Twilight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Twilight Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 21, 2011
Twilight really does have an infatuation with surface beauty, especially where the vampires are concerned. In fact they sum up the film pretty well. It's a fašade, an appealing one to people who share the right appetites, but that's all.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
October 21, 2014
You've been warned.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
November 20, 2008
Fans at the screening I attended tittered throughout, perhaps finding the story's overwhelming cheesiness harder to take when seeing it enacted before their eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 20, 2008
Dark Shadows at Degrassi Jr. High, but with half the budget of either of those two shows.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
JimmyO
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
November 21, 2008
For those of you who are intrigued by the story and older than thirteen, I recommend you check out LET THE RIGHT ONE IN which is drenched in subtlety and nuance. There is none to be found in TWILIGHT.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 19, 2008
The movie was directed by Catherine Hardwicke. She uses her great discovery, Nikki Reed, in the role of the beautiful Rosalie Hale. Reed wrote Hardwick's Thirteen when she was only 14. That was a movie that knew a lot more about teenage girls.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
November 20, 2008
If its muscles are flexed, we can expect three more of these movies. Hopefully, like the Harry Potter films, they'll get better as they go along.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 21, 2008
Hardwicke has shrewdly made a film that will appeal to the audience that could make or break it. But there's little here to win over those of us without dog-eared copies of Twilight under our beds.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
November 19, 2008
Low-key is not the adjective you'd expect to describe a highly anticipated vampire movie, but there it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
November 21, 2008
I'm glad I saw Twilight for one reason: It made the phrase jump the shark obsolete, to be potentially replaced with The vampires are playing baseball.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
David Foucher
EDGE Boston
November 20, 2008
Put simply, it lacks fangs.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
November 19, 2008
If there is one saving grace to the film it is the performance of Pattinson.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 26, 2009
Suggests Anne Rice slumming for a WB special
Kimberly Gadette
Indie Movies Online
January 10, 2009
Bella, a fairly unlikable young woman with a glum expression, has "put a smell" on Edward, a ruby red-lipped Nosferatu. It's a tedious stare-down. Bring a thermos of espresso. And an alarm clock.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
November 21, 2008
Gothic wooziness stifles many of Hardwicke's lighter impulses, such as her knack for jiving humor in scenes among friends and family. And some of the more cartoonishly gymnastic CG stunts look plain silly.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
November 14, 2008
An underwhelming vampire romance long on camp but short on emotional insight.
Edward Douglas
ShockTillYouDrop.com
November 20, 2008
Essentially, a CW take on Anne Rice, catering to the gooey-eyed fans of Meyer's novels and their unrealistic romantic expectations.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
Austin O'Connor
San Francisco Examiner
November 20, 2008
Twilight is a self-selecting movie if there ever was one. Those who want to see it, will see it and love it. Others are warned away.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
November 24, 2008
I think this film is definitely a victim of it's own expectations.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
November 24, 2008
Unfortunately, it just didn't work.
Page 1 of 11