The Tripper - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Tripper Reviews

Page 1 of 38
April 14, 2016
Poorly executed horror comedy. A good cast and a fun premise are wasted.
September 3, 2015
Looks horribly great. Like Half Baked meets Club Dreed.
July 4, 2014
A surprisingly funny and brutal slasher film directed by David Arquette (yes, him!), The Tripper obviously thinks too much of itself as a satire, yet it nevertheless manages to be an original take on the genre that features a solid cast, loads of awesome deaths, and lots of laughs as well.
June 16, 2013
Just like the old saying there's nothing new under the sun can be said about this film. A done it before film with plot holes that cause this film to not make any sense. David Arquette had a great idea for a film but unfortunately couldn't execute it properly.
May 25, 2013
Well To Me Nothing Beats A Slasher Where U See Hippies Getting Killed Nonstop...So If U Hate Hippies Look No Further Than The Tripper Lol I Loved This Film!
½ May 12, 2013
The movie es a one hundred procent terribble. Not only is the rediculous thought of ronald reagan running around killing the most 'unreal' ''hippies'' ever characrarized in movies. seriously... american free love festival? tha banner says it all. In one word i would call this moive dum. The idea of the plot is funny, hilarious, but to make a movie of it is my opinon dum.
May 4, 2013
A deranged Ronald Reagan-obsessed killer stalking a hippy music festival. David Arquette's directorial debut sounds promising and at times it delivers, more often when the film sort of settles down a bit, but otherwise the continuous 'tripping', the under-developed characters, an uneven pacing and editing give the whole affair a badly-judged sense of flow. There's hardly anyone to really care about.
But there's blood and moderate gore, two or three cool characters (the killer, Sheriff Buzz) and some funny scenes. It will do but it could have been better.
½ April 27, 2013
not that horrifying movie..
Super Reviewer
March 15, 2013
From the twisted mind of David Arquette, come the Tripper, a Horror film, that he promised would change the way we see Horror. There's no doubt that Arquette set big expectations for this film, unfortunately the Tripper fell well short of achieving it's goals. A group of hippies take a road trip to this weekend music festival, in the woods of Northern California. The locals don't want them there and pretty soon, the party goers wind up being hunted, by an ax wielding man, who is convinced he's Ronald Reagan. The cast of friends that Arquette put together for this film is impressive, and there were some terrific cameos from the likes of Jason Mewes, Courtney Cox, and Pee Wee Herman, but ultimately they didn't do much to help this film. There are some funny scenes and some great lines, aside from that, this film is nothing different from your traditional, mediocre, slasher film. The one stand out was Thomas Jane who was thrilling as the Sheriff, but the scenes that didn't feature Jane were predictable and honestly kind of dull. The setting was different, the killer was certainly a nice change of pace, and the cast was top notch, but the movie itself was nothing you haven't seen a million times and I was left feeling less than impressed.
March 10, 2013
This movie wasn't terrible; graphics could have been better, but thanks to the big name stars I can't say it was a bad movie. Decent amoun of gore mixed with some humor. I have definitely seen worse.
February 16, 2013
This looks so funny and original. Plus it has Jay and Thomas Jane in it. Works for me!
January 17, 2013
The Tripper could have been so much better but ultimately isnt campy enough to be comedic and isnt scary enough to be horror. All you're left with is a body count and dripping blood.. David Arquette directs this as teenagers go to a music fest that doesn't seem to be realistic or have good music or anything. Jason Mewes should just give up and go back to his life that he had pre Kevin Smith because he sucks in this as does most of the cast. The gimmick is that the killer is dressed up like Ronald Reagan and seems to kill oin the Reagan agenda. The only thing that saves this movie is Paul Reubens as the foul mouthed promoter. He literally saves this movie. This would be a half a star or one star movie if it wasn't for him.
½ January 9, 2013
It has some fantastic moments, but unfortunately there's a lot of other stuff in between.
December 21, 2012
Reagan pwns noobs. I dig it.
December 20, 2012
Oh, I've gotta watch this!
December 10, 2012
Differs a little bit than the typical slashers where a group of teenagers go to the woods and get killed by a freak, only this time the freak is a politician.
½ November 28, 2012
This was pretty bad.
November 27, 2012
Arquette n Jane..mmm, yes plz
November 10, 2012
David Arquette's directorial debut follows a group of pill-popping hippies journeying to a love and peace concert in the woods, where they soon come under attack by a psycho with an ax to grind -- and he's sporting a Ronald Reagan mask. Can the young stoners emerge from their drug-induced haze before they literally become chopped liver? This gory, politically charged tale of horror stars Jaime King, Lukas Haas and Thomas Jane
½ November 3, 2012
it lacks of many things.. !!!
Page 1 of 38