Trembling Before G-d - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trembling Before G-d Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
½ November 30, 2012
The idea for this documentary is great. Hearing about the reaction to gay and lesbianism in cultures is fascinating. The problem is the execution. It simply doesn't grip us. This is a lost opportunity.
½ October 20, 2012
"Blessed are you," "Our G-D, King of the Universe, Knower of Secrets."
June 7, 2012
Very well thought out film... all in the community should see before they force decisions on the "non-conformists".
½ February 8, 2012
Taking the documentary's subject matter into consideration, one would think this this film would be fascinating. I found it to be slow and not that informative. Many gay and lesbian Orthodox and Hasidic Jews are introduced, but their stories and interviews differ very little.
June 24, 2011
A well done, intimate documentary on a intimate topic.
May 17, 2011
Gay Orthodox Jews struggling to reconcile faith with who they are. Excellent.
½ March 31, 2011
An extremely emotional documentary. Presented here is the anger, grief and frustration encountered in attempting the difficult task of reconciling one's traditional, orthodox religion with the fact of one's homosexuality. An incredibly moving piece.
½ March 28, 2011
Pretty well made film but it was unsatisfactory for me in that it never did more than show that there are Hasidic and Orthodox Jews who are gay, and they aren't accepted. Duh. It didn't go far enough into either exploring how they do anything to change the establishment, or how they justify the contradiction to themselves. For people who connect, it will probably make them cry, but for me it was overall uninformative and unsatisfactory.
February 19, 2011
Personal testimonies to further amplify your hate for Judaism
February 8, 2011
This was a truly heartbreaking film. When I think of religions that oppress it's gay and lesbian followers, Judaism never comes to mind. This might be due to the fact that I was raised in a Jewish community that was both open and accepting. It's easy to forget that there are different sects, mainly Orthodox and Hasidic, that cast out their sons and daughters when they admit to being gay. It is tragic and something that needs to be changed.
Super Reviewer
January 25, 2010
Recently viewed sometime late 09, must rewtach before a review
December 22, 2009
Fascinating insight into this very marginalized group.
December 14, 2009
It's well made, but it seemed a bit repetitive, the subject matter seems more suited to a film of perhaps an hour. I was always interested, but there were definitely some slow stretches.
December 14, 2009
It's well made, but it seemed a bit repetitive, the subject matter seems more suited to a film of perhaps an hour. I was always interested, but there were definitely some slow stretches.
½ September 22, 2009
A non-preachy documentary that makes well its point.
½ June 10, 2009
excellent, thought-provoking documentary.
½ May 16, 2009
another important and poignant issue regarding religion and homosexuality.. after 'for the bible tells me so', i couldnt wait to see this movie, and jihad for love (which i will see asap)... this movie, 'trembling' deals with a sense of irony with a religious group that has endured thousands of years of persecution and targeting, yet many jewish communities are persecuting and targeting people in their communities based on sexual orientation.. there was so much sadness and despair in the stories that were showcased, and it appeared that the stories were real, and no matter the stance on homosexuality, the movie certainly brought up issues that the jewish communities around the world cannot be in denial about any longer....

another triumphant movie highlighting human rights issues, and how religion makes some people feel inadequate and worthless
May 1, 2009
After watching a Jihad For Love, i thought I would revisit this documentary about gay jews that I saw years ago, but totally forgot. Actually Sandi Dubowski who directs Trembling Before G-D was a producer for A Jihad For Love.

Similar to Jihad, it follows the lives of Hasidic and Orthodox Jews both out and in the closet who are struggling with their homosexuality.

It amazes me how these men and women can be so devout in their religion and spiritual beliefs, even in the face of being shunned by family, and friends, and hearing teachings that call their sexuality an abomination.
½ February 6, 2009
Well made and to-the-point. The documentary did not at all shy away from going into the depths of a very personal conflict between religiosity and sexuality, and presented various views within the Orthodox queer community. As a bonus, I actually, myself, gained a deeper understanding of Jewish Orthodoxy through this presentation as well.
½ January 5, 2009
Obviously, I was aware that the uber-religious tend to persecute gays and lesbians---but since I'm not overly religious, it honestly never occurred to me how much of a struggle the very religious must go through when they discover they're gay and have to reconcile their long-held beliefs and condemnation with their personal feelings and desires. Consequently, I really enjoyed this. (Although it would have been nice to know the purpose behind the shadow-vignettes earlier---my sister and I spent most of the movie assuming they were Very Pretentious.)
(My favourite person featured: the easygoing hasidic Jew that offered ranting, troubled Israel cake.)
Page 1 of 4