Under the Skin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Under the Skin Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Top Critic
Matthew Lickona
San Diego Reader
January 5, 2015
Glacial in pace, skeletal in plot, and generally nasty, Jonathan Glazer's Under the Skin is a repetitive nightmare of drear and dread punctuated by moments of queasy-making horror.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Aine O'Connor
Sunday Independent (Ireland)
March 13, 2014
Although Under the Skin screams allegory, it's hard to see for what.
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
July 14, 2014
Under the Skin is a hollow film with a fascinating premise that could have been so much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Siobhan Synnot
Scotsman
March 10, 2014
Eventually I was too bored to care.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
January 5, 2015
The premise is intriguing and it's only the possibility that something might come of it that keeps your attention, but that attention is never rewarded.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Clint O'Connor
Cleveland Plain Dealer
April 18, 2014
Scarlett Johansson goes spare and bare.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
March 13, 2014
It didn't get under my skin, just on my nerves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Robert Levin
amNewYork
April 15, 2014
For all its qualities, Under the Skin ultimately frustrates.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Michael Smith
Tulsa World
January 5, 2015
We do learn a little about ourselves by the conclusion, but when it came to holding my attention for the duration of a feature-length film, I found the experience far too alien.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Kaleem Aftab
Independent (UK)
September 8, 2013
There are echoes of the end of 2001: A Space Odyssey in this and in the observational alien tale The Man Who Fell To Earth. The comparisons do Glazer no favours.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
April 3, 2014
Beautifully eerie, yet disappointingly dull ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Hollywood Reporter
September 12, 2013
Viewers willing to embrace a purely visual experience without dramatic, emotional or psychological substance will comprise an ardent cheering section, but the film provides too little for even relatively adventurous specialized audiences to latch onto ...
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
December 29, 2014
The oddest and most frustrating film I've seen all year.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
March 31, 2014
[VIDEO ESSAY] Scarlett Johansson makes for one attractive hot-and-cold alien ice queen, but seduction and murder is all she has on her mind.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
April 3, 2014
So unfathomable that it feels like a dully haunting nightmare whose details retreat and fade almost immediately upon waking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
December 10, 2014
"Under the Skin" is perfectly fine. I'm just not sure I'll ever see it again unless I have to.
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
April 9, 2014
Scarlett Johansson is an alien serial killer who sexes men to death in a misogynist fanboy wet dream that also fails to satisfy as science fiction.
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
April 3, 2014
Under the Skin falls in love with its bleak monotony. It is a melodrama with all the thrills surgically excised.
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
April 18, 2014
Serious, intriguing, but lacking a human core
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
April 3, 2014
A rather shapeless film where what's happening onscreen is often less interesting than trying to figure out whether the participants recognize they're sharing the cab of a truck with a world-famous actress.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 1 of 11