Trick or Treat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trick or Treat Reviews

Page 1 of 17
½ October 3, 2016
I have to say as a metalhead I don't like it because of how misleading it is. The intro was interesting, it depicted a metalhead differently, as someone bullied (which is reaching for movie in the 1986 where rocker was pop culture but you know points for originality). The main character however, aside from the jean jacket, didn't look metal in those earlier scenes, later down the road he begins to look more metal though. I like some of the tees, posters and music in this movie. If it was a movie about the guy using a book of black magic to make a demon out of one of his favorite rocker's corpse to get revenge on his bullies, it would've been alright. But then the movie ironically devolves into the "metalheads are destructive, violent and murderous for no reason" sterotype. The rocker eating snakes, the boy destroying the posters, the rocker being evil just because he's a metalhead. It's really stupid beyond belief. It's like they wanted to make an anti metalhead movie, but disguised it as metalhead horror.
January 8, 2016
want to see this come out on digital so i can watch it again
December 31, 2015
"Trick or Treat" is probably one of the most violent and mean-spirited horror movies of 1986. And in my opinion, this movie is based on gothic and horror imagery. Eddie Weinbauer who is played by Marc Price is the main protagonist of this movie. Sammi Curr who is played by Tony Fields is the main antagonist of this movie, even though he is Eddie's hero, but he's dead and he wants to kill everyone. Tim Hainey who is played by Doug Savant is the second antagonist of this movie because he's the popular high school bully who is responsible for much of Eddie's angst.
October 21, 2015
You have to go into this one thinking of it more as a PG kids horror film. It's rated R but there is no violence, tension or anything remotely scary. It's a fun movie from a PG perspective, but otherwise I would have expected more. (Minor spoilers ahead) I thought that with a name like "Trick or Treat", Halloween would be a larger focus. There is is a mediocre Halloween school dance, but it honestly might as well take place on any day. There are a few deaths but no gore; instead we get people turning into smoke, etc. The best part of the movie would be the highschool bully, who I thought the protagonist would get revenge on in a fun way. Instead the movie drops the bully angle and moves on without him. The love interest is also a girl the character had talked to about two times, so that dynamic was pretty flat as well. Normally these things I can let slide in horror films, but trick or treat doesn't have any aspect that makes up for it all. A bully revenge,a fun Halloween dance with fun costumes or some gory special effects; any one of these would have given the movie something to make it entertaining enough, but despite an interesting concept, it left me unfulfilled.
October 14, 2015
It's just one of my alltime faves.
September 17, 2015
'80s
metal
high school outcast
halloween
skippy handleman
mullets
gene simmons
ozzy... what more do you need?

No, it's seriously a pretty bad movie, but the aforementioned characteristics force me to give it a passing grade.
September 12, 2015
This was one of those films that'd somehow eluded me over the years, but how can you NOT see a flick in which Skippy from Family Ties is a metal-loving teen who resurrects his hero after he dies a tragic death, leading to some supernatural vengeance from beyond the grave?

Well worth a casual rental.
½ August 8, 2015
Classic cheese 80's horror. And not too bad stall.
Actually used to scared the crap out of me when I was 9!
June 5, 2015
This movie was just not for me. Love metal and Ozzy, but this movie is awful on levels I forgot existed!
½ April 14, 2015
Pretty dumb horror movie. Also, ignore the box art; Simmons and Osbourne have such small cameos that I actually missed both of them
½ November 11, 2014
Trick or Treat is so awesome. It has it all. Wicked soundtrack, a balding Gene Simmons as a DJ, Ozzy as a priest against rock and roll (and rock pornography), AND Skippy from Family Ties as a headbanger.

So immensely entertaining; a bullied Skippy plays a record backwards unleashing a heavy metal Sammi Curr back to life (of course it was played backwards), and hilarity ensues.

Charming throughout and great fun.
October 27, 2014
One of the best horror films of the 80's. They don't make them like this anymore!
½ July 23, 2014
In the late eighties as a tween, I probably watched this films a hundred times. An oft overlooked classic!
June 14, 2014
The idea of a heavy metal demon being resuricated by his records being played backwards is a good one, but this is sloppily put together, mistakes goofiness for actual humour, is surprisingly gore free and is actually rather boring
April 7, 2014
It has good story, and it's quite well made I think... o..f course there are also little cameos by Ozzy and Gene Simmons, but they don't very much contribute to the film "success", although they are good in their small roles...if you like 80's movies, you'll like this!
March 8, 2014
SO GREAT! Different. Back in the 80's when people were playing the records backwards (backmasking) to find hidden messages....this is what you were afraid to hear. Forget that Ozzy and Gene are in it, because they barely are. Gene Simmons & Ozzy were both offered the roll of Sammy Kerr. Great original music by a band called Faastway
February 23, 2014
Entertaining! While I love metal music, I don't see myself playing it backwards anytime soon...unless I'm looking to get a little revenge!
December 31, 2013
Fun heavy rock horror with Ozzy Osbourne in a role very divorced from his accepted persona.
November 10, 2013
crap, apart from ozzy
November 2, 2013
Poor horror comedy where a bullied metal head hears subliminal messages and they have dire consequences....one of them being the film runs for another 70 minutes
Page 1 of 17