Tromeo & Juliet - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tromeo & Juliet Reviews

Page 1 of 17
Super Reviewer
½ August 28, 2015
It's Shakespeare but not as you know it
March 18, 2015
"What light through yonder plexiglass cube breaks?"
September 9, 2014
The most epic and beautiful retelling of The Bard's tale.....now with a litteral and figurative Trouser Snake.
March 3, 2014
Disgusting and irreverent yet far more restrained (and therefore enjoyable) than the average Troma outing.
January 19, 2014
Huh. How does one even begin to rate a movie like this? I watched it because I'm a huge fan of James Gunn and was curious to see his origins, and despite a couple instances of inspired absurdity where his trademarks shine through (the pregnancy dream and the end credits), a lot of it is surprisingly dull.
Super Reviewer
September 1, 2013
One of the most expensive Troma films I think, and one of the better ones. Tromeo and Juliet is a trangressive take on the classic Shakespearean tale. Filled with the usual nudity, violence and sex. The acting was as bad as it could be, the plot was even worse, somehow this film was quite hilarious and made me crack up.
½ July 10, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013

(1997) Tromeo And Juliet
COMEDY HORROR

Financed by the company who did the cheesy "The Toxic Avenger" and "Nuke Em High" called "Troma" a company that makes low budget movies on a shoe string budget with gore and nudity for I have to watch this movie again for at the time I had seen this- it was quite forgettable. This is the rating I'm giving this movie for the time being.

1/2 out of 4
February 27, 2013
Tromeo and Juliet is a film that set out to be as depraved as possible, and largely accomplishes its task. In what was pretty typical 90's fashion, it's a bastardization of something seen as "high art" coupled with its cheesy gore and fart jokes is a irreverent stab at etching out a niche for itself in film history. Sadly, I feel that the film, as enthusiastic as it may be, will be lost somewhere between the more marketable teen flicks, smarter comedies, gorier action movies and more obscure cult films.

The movie was if nothing else enthusiastic, like I said before. That and narration by Motorhead's Lemmie Kilmister are the best things the movie has going for it, in spite (or because?) of not being able to understand two words he says.

If you enjoyed the likes of the original Evil Dead, American Pie, and if you know what The Toxic Avenger is at all, Tromeo and Juliet is the Shakespeare adaptation for you.
February 27, 2013
Lloyd Kaufman?s Tromeo and Juliet is undoubtedly a modernized adaptation of Shakespeare?s popular tragedy Romeo and Juliet, and the film was released back in 1996. It makes me quite nervous to consider what Troma Entertainment would conjure up for a 2013 adaptation. Can you get any more uncensored and twisted than this film? Probably not.
The scene begins in the Que house in New York City. We see a squirrel, apparently hung by the Capulets, swinging lightly from a noose with a paper stuck to its bottom half, reading, ?Monty Q Sucks.? The narrator, Lemmy from the rock group Motorhead, then reveals the characters from both feuding households by name. The feisty feud between the two households begins when Cappy Capulet (William Beckwith) the sadistic, abusive father of Juliet, forces the ?black-mailed? alcoholic and father of Romeo, Monty Que (Earl Mckoy), to sign over the rights of their porn production company ?Silky Films.? The families then begin to wreak havoc on one another, resulting in the deaths of Sammy Capulet (Sean Gunn) through his brief encounter with a fire hydrant, Murray Martini (Valentine Miele) with his spike to the head for the need to call people ?fiddle-fuckers,? and Tyrone Capulet with his severed arm and head; leaving the unrequited love story of Romeo and Juliet somehow stashed in the middle.
Though this particular adaptation arguably presents a perversion and mockery of a classic text, it may be considered effective because it contains the typical elements of the Shakespeare script; violence, comedy, passion, and love. These elements, however, seem to be magnified times a million. The love story seems to be overshadowed by the excess of violence, sex, and goriness prevalent throughout the film. I manage to get an onset of nausea thinking about ?Prince Meatball?s? (Steve Gibbons) need to bash his head repeatedly against dead pigs, and that huge monster penis growling at Juliet in her sexual nightmare.
The target audience might also present a problem as well. It seems as if there is a film version of Shakespeare that caters to every type of person, and this film clearly seems to target a punk rock or gothic audience. Needless to say, this isn?t necessarily a version that I would watch with my parents or even with the majority of my friends like I would Frank Zeffirelli or Baz Luhrmann?s renditions.
On the other hand, the connection between Romeo (Will Keenan) and Juliet (Jane Jensen), though a goofy-looking couple, was actually believable. The moments that they were in tune together actually seemed like a totally separate movie and true love story. When they first meet at Capp?s Ball, unfortunately with Romeo in a cow suit, we are taken into a dream-like state of stars as they directly quote sonnets from Act 1 Scene 5 of Shakespeare?s original play. Then of course, a booming ?What the fuck! Get your God damn tongue out of my God damn cousins mouth!? spoken by Tyrone Capulet, plunges us quickly back to reality.
Everything controversial or considered wrong with the world was featured in this film including violence, lesbianism, incest, and abuse. I was especially surprised at the abuse of woman, particularly from Cappy Capulet toward Juliet and her mother Ingrid, and wasn?t too fond of this element of farce in the film. I can deal with a few slaps here and there, but he kind of beat their ass.
Overall, what makes this adaptation ?work? is perhaps ?Shakespeare?s? guest appearance nodding and laughing at the closing of the film. This is definitely an important addition which suggests that Troma Entertainment wasn?t trying to screw up a classic, but simply meant to entertain. Shakespeare, oddly, would probably be proud.
½ February 26, 2013
See this film for its gratuitous sex and violence. It is social commentary on the role of TV, similar to Romeo + Juliet. However, unlike Romeo + Juliet, this film shocks and awes in a way that would make the Bard proud. And no, you may not watch this film instead of reading the play.
February 26, 2013
We are compelled to look on while Kaufman, like a naughty little boy, drags Shakespeare through the streets of his grotesque world. The widely accepted modern notion that Shakespeare is sacred could leave viewers shouting "Sacrilege!" but is more likely to add to their delight, lured in by the taboo of this psychotic nightmare. Crude, cheesy, stereotypical, gory, and infinitely offensive, Kaufman makes Baz Luhrmann's modern punk adaptation, Romeo + Juliet, look like the Mother Theresa of Romeo & Juliet film adaptations.
In less than fifteen minutes Kaufman manages to squeeze in explicit sex, transvestites, gang bangs, meth, incest, nut crunching, breast piercing, finger dismemberment, farting and animal maiming-an exhausting but impressive feat in itself. Romeo masturbates to a program called "Shakespeare Sex Interactive" that includes selections like "The Merchant of Penis," "As You Lick It," and "Much Ado About Humping." Instead of a nurse, Juliet's gets a badass lesbian cook and a steamy sex scene. The friar is a priest who is also a pedophile. Juliet's father forcefully dresses her in a scanty costume meant for "dirty girls" as he shackles her limbs inside of the plexiglass time out room and makes her refer to herself as "daddy's little Crenshaw melon." It is just icing on the cake that the lovers find out that they are actually brother and sister but decide to continue their incestual relationship and breed mutant children.
Steve Gibbons gives an outrageously entertaining performance as London, portrayed in this film as a masochistic butcher.
If Kaufman wished to exacerbate the overdramatic recklessness of the Romeo and Juliet dynamic then he certainly hit his mark. In the words of Cappy Capulet, the lovers are really just a couple of "miserable fucking monkeys in heat." Their dialogue is way over the top with Romeo declaring "My Juliet, let me bathe in your breath and your skin." Romeo declares "What light from yonder plexiglass breaks?" when he meets Juliet in the time out room, they make wedding plans over the phone while Tromeo has diarrhea on the toilet, and after the wedding they have sex against a wall in the street and get matching tattoos.
Morbid to say the least, Tromeo and Juliet kill her father with a scorching curling iron to the face, bobby pins through the ears, backstabbing with a nail file, a running blow dryer in the mouth, tampons up the nasal cavity, and computer smashed over his head. Comedic relief to a tragedy or a tragedy in itself, there is something tantalizing about the suspense created when the modern sacred notion of Shakespeare is contrasted with kitsch and chaos.
½ February 26, 2013
Shakespeare goes to the 90's - and the worse part of the 90's. Tromeo and Juliet screams low budget and stupidity. Kaufman takes liberties of filling in the gaps left by the original play, but does so with penis monsters, nipple piercing, sex of all flavors and styles, daddy issues, computer porn, masturbation and a complete lack of taste. While the Shakespearean purists are sure to despise this film, I find it hard to believe that anyone besides those who relish in porn, sadism and abuse would find this film enjoyable. Kaufman's idea of cinematic appeal must only apply to a very small audience. And while Kaufman's point may have been to make a mockery of Shakespeare, or at the 90's grunge culture, the truth is, there is no mistaking who the real fool in this film - the director himself. It's awful. It's crude. It's mentally disturbing with the relationship of Cappy Capulet and Juliet, and the ludicrous twist of Romeo and Juliet being brother and sister. It's 70's CGI in a 90's film. It's a waste of a good story and it becomes a mutation of Shakespeare and every porno you've ever seen. I found myself in a constant state of "what the f..." and not knowing whether to laugh at the content or try and take it for what it's worth. Then I realized, it's worth nothing. And definitely not worth your time in viewing.
½ February 26, 2013
Lloyd Kaufman's 1996 film adaptation of Shakespeare's classic love story is anything but an adaptation, its Romeo and Juliet on 1990's grunge steroids. I would liken this film to a punk-rock hangover that never ends. Rather than reaching an effective medium between modernity and traditionalism, Tromeo and Juliet targets a very small sector of filmgoers with its extreme lewdness. The film takes illogical liberties in terms of sexuality, and coupled with sloppy special effects, I found myself laughing at its absurdity rather than appreciating its content.The addition of unnecessary incestuous relationships between both Tromeo and Juliet, and Juliet and her father are beyond effective at swaying the viewers' attention away from the already twisted plot, and into a place that voids any claim this film might have had on legitimacy. There are middle grounds to be found in the very flexible world of cinema that successfully combine the Shakespearean plot with interesting modifications. Unfortunately, Lloyd Kaufman's Tromeo and Juliet is not one of these adaptations worth spending your time and money on.
February 25, 2013
This film makes a complete joke out of Shakespeare's classic tale. It is fair to say that is has it's entertaining moments, but those moments are due solely to the amount of outlandish events that drive the plot of this film. Sprinkled with nudity, sexuality, and violence, this film is sure to entertain but is not intended for a classic Shakespearean audience.
February 25, 2013
Something must have been in the air in 1996. Whether it was a pervasive cloud of high-powered hallucinogenics or simply a lust for the grotesqueries of a surreal and ultimately absurd brand of violence we may never know, but there is certainly something to be said of the inexplicable affinity between Lloyd Kaufmann's Tromeo & Juliet and Baz Luhrmann's William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet. It is not only the shared Shakespearian source text that marks these films as brothers, but their late-Twentieth Century treatment of the timeless tragedy which sets them both in a fast-paced, drug-addled urban dystopia replete with all the indecency and iconoclasm that we post-moderns have come to love so well. And yet, despite their similar MTV-oriented soundtracks and contemporary cultural allusions, the films' intended audiences couldn't be more different. In many ways the R-rated manifestation of Luhrmann's teen drama, Tromeo & Juliet foregoes the misty-eyed tenderness we associate with Shakespeare's original and offers in its stead a conglomeration of campy gags and softcore porn. If you found Luhrmann's version lacking in vulgarity, then Tromeo & Juliet is the film for you.
As with all of Troma's films, nothing is sacrosanct. Preserving the crux of the Bard's original, Tromeo Que remains the lovelorn doter whose capricious affections light upon the betrothed daughter of his mortal enemy, Cappy Capulet, yet Troma takes its liberties by expanding characterizations and contexts. The family feud begins with Cappy's successful ploy to purloin the Silky Films porn company from his once dear friend Monty Que. Chaos and hilarity ensue as Monty falls into a state of alcoholic decrepitude, and the Que boys seeks their vengeance in a string of barbaric atrocities. Meanwhile, Tromeo remedies his love's rejection-by the aloof and scantily clad Rosy-with a sudden intractable yearning to shag Juliet everywhere from a giant glass cage to the backrooms of a church. Juliet remains imprisoned in the extravagant Capulet manor, albeit by an incestuous and unscrupulous father whose dealings with his daughter take the form torture porn. If our heroin is to subvert the unsavory future her father holds for her-and live happily ever after with her Tromeo-she must not only conquer Cappy, but also break her engagement with a goofy and self-mutilating meat mogul and forsake her erotic relationship with Ness, the family cook.
Tromeo & Juliet is undoubtedly a purist's hell. Ironically, though, this black comedy of epic proportions finds a way to recapture the theatricality and bawdy titillation that drew Elizabethans to the theatre in droves. Spontaneous and outrageous fight scenes featuring such unlikely weapons as bobby pins and paper cutters supplant the exhilarating swordplay that would have animated Shakespeare's rowdy throng, and the Bard's famous penchant for fart jokes remains a crowd pleaser. Most offensive to the so-called defenders of Shakespearian purity, no doubt, is the film's pornification of the inviolable teen lovers. And yet, between all the scenes of masturbation, between all the squirming of bare bodies and shots of unfettered breasts, a careful observer will detect the soft, hearty chuckle of the Bard as he watches his ribald verse come to life. What the film does most pointedly is offer to cinemagoers a refreshed and updated version of a classic which allows Twentieth Century viewers the delight of accessing the Elizabethan milieu, and renders each a raucous groundling cheering and gaping with shock at the action on stage.
January 7, 2013
One of my favorite movies!
December 31, 2012
Great in the worst way. This is one of Troma's greatest achievements. Not only one of my favorite Troma films, but a new favorite cult film as well.
December 22, 2012
I guess James Gunn had to get his start somewhere.
½ December 16, 2012
One of Troma Studio's best films!
½ December 7, 2012
This is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen!
Page 1 of 17