Truth or Die - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Truth or Die Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 6, 2016
Mostly unlikable characters get caught up in a deadly game of Truth or Dare. Some good tension, but because the characters aren't really nice people, it was hard to build it up as well as it could have.
½ May 30, 2016
This movie honestly sucked. Can't say anything more. Horrible movie. Tons of swearing.
May 20, 2016
Amazing! Kept me on my toes since 2012, when the Mayans predicted the eradication of the human race. This movie has left me with chills to this day. Please make a sequel! ^_^
April 10, 2016
Typical low budget horror fare that can only mean one thing. It follows the Peacock template for horror films. A wooden cabin in woodland!
A British production it does have that gritty feel that only British cinema provides when compared to Hollywood.
Typical gory blood fest set pieces that edge on the Saw genre when it comes to 'games' set around a 'Truth or Dare' angle.
The screenplay is quite interesting and has potential to make a good film. Unfortunately the very low budget and some lacklustre acting performances put paid to anything above 2 stars.
Basically revenge, cruelty et al are explored as one would expect with such a screenplay.
The end does have a neat set piece.
With a higher budget a better film could have resulted instead of straight to Horror Channel on cable TV fodder.
½ December 29, 2015
This was beyond laughable.

Nerdy kid gets rejected, time passes and then suddenly a group of bullies get invited to Nerdy kids house for a party which isn't really a party because nobody is there except Nerdy kids creepy, intense brother. Yeah that doesn't seem like it's going to be dangerous or serial killerish at all!

So the group stays for some reason because they're weird and just like all teenager parties, they sat around and played truth or dare....boring. Of course everything goes awry when the dares become torturous and gross and disturbing. Screwed up enough that I lost interest in watching the rest, whoever wrote the script needs help
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2015
It doesn't forgo its share of laughable contrivances, but at least it is always entertaining to see this amusing horror movie defy common expectations by playing with typical genre clichés and coming up with a delicious twist in the end and Jennie Jacques as the bitchy bad girl.
December 7, 2015
Wasn't too bad of a movie.. A bunch of friends being tortured by one person after revenge while they try to get free for survival. It stayed pretty interesting, but the ending twist dragged out a bit but still was good.
Super Reviewer
½ October 18, 2015
It was a simple graduation party in the suburbs of London, that was starting to get boring. With nothing else to do, the drunk teenagers decide to play Truth or Dare. One of the popular kids decides to use the opportunity to embarrass one of the less popular kids with disastrous results. In order to make it up to him, the popular kids agree to go to his birthday party, at a lavish country house, but when they get there, Felix isn't there. Instead the group finds his older brother, who forces them to play a more extreme game. I love the horror site Bloody Disgusting, and I watch most of what they recommend. For some reason they occasionally choose these obscure British films, with actors I've never heard of, and they almost always turn out like this. Truth or Die is unbelievably slow moving, and as expected, nothing really happens until the last ten minutes, and even that didn't make this film worth watching. As for the cast, it's no wonder I never heard of them, because most of them were absolutely terrible. The story is somewhat unbelievable to begin with, but add to that a bad cast, with thick accents, bumbling lines, and you get a film that is nearly unwatchable. I respect the opinions of our friends at Bloody Disgusting, but in this case, I don't know how they could have made this a selected film, it really is a complete waste of time.
October 5, 2015
Though it starts in familiar torture territory Truth or Dare/Die slowly elevates itself thanks to decent acting, twisted turns, and a surprising second half.
½ August 12, 2015
Thanks for the party.

A group of high school friends used to play truth or dare together at parties. Things have changed since graduation, but they decide to all get together one last time in a cabin in the woods for some partying. However, one of the old friends has different plans for the night. The friends find themselves tied up in
chairs playing truth or dare like they never have before.

"He's obsessed with a fucking postcard."

Robert Heath, director of Out on a Limb and Sus, delivers Truth or Die. The storyline for this picture is very average and a bit disappointing. The acting is below par even for the genre. The kill sequences are inconsistent.

"I just came for the free booze."

I came across this on Netflix and decided to add it to my wish list. I thought this was a lazy, corny, cheesy, campy horror flick. There isn't much to get excited about here and I would only recommend seeing this if you're diehard a fan of the genre.

"Truth or dare."

Grade: D
July 30, 2015
Not bad for low-budget indie. The brunette is hot.
April 14, 2015
It's more like a torture porn. How is this an Art House? Horribly delivered dialogue and the cliche the-first-to-get-hurt lives and the-first-to-escape dies. 3 stars to gives it some credit for I did held my breath a few times.
January 6, 2015
This movie was cheesy but has some ok entertainment value. The casting was good overall. I found the actors to be believable. I guess what I don't like about a movie like this is being set up to like a bunch of characters that are hopelessly being led to slaughter. Maybe it's good movie making, but I can't stand seeing moments when a victim can turn the cards against a monster and they do nothing. This movie is not as scary as it is disturbing. In any case, this was entertaining but it's not gonna be a classic. I wouldn't watch it again.
½ November 25, 2014
Truth or Die Movie Review!

Well this was a strange concoction of the horror genre. The premise we start with is a party with alcohol, drugs, and sexual talk. Cliches of course, but whatever. We see this shy boy, as a next cliche, who likes one of the girls and obviously gets rejected.

One of the good things about the movie is also, strangely, one of the worst. The villain of the movie is pretty much the only good thing of the movie; and that's not saying much since the actors and actresses for this movie are questionable.

The action, what little there is, is slow and monotonous, the dialogue, not applying the fact that they are English, is sometimes silly, and the settings are just so bland and repetitive. A cabin in the woods. As if we haven't seen that in forever. Do all horny teenagers go party in the damned woods all the time?

The twist of the movie kind of saves it a bad from the worst possible score, but it doesn't help too much that even it falls flat on its track. I mean, it was a good set-up, more or less, and it wasn't taken by the horns.

I give it a 3 out of 10. (1.5 stars)
November 18, 2014
Is it OK to want all the characters to die?
October 4, 2014
This movie , was AMAZING!
½ September 25, 2014
Low budget, but with creative reveal towards the end. Characters are reasonable, but acting was below par.
Watched September 2014.
August 6, 2014
This movie is completely stupid and is a waste of time. There is no plot and the ending is confusing.
½ July 28, 2014
suspenseful lil flick
½ July 20, 2014
actually not bad but they could have used more variety with the killings.
Page 1 of 4