "Watch out. He's armed !" XD
½ October 3, 2012
Troma. This one word means run away fast if you are easily offended and/or come take a peak inside to see what perversions you may or may not want to see put on film at a $500,000 movie budget.... Yeah, I thought so. It's much better than parts two and three combined but doesn't live up to the original. A lot of gore and offensive humor along with a no holds bar attitude makes Lloyd Kaufman a poor man's crucified lovechild between John Waters and Takashi Miike. It's as terrible as one would imagine, and if you can't imagine it then I best advise you to stay away and do not look into this type of film at all. Enjoy.
October 2, 2012
While attempting to stop a school bombing, The Toxic Avenger (Clyde Lewis) is accidentally sent to an evil doppelganger universe. While trapped in this parallel world, Toxie's insidious counterpart (The Noxious Offender) is free to begin a reign of terror in Tromaville. This sequel, counteracting the lame second and third installments, does an excellent job in capturing the crude humor and gory charm that made the first Toxic Avenger a cult masterwork. Like all of Lloyd Kaufman's better movies, Citizen Toxie: The Toxic Avenger IV gleefully revels in bad taste and amusing trashiness.
Page 1 of 15