Troop Zero Reviews

Page 2 of 4
January 21, 2020
A discount . . . Little Miss Sunshine -- a story barreling toward child pageantry, so satisfied with its own quirkiness that it never comes across as anything but obligatory.
January 20, 2020
...kind-hearted and quirky enough to leave a smile on your face pretty much the entire time.
January 19, 2020
Troop Zero is a Delightful Spin on Bad News Bears for Misfits in the form of a new kind of Girl Scout troop that is LGBTQ inclusive. Nice -Nasty chemistry with Viola Davis and Allison Janney is the icing on the Amazon Prime cake
January 19, 2020
Just as it earns a modicum of goodwill, it squanders it on predictable plot points and overly twee intentions.
January 19, 2020
An inclusive family film where younger audiences are simultaneously inspired and entertained, while adults enjoy the sarcasm of Oscar winners Davis & Janney.
January 18, 2020
A cast as strong as this one deserves a slightly better movie than we get here with "Troop Zero."
January 18, 2020
Cloying, very cutesy, and very exhausting.
January 18, 2020
I hated it. I did think it was slightly redeemed by Viola Davids and Allison Janney, but I think this was a ripoff of Little Miss Sunshine, [except] it wouldn't have even gotten into Sundance 10 years ago.
January 17, 2020
As I was enjoying the sweet and simple and warmly funny pleasures of "Troop Zero," I was thinking it had to be based on a popular Young Adult novel.
January 17, 2020
What we have here is a classic snobs-vs.-slobs type of standoff, an underdog tale slathered in Seventies Southern Gothic quirk.
January 17, 2020
There is a lot to admire in this movie about girls daring to be proudly, defiantly different, but it never lives up to its otherworldly promise.
January 17, 2020
Supported by another great performance from Mckenna Grace, Troop Zero delivers as a feel-good indie film to kick off the new decade.
January 17, 2020
A movie that's content to make do with whatever spare parts are lying around, and eventually does so more successfully than one might expect.
January 17, 2020
Pleasant enough but never quite as emotionally gripping as a coming-of-age story about acceptance can be, Troop Zero scores a handful of memorable moments when it lets its freak flag fly.
January 17, 2020
A pint-sized powerhouse leads this Southern tale brimming with heartfelt messages.
January 17, 2020
Heartwarming, funny underdog story has cursing, potty humor.
January 17, 2020
"Troop Zero" is bursting with personality and stylistic flourishes; it might be too twee for some, but it's better to let yourself be won over by its sincerity and sweetness, tempered by just enough sadness and quirk.
January 16, 2020
The movie's best feature... is a vastly overqualified Viola Davis playing troop leader Miss Rayleen. Davis carries the movie by treating the children (both as characters and actors) like adults, cherishing them as sounding boards for self-reflection.
January 16, 2020
This heartwarming Southern-fried dramedy has a lot going for it, but the pieces don't quite mesh.
January 16, 2020
What "Troop Zero" lacks in complexity, it makes up for in heart.
Page 2 of 4