Undocumented - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Undocumented Reviews

Page 2 of 2
April 13, 2012
Propaganda, albeit subtle.
April 13, 2012
Reminded me how underrated the HOSTEL films are.
½ April 4, 2012
Solid enough acting and a pretty cool premise, but it just kind of stayed at the same level the entire time. A couple very suspenseful moments, but also a lot of frustrated viewing. I also think it might have been more effective as a found footage movie and it would have been so easy for it to be one.
April 1, 2012
Take your pick on the directors views of this situation that America is dealing with. Intense, and great acting as well.
January 12, 2012
A chilling and disturbing satire of immigration in America that really hits American society to the core!
January 11, 2012
I was't too sure whether this film was a joke or whether the director was trying to be serious. What is this film - the Mexican anti-american Blair Witch Project?
Terrible directing, even worst: uber-terrible acting. The actors along with the terrible dialogue just sucked along with the sound effects and shocks-by music score.

I lost interest after the bad actors got caught by those strange - even worst actors than the main characters (if that's possible.
The trying to be quiet whilst leaving their captured state was pure comedy.

Please Mr Terrible film producer, I want two hours of my life back. Only Americans who value cheap anti-American propaganda will like this rubbish.

Just one more thing, just how long do camera batteries last for, 2 days?!!
November 11, 2011
I like the movie poster.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
Super Reviewer
October 18, 2011
"Whatever you think is going on here, this is worse."

A documentary crew accompany a group of illegal immigrants crossing the Border, but their plans run afoul when they are captured by a gang of sadistic radicals in New Mexico.

REVIEW
'Undocumented' follows a documentary crew who is attached to a group of Mexican immigrants who have paid enormous sums of money to a coyote (not the cat-snatching mongrel, rather a smuggler of people) to get into the United States. Illegally, in case you weren't getting the point. The irony is that legal entrance to the United States is cheaper and safer, if safety is part of the calculation - but that's politics, and a hard topic to rationally discuss in Texas, California, or Arizona. Incredibly the creators of 'Undocumented' use blood and abject terror to drive the discourse in a way that TV's Border Wars simply cannot. And no matter what side you sit on the political spectrum, you will think about the subject matter.

The cast does exceptional and memorable work: Liz, the high-minded liberal producer (Alona Tal, of lots o' TV and voice-overs since 2003); her erstwhile boyfriend and the project's journo-opportunistic director, Travis (Scott Mechlowicz, of 'Eurotrip'); the Mexican émigré cousin, Alberto (the more-than-credible Yancey Arias) of one of the crew, Davie (Greg Serano, with a solid TV CV); and drug-using sound guy smart ass, Jim (Alias' Kevin Weisman). Even the narratively expendable characters turn negligible "raw meat" roles into loss. The tragic chorus of ill-fated illegal aliens are authentic and utterly haunting, as if director Chris Peckover actually captured and tortured them. (He didn't. Right?)

The film treads the kind of suggested territory that franchise torture porn such as Hostel and Saw is awkwardly compelled to throw at the audience in explicit, anatomically-correct splatter. The argument that such franchises are simply satire is lost: 'Undocumented' is pure and sophisticated satire that teases the sensibilities of the viewer without abusing them into disaffection. You care. And stranger still, your perspective - your "side" - is apt to vacillate. It's a "hard" movie. I could go on and on: I can't stop thinking about this film. I was on the edge of my seat early on, and gripped until the very end. It's a brilliant effort that touches nerves you may not even know you have. The closing shot and speech, the first reveal of the masked radicals, the enigmatic "Z" and the breadth of the cabal is unforgettable - cinema gold.
October 7, 2011
It was okay. It combined some of the 'found footage' style film making and some scenarios that really cheesed it up and some of the acting took you out of some intense moments. It was okay.
September 30, 2011
This move made me want to hit someone with a hammer.
September 30, 2011
This is not for the people with weak stomachs . Some torture horror is far fetched but this one seems like it is something that someone or group would attempt to do . You never turn your head after the action starts in this film and you become rooting for the captives this all together was a very good film . I highly suggest to fans of this type of movie
½ September 23, 2011
An interesting and brutal film about illegally getting into America by the Mexican border, then getting captured by sadistic weirdos, as film being narrated by a captured American film crew trying to document this 'trespassing.' Pretty depressing.
Page 2 of 2