Under the Same Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Under the Same Moon Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
Tiptoes the line between tragedy and hope and never loses its balance in its account of life and luck in the US-Mexican borderlands.
Paul Chambers
December 30, 2009
Story of seperated mother and child doesn't carry much emotional impact. Makes you wonder how much mi madre really cares. Turns into a road drama with the kid headed to Los Angeles. Just couldn't care for the characters. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
Under the Same Moon puts a human face on illegal immigration. More than that, it gives it a human heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/5
Nora Lee Mandel
December 14, 2008
Some plot twists and encounters go beyond broad brushstrokes for complex characterizations to make corny seem meaningful. Cast and music add richness beyond the predictable.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Josh Rosenblatt
Austin Chronicle
October 18, 2008
Its parallel stories of two lost souls seeking each other across geographical divides is never more than one small step away from mawkishness and cliché, and oftentimes less. But as a sociological study, it's fascinating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
October 18, 2008
The argument of Under the Same Moon isn't news to anyone living near the border, but it does present the migrants' problems well and poignantly.
Susan Tavernetti
Palo Alto Weekly
October 18, 2008
Patricia Riggen's feature debut proves that the terms crowd-pleaser and social-issue movie can apply to the same film.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
September 10, 2008
I did dab my eyes several times as I exited the theater.
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
July 30, 2008
the type of facile representations offered by the film do little to address the real issues at hand.
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
June 20, 2008
I could pick apart the simplicities and unlikelinesses and inconsistencies of the overall tale, but that will never trump the enormous lump in my throat I was left with by the film's end.
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
June 8, 2008
This is a sweet, charming movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Michael Dance
The Cinema Source
June 4, 2008
There are only three types of [legal] U.S. citizens in the film: cartoonish rich elitists, drug addicts, and whiny young Chicanos who've shunned their Mexican heritage.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
May 2, 2008
It's a movie guaranteed to leave you at the end with tears in your eyes and a big smile on your face.
| Original Score: 3/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
April 30, 2008
Thoroughly watchable with flashes of inspired filmmaking, and it has a sincerity that, even when wrong headed, cannot be denied.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Pete Hammond
April 20, 2008
A beautifully rendered, unforgettable story of the invincible bond between a mother and son.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
April 18, 2008
The film is a romanticized, effectively personal and emotionally heightened story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
April 18, 2008
What's stuck with me aren't the film's flaws but the success of its mission: It puts a real human face -- many human faces, in fact -- on a problem that many politicians would prefer to represent with a racist caricature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
April 13, 2008
It's a bit of a guilty pleasure, with its formulas and its sap, but if it can get Lou Dobbs reaching for that Kleenex, it will have done its job.
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)
April 11, 2008
If a few scenes are a bit stiff, some of the cast a little too telenovela photogenic, the leads' stubborn, yearning performances build just enough of a melodrama to soften the film's tough realism and earn a hopeful ending.
Robert W. Butler
Kansas City Star
April 11, 2008
The critic in me found plenty of nits to pick with Under the Same Moon. The sentimentalist, though, was ready to blubber.
| Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5