True Grit - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

True Grit Reviews

Page 1 of 822
April 11, 2018
This was an instant favorite of mine. From Mattie's opening line to the beautiful hymn of "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms" sung by Iris DeMent, I was in love with it. The humor, music, sounds; way they speak fit in so well with the tone of the film. This film definitely makes you root for Mattie, Hailee Steinfeld, because she shows such determination in seeking justice for her father who was murdered by Tom Chaney, Josh Brolin. It's not an easy world they live in and the Coen brothers do a remarkable job showing it. The river that Mattie crosses to get to Rooster Cogburn, Jeff Bridges, and LaBoeuf, Matt Damon, is wide and swift. She was lucky she had her horse, Little Blackie, or she would not have made it. The tree Cogburn makes Mattie climb to cut down a body that was left hanging is tall and the branch sways after she succeeds making her hang on tight so she doesn't fall. It was definitely not how she pictured it would be, but she sticks with it. The humor in it is more random and successful through the timing and editing. Like, the first time Rooster and Mattie are talking, it's a close up of Mattie and all you see is that she is talking to Rooster through a wooden door. After she says, "You've been at it some time," it shows that she's talking to him while he's in an outhouse. Also, when they think LaBeouf is following them, they stop and wait. They make it seem they're waiting 20-30 minutes and some guy wearing bear fur shows up and all Cogburn says is, "You are not LaBoeuf." The score does its job. It's soft where it needs to be. Like, in the scene where LaBoeuf leaves in the night. It's also dramatic when it needs to be. Like, when Chaney says, "All I need is your silence." It's an all-around great movie.
michael e.
Super Reviewer
March 29, 2018
Out of all westerns I've seen (being only 3) this is probably the second best to me (Cowboys and Aliens being my favorite,) Its extremely well acted, the action, though very little, is still very well done, also the comedy is also pretty funny, though some of the comedy comes from how random some of the scenes are such as the bear guy. The film is also much like a horror movie, with some pretty brutal deaths and some pretty graphic frights like some hanging man they have to cut down from the trees. The one flaw I dislike about this movie is that Jeff Bridges is very hard to understand in a lot of moments in the film (Thank God for Subtitles on DVDs.) But overall this is a fantastic film.
½ March 21, 2018
The Coen Brother's adaption of the novel turned out to be a vast improvement from the first which has cemented it's legendary status. The story from what I understand is more true to novel by putting it in the perspective of the young girl played brilliantly by Steinfeld. Not only that but Jeff Bridges delivers with a better portrayal of the rascal Rooster Cogburn over John Wayne's original and Matt Damon manages to hold his own too. It's also worth noting the art direction and costume design that really beautifully captures the period. Overall a fine addition to the Coen brothers' filmography and a superb adaption true to its original source.
½ March 11, 2018
Wow...It's So Enthralling & Just Grabs You, Sinks You Into It & Then Finally Just Rips You To Pieces.. Very Well Done, Close To Supurb.
February 27, 2018
A swift and flawless film that knows what it is and gets the job done. Perfect combination of dialogue, action, humor and sentiment. The Coen brothers' best work.
½ February 4, 2018
A good ol' fashioned Western from the Coen brothers. The plot isn't unique... it's a tale of retribution and revenge. But the star power packs a punch and carries the film. The setting feels very much like an old Western.
January 31, 2018
Puntaje Original: 6.0

Otro trabajo impecable técnicamente de los hermanos Coen, pero como siempre sin esencia.
½ January 30, 2018
With solid performances and good cinematography, this is an enjoyable yet not so violent western. Perhaps it dragged a little towards the end and few scenes seemed too staged. AAN AFI 1001
½ December 31, 2017
A waste of money. How can you remake a true classic? An Oscar winning performance by the Duke can not be remade. This remake is why you don't do remakes of classic movies. Bridges is an awful actor in this movie. He try's to get his voice as close to Wayne's as he can & you can't understand some of what he says. The girl playing Miss Ross is dull and boring. She doesn't give the same performance as Kim did in the original where you wanted to wear her butt out with a belt. This remake is almightys a carbon copy of the original. Where people on here & on IMDb like Robert W get this is a top rate movie, is being paid by the directors & studio. If you haven't seen either of the true grit movies & you would like to, please see the Oscar winning performance of John Wayne's True Grit.
December 26, 2017
M-F-O

8.5

[Joel & Ethan Coen]
December 21, 2017
Loyal to the book with great acting and a compelling screenplay, the most recent True Grit is a far cry from the John Wayne version. Grayer, grittier, and laced with dark humor. The brothers Coen achieve mightily.
½ November 24, 2017
Brilliantly made film. Out does the original. See it!
November 3, 2017
Arguably the best Western film of the 21st century, True Grit truly is a masterpiece. Hailee Steinfeld is genuinely great, somehow managing to keep up with acting heavyweights like Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and Josh Brolin, all of whom also deliver fantastic performances. The Coen Brothers prove how great they are as directors, and the script is expertly written. The story has plenty of slow moments in between top-notch action scenes, yet it never gets boring. I haven't seen the original film or read the book, but True Grit stands on its own with ease.
September 24, 2017
Very well made movie, but the story was just way too much talking... barely any action. Didn't watch a Western for talk talk talk.
September 17, 2017
i loved this remake starring his Dudeness
September 15, 2017
Beautiful story. One of the best movies I've ever wached.
September 14, 2017
A good reboot of the 1969 True Grit, the Coen brothers always know what to do with a good story. One critique I have is there weird cuts sprinkled around, but it does not majorly affect viewing experience.
½ September 13, 2017
While watching this film I kept waiting for the moment when it would really kick in and wow me. However, that moment never came. Don't get me wrong, the movie was pretty good, I just feel like it was missing something that would truly make it an all-time great. Hell of a performance from Steinfeld.
½ August 27, 2017
Not too bad as film but not too likely to be true either. It however has many qualities. The psychopaths seems less dangerous at first. Not full of anger, only coldly calculating. Seems like the frenchie and the indians are treated as out of character, not surprising in an english film. The film is still about a chase of bad guys by good guys. Nothing about indians in the indian territory, which seems excessively unlikely. Although, since it was in the 1870, it's possible the indians were all decimated already.
June 14, 2017
A wonderfully-acted, wild-west adventure film that hits all the right notes and entertains consistently throughout.
Page 1 of 822