Underclassman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Underclassman Reviews

Page 1 of 5
September 3, 2005
In a smarter comedy Cannon could do damage. But the jokes in Underclassman are so utterly defanged so throwaway they're the edgy equivalent of suburban doctor's office banter.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 10, 2005
Nick Cannon is a funny guy. Not only that, he's got talent and charisma. He deserves to be in a film that doesn't try its best to make him look bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 10, 2013
Meant as a vehicle to deliver young actor Nick Cannon to headliner status, this lame comedy just limps along like a tricycle with bent rims.
September 1, 2005
Underclassman doesn't even try to be good.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 10, 2013
Cannon co-executive produced so he has to accept some of the blame for the lack of laughs and thrills, leaving Hugh Bonneville to ham it up for all he's worth as the school's snobbish headmaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 1, 2005
Cannon bounces through every frame hopped up with excess energy, rolling his eyes, spitting off rotten one-liners and overselling his blunt reactions to eye-splitting excess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 10, 2005
At times Tracy's a sensitive guy who just needs a hug; at others, he's an obnoxious motormouth.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
September 1, 2005
Nick Cannon isn't nearly as funny as he thinks he is
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
September 6, 2005
This is one of those movies where at the end of the year you'll say, 'Underclassman, what was that about? I don't even remember it.'
September 1, 2005
Nick Cannon is too likable an actor to be stuck in junk like Underclassman.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 15, 2005
Siega's hackneyed, by-the-books action-comedy exhibits few intelligent thoughts in its dunce cap-deserving head.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 26, 2007
It's mind-boggling that such relentlessly offensive trash ever finds financial backing from a major Hollywood studio.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 1, 2005
As fate would have it, I forgot to bring my Cop Movie Cliché bingo card to the screening. It's a shame, because I know I'd have won.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 2, 2005
To the person who once told Cannon he was funny, I wish I could jump into my DeLorean, travel back in time, and administer some Irish kisses to this individual.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
May 12, 2006
The smart-mouth-maverick-cop genre never looked more shopworn and played-out than in this halfhearted, half-baked mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 15, 2009
Even the chase scenes sag as debut director Marcos Siega disappoints audiences at every turn.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 2, 2005
If it weren't for the racist and puerile humour and the general laziness of the production, you could almost understand a movie like Underclassman. And maybe even forgive it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 10, 2013
Consists of little more than tired racial jokes and fish-out-of-water gags.
September 9, 2005
Cannon is abrasive and obnoxious, the comedy is not funny and the thrills are not thrilling.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
September 9, 2005
[A] clichéd and callow action-comedy piece that's about as appetizing as a dead worm in the teacher's apple. Hence, the flawed Underclassman simply doesn't make the grade
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 5