Trade of Innocents - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trade of Innocents Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 19, 2016
A powerful, well done film, bringing attention to the sex trade before it was what everyone was talking about. This movie helped start the conversation about this tragedy.
June 8, 2015
A serious material in a poor movie!

I really want to like this movie and rate higher as an honest living person for its contents alone, but as a movie freak it was easy to say the screenplay was a letdown. Not based on the actual incident, but the film depicts how and where these things take place. In fact inspired by the director and producers of this film's own experience during a visit to the Cambodia. This was a movie about human trafficking, in the line of movies like 'Trade' and 'Eden'.

An American couple who recently lost their child on a mission in a Southeast Asian city to fight the crime. What they encounter is the crux of the story. Don't anticipate breathtaking stunts and wide human traffic network like the movie 'Taken'. As I expected in this low budget movie, everything was too short including the cast with a simple story. But there is a powerful message, that's the most important and everything else is just a formality for a movie to have a basic thing. Watch it or not its up to you, because in one way worth give a try and in another, it is not.

½ June 5, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014

(2012) Trade Of Innocents

The writer and director by the name of Christopher Bessette may have saw some of the same documentaries and news skits as I did upon coming up with the synopsis of this extremely "routine" movie. I've already seen this human trafficking problem on "Nightline", "Dateline", "20/20" as well as on other news outlets etc... And that some of those critics may have seen many similar versions like this one except that those ones were made first. But before I go on, I just want to say that I'm very tired seeing fictitious movies made about the problem about caring white Americans or English people doing something about it when it doesn't happen in actuality or in real life. It's nice to make a movie about human trafficking, involving the exploitation of underage children if viewers are not aware about the problem, but the thing is that this problem had been happening for such a very long time that nothing is still being done about it since people still prefer to watch it as a movie than to take action on it. And that the problem is much more complicated than this film is conveying, such as corruption and government which this film failed to address. The movie did address the poverty aspect of it and to me that's isn't enough.

It stars married couple, Alex(Dermot Mulroney) and Claire(Mira Sorvino) Becker moving into Cambodia to open a program for the intentions of stopping the exploitation of underage children. Their personal motivation for doing this had lot to do with what happened to them in their personal life, in this case a child of their own being kidnapped for the assumption of human trafficking. And it's being told so blatantly that viewers don't know too much about what to make of it. Upon watching this movie, tells me that viewers are still not being properly informed about what is going on, and in my own interpretation that the only way we'll know about these things has to be in fictitious movie form, and to me I look at that as a total insult.

January 23, 2014
movie about child trafficking in Malaysia and the united states. pretty good movie, low budget film but well made enough to understand the issue in hand
Super Reviewer
December 28, 2013
3 1/4 stars--Good message in the storyline, but somehow doesn't quite do what it was intended. Good acting by Dermot. Mira I can barely stand, though. She ALWAYS looks to me like she is ready to in all those emotional scenes where she is crying, it just makes me cringe. The only memorable parts of this movie revolved around John Billingsley. His portrayal of a sick pedophile was very well done. Too bad it wasn't in a more memorable movie...
December 10, 2013
Obviamente es difícil una temática como la explotación infantil, mas cuando en este país también se vive ese tipo de problemática, pero a la final la película termina en nada y mas bien tiende a ser algo tediosa y agobiante.
½ September 28, 2013
"UNICEF estimates that as many as 1,2 million children are trafficked each year. Human trafficking is now the fastest growing criminal enterprise in the world."
August 17, 2013
I thought the film was very well done and people should see it and be awear of the growing sickness and preventedness in our society thru out the world, which sadly is getting worse. We need to pray and not turn away, putting it in the to hard basket and help where we can.
August 6, 2013
This movie was worth watching. It helped raised awareness as much as possible about various aspects of the problem. It was nicely done and the acting was flawless.
½ June 1, 2013
A thrilling, real-life drama that brings into attention a cancer in the society that most people choose not to talk about. If only it gets the attention it deserves...more attention than the critics have given. The only way to put a halt to the issue of human trafficking is by making more and more people around the world aware of its proliferation... Not only it happens in faraway lands, but sometimes, the source of the problem can originate from Western countries too (where else do the buyers come from, after all).
May 13, 2013
Ugly topic.... film done well.
½ March 15, 2013
I expected more but I like how the movie is trying to bring up awareness and that sadly these things do happen.
March 8, 2013
Een film met een onderwerp dat best de nodige aandacht verdiend. Echter, het acteerspel is niet heel overtuigend en daarom blijft de film op een middelmatig niveau hangen...
February 3, 2013
Very good movie, based on a true story. Mira Sorvino does great in these kind of movies and promotes the knowledge n difussion of a very common and increasing problem: slave trade. Loved the script and touching performances. A must!
February 1, 2013
Despite the sometimes middling road it takes to invoke emotion, Trade of Innocents is made to inform, not to entertain, and should thus be critiqued with this in mind. It has many flaws, but many more subtle truths, poignant symbols, and heartbreaking realities. It's one of those that takes a little while to sink in before you may find yourself shedding tears over the world's injustice.
January 21, 2013
Good movie . It explains the trafficking of children for Pornography in Thailand
December 16, 2012
Although not an "A" class movie in many respects (acting, dialogue, action, etc) this is well worth the watch to raise awareness of this heartbreaking reality.
½ December 12, 2012
I love the name of the movie
December 9, 2012
Very good movie, based on a true story. Mira Sorvino does great in these kind of movies and promotes the knowledge n difussion of a very common and increasing problem: slave trade. Loved the script and touching performances. A must!
Page 1 of 2