Procès de Jeanne d'Arc (Trial of Joan of Arc) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Procès de Jeanne d'Arc (Trial of Joan of Arc) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
March 5, 2013
Bresson's treatment of the Trial of Joan is characteristically ascetic; but it is also quintessential history, unique and timeless, graced with a master's touch.
May 4, 2012
As much as I love Bresson's works, I'm rarely caught up in the sweep of his drama. The drama comes for me only at the conclusion - and then lingers for days after.
January 9, 2012
The Trial of Joan of Arc (1962) might be my favorite Robert Bresson film, and Florence Delay, who plays Joan and who went on to become a respected novelist in France, my favorite Bresson lead.
July 6, 2010
Using non-actors, there are no false dramatics. This unveils another side of the oft-filmed tale, and the state and church politics of that century.
March 28, 2010
Suspended like the protagonist between sanctity and pride, undaunted yet utterly naked
December 15, 2009
A new way to access and appreciate history's most remarkable adolescent visionary.
August 28, 2006
The purpose of Bresson was not to destroy the myth of Joan of Arc; what he did was reveal the processes that helped to create a legend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 22, 2006
Powerful portrait of a saint - and the attacks on humans by a corrupt society.
July 22, 2006
Powerful and beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 25, 2006
A film that is more rewarding to recall than to watch, but one with undeniable impact and power.
March 25, 2006
It warrants a look.
March 25, 2006
The tension generated by juxtaposing such humiliation with the serenely beautiful text (from the transcription of the trial) resolves itself in the unforgettable final image.
March 22, 2006
Austere and ritualistic version of the trial of Joan of Arc.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Page 1 of 1