Trust Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trust Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Josh Spiegel
Movie Mezzanine
June 5, 2014
...the final third of Trust Me winds up being so misguided, compared to the overly familiar first hour, that the entire affair just feels noxious.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Clayton Dillard
Slant Magazine
June 2, 2014
Almost none of the film's characters or scenarios escape feeling contrived under writer-director-star Clark Gregg's bizarro tonal shifts and plot developments.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Kristy Puchko
CinemaBlend.com
June 9, 2014
Really can't compete on any level, being insipid and mean-spirited.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jordan Adler
We Got This Covered
May 11, 2014
Trust me, you can skip Clark Gregg's second feature, as it's nothing but a muddled showbiz satire that never finds its tone or momentum.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Bill Edelstein
Variety
June 8, 2014
There's certainly humor running through writer-director-star Clark Gregg's "Trust Me," the tale of an inept agent for child actors; it's just that not all of it feels intentional.
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
June 5, 2014
Dramatically, Trust Me goes from stability to seppuku. It's the kind of picture that could be shut off at the hour mark and nothing would be missed.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
June 4, 2014
This small film's momentum ... like the childhood career of its protagonist - gradually sputters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
June 20, 2014
Seems forced into much darker territory in its final act. Gregg provides a prologue to foreshadow it, but it still doesn't quite fit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
June 5, 2014
As the movie picks up speed and undergoes sudden, confusing plot reversals, it loses its satirical edge.
Top Critic
Jesse Hassenger
AV Club
June 5, 2014
As Trust Me gets twistier and more serious, it also veers toward pity for its central character (which reads as self-pity for the filmmaker, fairly or not).
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Todd Jorgenson
Cinemalogue.com
June 30, 2014
Despite solid performances, the cast can't inject much sympathy into these characters or their self-indulgent plight.
Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
June 5, 2014
[Gregg] makes a tonally disastrous swerve ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Glenn Kenny
RogerEbert.com
June 6, 2014
Its perky poster notwithstanding, "Trust Me" is a putatively hard-edged comedy that promises to turn into something harder.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Zach Hollwedel
Under the Radar
August 4, 2014
It is a smart, funny, endearing, and entertaining glimpse into a part of Hollywood rarely depicted in film.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Cliff Wheatley
IGN Movies
June 12, 2014
Trust Me is a great offering from Clark Gregg that really puts the man's skill - in writing, directing, and performing - on proud display.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.6/10
Chris Klimek
The Dissolve
May 12, 2014
[...] a smart, sardonic, unpredictable morality play that gets the little things right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Witney Seibold
Nerdist
June 4, 2014
If Trust Me is any indicator, Gregg is a talented budget director of surprisingly downbeat, tonally staid, wholly effective tragedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David D'Arcy
Screen International
June 2, 2014
Trust Me is a title that trumpets its own falsehood, and a story true to its subject in scenes that mix grimaces with laughs.
Top Critic
Jordan Hoffman
Film.com
April 30, 2013
A small movie that offers a number of quite exciting moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Nick Schager
The Dissolve
June 5, 2014
A smart, sardonic, unpredictable morality play that gets the little things right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 2