Two Thousand Maniacs! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Two Thousand Maniacs! Reviews

Page 2 of 10
May 13, 2012
The first very gory realistic movie I ever saw
May 11, 2012
This infamous cult flick seems almost tame by today's standards, and the shoddy production values sometimes make it seem like a (bad) silent movie.
March 31, 2012
Herschell Gordon Lewis' Two Thousand Maniacs! may be low in the gore department, but the story is completely bonkers. A group of southern folk invite people who are passing through town to their annual festival - only to later kill them in some ridiculous ways and eat them afterwards at a BBQ. I actually like stuff like Blood Feast more than I do this. I'm not sure if it's because of the amount of gore in that film compared to this one, but it just seems much more fun than this one. Not that this one isn't enjoyable, but it has some slow areas with character build-up that doesn't go anywhere. The ending is also an obvious conclusion way before you get there to see it. It's all bad in the good way, but mediocre when you look at the rest of Lewis' work.
December 31, 2011
Pleasant Valley: pop. 2000. And they're all pervert maniacs. Another good b-movie (maybe the best with Blood Feast) by Herschell Gordon Lewis.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
October 3, 2011
Herschell Gordon Lewis' Two Thousand Maniacs! may be low in the gore department, but the story is completely bonkers. A group of southern folk invite people who are passing through town to their annual festival - only to later kill them in some ridiculous ways and eat them afterwards at a BBQ. I actually like stuff like Blood Feast more than I do this. I'm not sure if it's because of the amount of gore in that film compared to this one, but it just seems much more fun than this one. Not that this one isn't enjoyable, but it has some slow areas with character build-up that doesn't go anywhere. The ending is also an obvious conclusion way before you get there to see it. It's all bad in the good way, but mediocre when you look at the rest of Lewis' work.
September 15, 2011
High point in gore guru Herschell Gordon Lewis' career, about a bunch of people being lured to a good ole southern town's bi-centennial, which turns into a gruesome slaughter.

Why exactly this film stands out amongst the slew of low-budget gore films of this era, is hard to say, but fact is that it does. It's not a good film, but it is a good piece of trash!
½ August 12, 2011
O ovom filmu sam pisao detaljnije na Ghoulovom blogu (mrzi me sad da trazim link), pa da ne ponavljam - ukratko, iako je Luisu srce bilo na pravom mjestu, ovaj film je vrijeme potpuno pregazilo jer se prvenstveno oslanja na specijalne efekte koji su danas... ahem... recimo, MANJE SOKANTNI nego prije pedesetak godina.

Ono sto je prezivjelo je prvenstveno pjesmica The South's Gonna Rise Again, koju je otpjevao sam Luis. Potrazite je na JuTjubu (ali u ORIGINALNOJ verziji, jer vecina prepjeva na koje mozete da naidjete ne valja nista).
Super Reviewer
½ July 15, 2011
I was surprised that this wasn't as gory as his other movies. The story is good, though, I really liked the ending most of all. As usual the actors aren't great, but they try hard. Overall this was a pretty good movie, if only it didn't shy away from the gory parts.
June 18, 2011
In my top 25 movies i've ever seen definently. A bloody riot (literally).
May 25, 2011
The Beverly Hillbillies Gone Psycho! That's right, psychotic Confederate townspeople lure six Yankees into their town for some good ole fashioned southern hospitality. If, by hospitality, you mean mass murder! The gleeful Southerners dispatch them in various, creative fashions. This is a Herschell Gordon Lewis film, so it was fairly gory for its time. It's not his goriest work (that is definitely Blood Feast 2: All U Can Eat), but its not completely tame, either. There are only four deaths, and this could have been mighty boring if not for the great performances by all the actors playing the Confederates. They're just so gleeful and giddy in their roles, they basically made the film. I'm sure about fifty years ago, the theater patrons didn't see the humor in all this, as they were busy being disgusted by the "abundance" of gore. I'm not sure about other horror fans, but I was highly entertained by this. I doubt H.G. Lewis will be around in 2065, but I hope someone with his same fun spirit makes a sequel to this. So check it out; it'll have you (barrel) rolling on the floor with laughter!
½ March 6, 2011
As good and fulfilling as a gore film from Friedman and Lewis can be. Fun, gross and over the top all throughout as a bunch of Southerners torture and mutilate unsuspecting Northerners trapped in their town.
February 28, 2011
Great movie. This is Herschell Gordon Lewis at his best!
January 10, 2011
Cult filmmaker Herschell Gordon Lewis was considered a pioneer in the world of cinematic gore, and "Two Thousand Maniacs" is considered by many to be the pinnacle of his career. Looking at the film today, the special effects come off as crude and rudimentary, but this was made over forty years ago. At the time, they had to be disturbing and groundbreaking, and you have to give Lewis props. The film itself is just as crude and rudimentary, but you have to admire it some for its goofy, loopy charm, non-existent acting and ultra low budget feel. It hasn't aged well, and while I can't quite recommend it for obvious reasons, it is an interesting curiosity that's good for some laughs.
The plot is an inspired variation on a tried and true formula, but the whole thing is basically just an excuse to maim and torture people in various creative ways. In that respect, it plays like the "Saw" of its generation with a "Hee Haw" sense of humor. The violence doesn't have the realism of the "Saw" franchise, as the blood looks mostly store bought. But everything looks surprisingly convincing considering what they had to work with at the time.
Lewis made a name for himself with stuff like this, and nobody was doing it better. In retrospect, he's kind of the father of the current rash of so-called torture porn flicks. For that reason, "Two Thousand Maniacs" deserves its place in history. It's not pretty, but I guess you could say it gets the job done.
November 8, 2010
Another Z-grade H.G. Lewis movie, about a confederate town celebrating the civil war centennial by luring some unsuspecting "yankees" into their nets and... well see for yourself (or don't). I found the Twilight Zone style ending quite cool, but the movie itself is more miss than hit, with cheap gore, bad sound, and lots of banjo music.
October 10, 2010
Caught this as a TCM wee-hours double feature on Halloween along with 1963's "Blood Feast," this film's immediate directorial predecessor. Better production value and far less blood/gore than the latter. Still it was surely pretty gory for drive-in goers in 1965.

A pack of over-the-top, campy swamp-goobers who haven't really forgotten "The War of North-dern Aggression" and 'dem murderin' Yankee carpet-baggers snag some seriously century-overdue payback off of some incredibly gullible Yankee tourists passing through town.

As with "Blood Feast," the film's best recommendation is its historical value as starter for the slasher film genre - as well as the 'stranger wanders into CreepyTown' setup. This is a film to which "Friday 13th" et. al. are strongly indebted.

Draws loosely upon the plot of "Brigadoon."

Filled with a score of authentic 1920ish mountain music that adds a realistic creepiness, most notably a rendition of "The South's Gonna Rise Again."

RECOMMENDATION: There's little doubt this film gets an annual screening, as cause for a major kegger, in every fraternity house throughout the Deep South.
September 12, 2010
This was a pretty fun film, if you can consider a movie about inhabitants of a Southern town finding creative ways to kill Northerners can be considered fun. I'm not sure about the ending adding a supernatural element, because I think it worked well enough without it, but that's a minor complaint.
September 6, 2010
THE SOUTH WILL RISE AGAIN chimes in the lyrics to the opening southern banjo tune so it comes as no surprise that Herschell Gordon Lewis's second entry into his distributor dubbed and unconnected "Blood Trilogy" (also including Blood Feast and Color Me Blood Red) has Lewis show the bloody horrors of the south in a somewhat silly and shocking fashion.

After the opening, catchy jingle, we are shown some southern boys in overalls putting shoddy made detour signs in the highway detouring six people into the town of Pleasant Valley where they are having a huge centennial celebration? They townsfolk treat the newcomers with joy and admiration at first and invite them to stay for free for the celebration. Unbeknown to them the celebration is for the rising of the south since their embarrassing takeover of the Yankees and they plan to murder our guests in all sorts of gruesome fashions.

Gruesome deaths is Herschell Gordon's Lewis's specialty as he shocked the world with his gore film Blood Feast the year before by showing blood and gore never before thought perceivable. He proves here again why he's the "godfather of gore" (of the 60's at least) as he pulls no punches by hitting the audience in the face with gruesome and grisly deaths. I'm talking about arm ax cutting, drawn and quartering, nail barrel rolling and rock crushing. Compared to some of today's graphic horror films this might seem a little 'tame' but for the time there was nothing more bloody and shocking than this.

Typical with Lewis's productions, the film is EXTREMELY low budget so it does have very low production values. Thankfully no sets were needed as it was filmed in and on real southern locations and Lewis makes the most of what's available to him. The sound is affected the most by the low budget is the sound as it is staticy and somewhat muffled. The acting for a low budget gore flick is actually decent and Herschell does manage to load the film up with extremely attractive women to off balance the horrific gore effects.

Compared to Lewis's previous film Blood Feast, Two Thousand Maniacs definitely is less over-the-top and campy and taken a little more seriously. Lewis also takes a supernatural slant in this film in the third act which I personally feel goes against the realistic nature of the first two acts. Some people might actually like the supernatural slant and I felt it was out of place. I also felt the film lacked a true protagonist and all 2000 members of the town are really represented as one entity. The towns mayor could have easily been better written to give the 2000 maniacs a single face and a villain for the audience to focus on.

Two Thousand Maniacs proved to be another success for Lewis and he continued to make gore drenched low budget films but none could quite match this. Most of his other films were gore without much horror or plot but he still is able to craft a little suspense here making this a true cult classic. This film did teach me to be weary of anyone who flies a confederate flag. They just might be one of the 2000 maniacs waiting patiently for a special centennial so the south can rise again!

The film actually would be later remade in 2005 as 2001 Maniacs. I'm not sure why they changed the title by adding "1" (perhapes 2000 wasn't enough maniacs).
½ August 5, 2010
This is one of those "bad" horror films that is actually quite good. I can't say much nice about the acting, script or sound, the latter being atrocious, but the idea behind it is a good one and considering how little budget the makers had they did a good enough job with the effects. Calling it a "splatter" film implies that there is more gore than there is. There doesn't need to be though - there's enough imagination there and the scenes are shot to imply more than you actually see, making it quite effective. Not scary (to me) but disturbing - and there's nothing wrong with that. The campness, quirky music and twist ending, although not terribly well executed, add to this. For all its technical faults, this is a little horror gem.
Page 2 of 10