Tropic Thunder - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tropic Thunder Reviews

Page 1 of 12
June 27, 2016
More exhausting than funny, though it is often both, Ben Stiller's latest excoriation of ego wears you down with its smothering, pop-savvy cynicism.
August 11, 2008
Stiller would have done better to call up a Jean-Claude Van Damme or Steven Seagal -- both of whom could surely use the work. Either could have given the role some true meat and authenticity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 15, 2011
Comes down to exactly the same type of heroic finale they're supposed to be parodying in the first place. You bettah off renting Rescue Dawn.
August 26, 2009
Not a third as "dark" or "ferocious" as it believes it is
February 1, 2009
Tropic Thunder is one humongous vanity project for Ben Stiller. His initials aren't BS for nothing. If you can't get enough of bouncing Ben, Tropic Thunder is the movie for you. Ben Stiller acted in, co-wrote, produced, and directed Tropi
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/5
August 25, 2008
Big budget, big stars, big concept -- surprisingly little payoff.
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 30, 2008
Produces some real laughs but was probably more fun to make than it ultimately is to watch.
August 14, 2008
On the one hand, Tropic Thunder is a giant enema up Hollywood's butt, and on the other it's a bare bum joke which outlasts its welcome
July 28, 2008
A smart-alecky sendup of Hollywood in general and action films in particular, Tropic Thunder undeniably provokes quite a few laughs, but of the most hollow kind.
August 13, 2008
Tropic Thunder is a flashy, nasty, on-and-off funny and assaultive sendup of the film industry.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 17, 2008
Saving the best for first in the case of a radically raunchy pseudo-prologue, the most frightening episode in this jungle gross-out is not warfare, but Cruise's newly bald, hairy and paunchy bizarre update of his classic Risky Business musical romp.
August 11, 2008
Tropic Thunder, Ben Stiller's extravaganza of a Hollywood satire, couldn't be any more 'inside-baseball' if it contained references to the infield fly rule and Rule 5 draft picks.
September 19, 2008
You may think I'm being a spoilsport but I'm doing you a favour by lowering your expectations. Get the beers in first and Tom Cruise jive-dancing to T-Pain's Lo in a hairy fat suit may well be the funniest thing you've seen that evening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 19, 2008
The Hollywood comedy Tropic Thunder comes at us like a mad army cresting a hill, intent on audience massacre. My advice: shoot first and don't wait for the whites of their eyes.
September 15, 2008
Tropic Thunder, full of punchlines about Milli Vanilli and Being There, stitches the tired cultural references of one generation to the utterly debased expectations of their heirs.
Full Review | Original Score: D
August 11, 2008
Ben Stiller used to be unafraid of pointed mockery, but nowadays he pulls his punches.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 13, 2008
An action comedy with unappealing characters and a fast pace that can't cover up its cynicism.
Full Review
August 14, 2008
Bad as both an action pic and as a comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 19, 2008
This comedy about movie-making that allows the cast to play knowingly with their careers and public personae. But the film feels only half as funny as it should be, falling back too often on big action sequences that are too ridiculous to work on any leve
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
August 13, 2008
When it isn't tossing softballs at the studios, Tropic Thunder is the very thing it parodies: a wall of noise engulfed in flame.
Page 1 of 12