Transformers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Transformers Reviews

Page 1 of 12
July 14, 2011
hat was delivered will no doubt send merchandising sales spiralling into orbit, but sadly at the cost of countless brain cells popping through after nearly two and a half hours of tedium.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 21, 2011
Transformers delivers on its promise of stunning visuals and well-crafted action sequences, but it's not remotely worth the slog it takes to get there. Once the novelty of the robots wears off it's hopelessly insipid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
July 2, 2007
Only those undemanding inner 8-year-olds are likely to find anything here to appreciate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 23, 2008
Director Michael Bay's bigger than life version of the cartoon I grew up loving pretty much ruined one of my favorite childhood memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 22, 2007
Michael Bay can build a universe in a bottle. He can install a pump in the tin man's chest.And he can call it a heart.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 78/100
July 6, 2007
As a fan of the 1980s Saturday morning cartoon and Hasbro toys the film is based on, I was saddened to see characters I grew up with transformed into a corporate ad tool.
| Original Score: 2/4
July 2, 2007
For Transformers fans, I suppose this is a dream motion picture. For everyone else, it's a nightmare.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 2, 2007
In Bay's world, which is more about metal than people, every action sequence must be edited like a cinematic seizure and every extreme-telephoto image must be jammed headlong into the next.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 9, 2008
'Transformers' is a loud, unsophisticated testament to the visceral thrills of effects-driven mayhem.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
August 27, 2009
Morphs from Army-enlisting ad to toy ad (on its way passing through a panoply of car ads, computer ads, beer ads) without ever becoming a movie
July 3, 2007
Transformers is supposedly about robots who turn into cars and back again; what it's really about is big Hollywood turning money into stupid and back again
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
July 3, 2007
Flat, loud, flashy spectacle that's been fine-tuned and sanded down to appeal to the widest global audience possible. All in all, pretty generic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 2, 2007
Director Michael Bay appears to have neither a sense of timing nor an awareness that, as a movie draws to its conclusion, simple logic suggests it's time to put a move on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 4, 2007
...high-octane nonsense for those who suffer from permanently arrested development. The fact that it is a big-budget blockbuster based on a toy really says it all.
July 1, 2007
Transformers is so hot and bothered over its reassembling robots that it can barely muster the energy to develop even an up-front text that makes sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 2, 2007
It's like spending a day at the state fair: a little bit of actual entertainment, a lot of embarrassingly cheesy attempts at entertainment, and the faint whiff of bull crap everywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 29, 2007
Hated the robots and their funny voices, hated the humans, and the cereal box story.
July 4, 2007
Okay, I've been reminded that I don't like Michael Bay's directing style. That's the last reminder I will need for the next ten years or so.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 31, 2008
Come to think of it, I was pretty stupid when I was six years old. So is this film.
October 18, 2008
For the bot-neutral rest of us, two-and-a-half hours of mostly incoherent special effects may be a bit much.
Page 1 of 12