Uncut Gems Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 27, 2020
The Safdie brothers' film manages to make me think with that speech, but I cannot empathize with the time-trial misfortunes of the impertinent protagonist. [Full review in Spanish]
February 11, 2020
Possibly one of the most annoying movies I've seen in recent years. [Full review in Spanish]
January 14, 2020
In some quarters this has been declared some sort of minor masterpiece. Me, I'd say it's hard to imagine a more uncomfortable way of spending over two hours in the cinema and advise you to avoid it, shock ending and all.
January 14, 2020
The Safdies have talent, and if they'd cut this uncut gem they'd get closer to the work they're emulating.
January 10, 2020
That acerbic, abusive and abrasive script, in which almost everyone is aggressive and annoying, can drive a viewer to distraction.
January 10, 2020
Uncut Gems diminishes one of the richest comic sensibilities in modern cinema. It turns Sandler, the smartass who always chooses family and friendship over streetwise selfishness, into an icon of grungy nihilism.
January 8, 2020
Motor-mouthed along by Sandler's edgy star turn, it's unrewardingly tense.
January 7, 2020
A cunning yet hapless clown juggling 15 balls simultaneously. It'll seriously raise your blood pressure. The question is, do you feel the need to do that? What actually ruined this film for me was the bizarre, '80s-inflected, mostly synthesizer score.
January 1, 2020
Uncut Gems' episodic structure paves the way for an exceedingly erratic midsection that's rarely as engrossing and tense as one might've anticipated...
December 31, 2019
Lord knows I disliked this movie. My ears were ringing by the time I escaped. But I do have to hand it to Adam Sandler. He delivered an unexpected performance.
December 29, 2019
Shrill, monotonous, the usual half-baked, phony Scorsese wannabe nonsense from the overrated Safdie brothers.
December 26, 2019
[Sandler gives] a terrific performance in a movie often too noisy for its own good.
December 26, 2019
It's one of the year's most annoying movies.
December 26, 2019
[Sandler is] really, really effective as a Diamond District hustler...That said, the latest from the writing/directing Safdie Brothers (Benny and Josh) is like having an irate New Yawk cabbie screaming nonstop in your ear for two-plus hours.
December 24, 2019
There is real cinematic tension in this own-worst-enemy tale of addiction and its ever escalating series of bad bets. But Adam Sandler's unfettered arrogance renders it far from endearing or fun.
December 18, 2019
The vivid vulgarity is so repetitive that it ceases to be shocking, the chaotic plot is predictable and Adam Sandler's character is a totally self-indulgent, utterly contemptible scumbag. Spending two hours in his company is sheer agony.
December 13, 2019
The Safdies certainly know how to litter the frame with kinetic energy, but while everything is moving, there just isn't any depth to things.
December 13, 2019
Yes, it builds tension, but I don't think it's a huge stretch for Adam Sandler to be obnoxious. A lot of it I just wasn't buying.
December 12, 2019
The story's unrelenting nature works against it, blunting the lure of seeing Adam Sandler in one of his occasional dramatic performances -- a showy role, yes, but in a movie that proves all that glitters is not gold.
December 12, 2019
The Safdie Brothers have meticulously created one of the year's most intentionally irritating films.
Page 1 of 2