Undefeated - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Undefeated Reviews

Page 2 of 5
April 29, 2012
In truth, the story that unfolds is better than the filmmakers' sometimes overwrought attempts to frame it ...
Full Review | Original Score: 89/100
April 21, 2012
With a story that proves to be heartwarming and predictable, Undefeated mostly plays according to the script familiar in its fiction and nonfiction counterparts.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
April 14, 2012
Instead, they show the universality of what it is he's trying to teach, how color doesn't necessarily bar one from being able to connect with these boys on a fundamental level.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.4/4
April 6, 2012
Even though the film relies on many of the clichés of the form, Undefeated is a masterfully crafted work that honestly scores a touchdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 6, 2012
"Undefeated" doesn't have a deep penetration of poverty and race in its playbook, but it does have enough heart to make substantial forward progress.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 29, 2012
It's a surprisingly moving, emotional film, even for those who (like me) know little of football; by its end, you just might be blinking away a few tears.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 29, 2012
Peers empathetically into a tiny world and opens it up for its audience, who, in turn, will surely open their hearts to it.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 29, 2012
Combines the gritty reality of "Hoop Dreams" and the heart of "Friday Night Lights," along with a dash of "The Blind Side."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 20, 2012
Volunteer high school coach Bill Courtney says, "Football doesn't build character. Football reveals character." The triumphant sports documentary "Undefeated" proves that it does both.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 19, 2012
For all its good intentions, the film, like its main subject, is a tourist, earning trust as it earnestly captures the incredible struggles of these young men, but never digging deep enough to actually make the story theirs.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 16, 2012
A touching documentary that offers a field-level portrait of male mentorship, compassion and unvarnished hope - all without a Hollywood ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 16, 2012
[A] winning documentary.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 16, 2012
It is a powerful reminder of the difference one person can make -- and of the consequences when no one is willing to make that difference.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 16, 2012
What lifts 'Undefeated' above other sports docs is the remarkable force of Bill Courtney's personality.
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
March 16, 2012
[A] stirring, emotional portrait of a high school football team in the impoverished neighborhood of North Memphis, Tenn.
March 16, 2012
It may call to mind The Blind Side or Remember the Titans, but there's no Hollywood glitz in the blighted burg of Manassas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2012
It's a bit too long and a bit too vague at times, but this is a film about dedication, progress and the bond of human effort. It just also happens to include football.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 15, 2012
"Undefeated'' needs less of what we know we've seen (the football stuff) and more of the players' and coaches' lives, which even if we feel we've seen, we haven't.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 15, 2012
What makes this a terrific film is how much we care about the players.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 15, 2012
I regret that we don't meet more of Courtney's players, but that might have required a miniseries rather than a movie. And "Undefeated" makes sure the coach who is its central figure is more complex and fascinating than most fictional movie characters.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 5