Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Reviews

Page 1 of 4415
½ September 8, 2017
I wonder if the fans - as they probably wanted - got to have a Transformers movie that is close to the cartoons, the comics and the "untold" story, but at what risk to a building franchise that may not come to be remembered.

Not to say that there wasn't much of a tale to this sequel, (inwhich there really wasn't) but it doesn't seem that it was the actual problem with this movie. Besides having comedic charactors that weren't so funny, a legendary transformer whom wasn't so interesting and a love story more basic then instinct, the plot seemed too common and rather over done like the generous amount of Transformers in the film seeming to feel as if too much was being thrown into this so called action flick. Yes there was alot of action, but very little transformation as I was looking forward to seeing yet nothing close to excellence like the amazing transformations the first part delivered. And if that isn't enough to say, I can add that this film up to the editing seemed rushed.
September 8, 2017
Literally the worst movie I've ever seen. The plot is retarded.
September 2, 2017
OK, who green lighted this story and script? They need to be fired!

This was probably the most anticipated movie of 2009. The first movie was pretty decent although sadly a laughable script brought down what could have been a five star movie. It appears however that as far as script and now the story goes with this new film, it gets even worse. The action however continues to make this franchise watchable.

After seeing this movie I'm ready to conclude that this film was made for the die hard Transformers fans that played with their action figures. There is alot of fan service that shows things along this thought. Seeing Optimus Prime take on four Decepticons all by himself was the highlight of the action in this movie. I mean come on, if you played with the action figures no one beats Optimus Prime. That was just an enjoyable moment I liked to see. The borrowing of parts among robots was also quite cool.

However the many other issues with this movie bring it down big time. Sam's parents are even more annoying now. So much so, that you secretly wish that Sam's mom would bite the bullet so that we can be spared of the horrible script she had to go through. The whole scene with her at Sam's college was unnecessary and a cheap way to try get some laughs. I hated that whole "funny" scene entirely.

The story is also laughable, especially when it tries to make itself more sophisticated then it really is. I was bored with the riddle that Sam was trying to make sense of. It wasn't captivating at all and just added to the silliness.

Why or why, did the writers have to try to make this movie have more comic relief then it really needed? There were so many unnecessary attempts at humor in this film that it ruins the whole production overall. You have no idea how many times I shook my head in disgust at some of the jokes they have stuffed this film with.

Lastly there were even some action scenes that made no sense at all and even some unbelievable scenes with some humans that make you wonder how are they are not more hurt or even dead after that moment.

Check your brain in at the door with this one. However if you even do that you still may get sick because of the bad script and lines the humans have to go through, especially the ones Sam's parents have to endure. The movie is quite long at 2 hours and 30 mins, but what makes it seem even longer is the final battle sequence which is too long and drawn out then it really needs to be.

The action is fun to watch. But sadly that's it with this film.
August 30, 2017
I thought Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is a good one. The action and adventure is good. It is a good one in the Transformers Franchise.
August 28, 2017
So dumb I feel dumber.
½ August 21, 2017
Boring, bad jokes, and a plot that straight up makes no sense. This series is just so lazily written that I'm willing to bet I can put more thought into this movie then Bay did.
August 17, 2017
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is an incredible film to watch :)
½ August 12, 2017
I can see why toe-thumbs left after this sack of hot garbage.
August 11, 2017
All the action scenes are explosive. Optimus prime's death scene upsets me and sex jokes are confusing. The visual effects are good.
August 6, 2017
This would've been better without the unnecessary comedy, but lots of cool scenes.
½ August 5, 2017
I say a bit good it's just more on Sam's life and less about the transformers and too much love
July 30, 2017
Quickly shows Megan Fox again to keep their attention. Explosion.
July 24, 2017
This film doesn't have a plot, well, it does but nothing efficient or appropriate to be titled such as a story arc. It's more of just a progression of ridiculous and absurdity, much like an improv act there the writers just write as far as they can go and that's the major issue - no clear direction at all. The finale is atrociously bad at plot, it throws characters into the pot for no apparent reason in such a nonsensical way imaginable and with disastrous pacing issues it becomes a headache. The action and CGI is breathtaking I have to admit, the sheer scale of the climax is nothing short of crazy. Fox is still miscast and the utter embarrassing and disgusting Bay tropes that he either thinks cool or stylish are unfortunately ripe as ever.
½ July 22, 2017
I feel like this was the same movie as the first Transformers...
July 21, 2017
A huge and falloff from the first movie. Still had its funny moments and great action, and cool Transformers, but a lot I didn't like about the movie. I hated the Terminator transformer, the racial Transformers were terrible, both of Optimus's and Sam's deaths and coming back to life got old and repetitive, and not a complaint, but they played the Megan Fox card as hard as they could.
½ July 20, 2017
Most of the movie is soft core porn and not enough cool transformers action, even in the end it doesn't leave you hoping for more
July 16, 2017
remember in my last knight review when I said this was a total shitfest please agree with me because this next word can sum up my thoughts on this movie FUUUUUUUUCCCCKKK !!!!!! yeah this is the worst movie ive ever seen and this is my reaction for when I see it on tv, fuck this shit I'm out
½ July 15, 2017
Though the whole movie overall could have been improved greatly, TRANSFORMERS: REVENGE OF THE FALLEN still delivers the excitement, and thrilling action scenes that the original had to offer.
July 13, 2017
My least favorite Transformers movie. It's okay but it's not that good of a movie.
½ July 12, 2017
This movie is a complete insult. The "Revenge Of The Fallen" title didn't really match with the actual movie. So yeah, more focus on the humans, more racial stereotypes, more obnoxious characters...DO NOT GET ME STARTED WITH THE DEVASTATOR!!! And perhaps this movie has one of the most racist, yet one of the most worst characters in the Bayformers franchise: Skids and Mudflap. The way Bay treated the characters like Jolt, the Constructicons, even the Fallen himself, was just unexcusible. The Fallen didn't do anything in the movie, except "serving" as a "master" for Megatron, and of course die, the Constructicons we're just wasted in the film, as well as Jolt; overall, it was bad. Now to the film's credit, I did like Jetfire in the movie, Ironhide and Bumblebee, as well as Optimus still have their personality as always to keep some veiwers interested, even Sideswipe had some personality. But unfortunately, that wasn't enough to save the film. But at least it's better than the film 5 years before it, Age of Extinction.
Page 1 of 4415