The Truth About Charlie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Truth About Charlie Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jim Shelby
Palo Alto Weekly
May 20, 2003
| Original Score: 3/4
Kimberley Jones
Austin Chronicle
March 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robert Wilonsky
Dallas Observer
January 8, 2003
[Demme] zigs and zags and drags his camera through Paris with an abandon he hasn't displayed since his days toiling on the Roger Corman assembly line or shooting Something Wild.
Keith Uhlich
December 27, 2002
The truth about Charlie is that there's so much more here than you've been led to believe.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Nicolas Lacroix
November 12, 2002
Jonathan Demme nous revient avec un film qui se cherche, ŕ l'instar du personnage-titre, une identité.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 9, 2002
Demme's film looks very French, and appears as appetizing as a croissant.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
November 6, 2002
May not be and should not be everyone's cup of tea, but at the end of it, I felt a guilty affection for all its participants.
Steven Snyder
Greater Milwaukee Today
November 5, 2002
It successfully lured me into a world of shadows, mysteries and confusion. Maybe it did its job, in that regard, a little too well. By the film's end, I couldn't find my way back.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
October 31, 2002
fresh, jazzy and fun
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
October 31, 2002
[Demme] creates a film that is both traditional, in keeping with its source material, and new millennium hip.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
October 30, 2002
The Truth About Charlie is the most playful film to come from Demme in a long, long time. It's also the first of his films I've seen that has the personality that once made his work seem so fresh, ever since 1988's Married to the Mob.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
October 29, 2002
This experiment works essentially as a remake criticizing the trend of remaking films in the first place.
Full Review
Jimmy O
Film Snobs
October 28, 2002
Demme not only makes a sexy, fresh and exciting sky thriller, but he also smartly pays tribute to the legends of the French New Wave.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Susan Granger
October 28, 2002
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
Shirley Sealy
Film Journal International
October 26, 2002
It's destined to do for Thandie Newton what Roman Holiday long ago did for Audrey Hepburn. Spread the word: A star is born.
Jamie Gillies
Apollo Guide
October 26, 2002
If you love film, you've got to see this movie once, even if only to shake your head at the screen and wonder how this script ever got made.
Full Review | Original Score: 70/100
Top Critic

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
October 26, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
October 26, 2002
Newton draws our attention like a magnet, and acts circles around her better known co-star, Mark Wahlberg.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Gary Brown
Houston Community Newspapers
October 25, 2002
I found myself liking the film, though in this case one man's treasure could prove to be another man's garbage.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
October 25, 2002
An uneven but engaging remake of the 1963 romantic caper Charade.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 7