The Ugly Truth Reviews

Page 2 of 3
July 24, 2009
Opposites attract, but you'll really wish they hadn't by the time The Ugly Truth is through.
July 24, 2009
The film is so predictable that it might as well have been written as a test classroom exercise in RomCom 101.
July 24, 2009
The Ugly Truth wants to have it both ways, reveling in a misogyny it claims to deplore.
July 24, 2009
Contrived as a crossover between a female-friendly romantic comedy and a male-targeted, anti-political correctness jab, The Ugly Truth veers between crude and cloying.
July 24, 2009
A cynical, clumsy, aptly titled attempt to cross the female-oriented romantic comedy with the male-oriented gross-out comedy.
July 23, 2009
"Beats the @%$# out of me," says Butler when asked why he secretly loves her. Us too, but it's grating to when every scene is about her being wrong and him being right
July 23, 2009
A blandly raunchy star vehicle that does its stars few favors.
July 23, 2009
In its wan attempt to be raunchy, the picture fails where Judd Apatow has usually succeeded; written by three women, this is a girl's mistaken idea of an R-rated comedy.
July 23, 2009
If you like things that are predictable, I can predict you'll love "The Ugly Truth," a new romantic comedy starring Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler. I sincerely doubt anyone else will respond to its labored scenes and smutty, tittering, unfunny jokes.
July 23, 2009
Under the direction of Robert Luketic, The Ugly Truth is pleasingly glossy, refreshingly snarky and startlingly sexy.
July 23, 2009
Toss this ugly crap to the curb, along with the other multiplex garbage, and see a romance that gets it right. I'm talking (500) Days of Summer.
July 23, 2009
Do I really have to go through it? Can't we all just rewatch Woman of the Year instead?
July 23, 2009
Here's hoping that this unfunny comedy doesn't set both sexes back by 50 years.
July 23, 2009
The people responsible for The Ugly Truth were also responsible for Legally Blonde. That must have been a once-in-a-lifetime thing since this new movie is only half as entertaining as the other one.
July 23, 2009
Heigl and Butler have real chemistry together, but The Ugly Truth is the sort of rom-com apparatus that no relationship can overcome.
July 23, 2009
Slow and odorous, The Ugly Truth is mired in phoniness up to its neck. And above that, there's nothing.
July 23, 2009
The film's central romance flips and flops like a dying fish.
July 23, 2009
Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler are so pleasant in The Ugly Truth that it's a shame to spoil their party. But toil and try as they do, the comedy bogs down in relentless predictability and the puzzling overuse of naughty words.
July 23, 2009
Hollywood, it seems, has lost the knack of how to make a good romantic comedy.
July 22, 2009
The Ugly Truth isn't fizzy and fun -- it's vacuously snappy.
Page 2 of 3